We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An average experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Spruce Goose

Spruce Goose
Ranked #119 of 253 Restaurants in Basingstoke
Cuisines: Steakhouse, British, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An average experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

I have a good and bad experiences here. The service was good, the food was hot but a bit bland! Would wait a while before going back!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crystalslug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    156
    148
    94
    101
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
berkshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bad choice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

We had a meal today mid afternoon which was poor quality and cold. We had the mixed grill meal, charcoal sausages, rump steak like leather and fried egg that was congealed. The chips were also tepid. No excuses for any of this as the restaurant was quiet.
This restaurant is in need of a jolly good clean as the interior is very tired plus the ladies loos were filthy.
This restaurant is to be avoided.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rockchick52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worse burger I've ever had”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

I took my father here today just for a quick bite to eat as it wasn't bad last time I visited. Wow, it's really gone downhill since then.

We ordered the burger with onion rings. The service was fairly slow but not dreadful. Unfortunately the food didn't redeem it in any way.

We ordered the chicken burger and got the beef burger. The burger itself was dry, tasteless and overcooked, the bun was stale and crumbly, the onion rings were soggy, the BBQ sauce was dull, there was a hair in the salad and some sort of fluff on the plate.

The 12 chips it came with were ok, although

I mentioned it to the barman (as no one actually asked us if our food was ok) and his final response was 'ok I'll bear that in mind'.

It cost £25 for 2 meals and 2 drinks, which was about £24 too much.

I will not be returning here and would urge others to do the same. There are much better places in Basingstoke to eat, the first place that springs to mind is McDonalds bins.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Bad choice”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Today we visited this restaurant to have a meal with our son and his family who we were visiting with our daughter.

First impressions were good and service was pretty prompt.

One meal arrived cold and had to be returned to be warmed up, and an additional salad that was requested had to be followed up.

The re-fillable drinks were difficult to get as you needed a waitress to obtain these. Also, the BOTTOMLESS CHIPS were not offered with any commitment and were questioned by a customer at the table behind us, who was told that he could have them, but as he pointed out, he had finished his meal and had he been told about the arrangement, may have taken up the option when he placed his order.

Our bill showed a sauce that had neither been ordered nor received at our table. Another frustration when we had to question the bill.

After we had finished eating and were having the last of our drinks, some of the party were remarking on how long some meals were sitting on the servery, waiting for collection by waiting staff. It was reckoned to be around 10 minutes. These were surely destined to be sent back.

This experience has put us off using Beefeater again. Sad, as we have one within walking distance of our home in South Wales.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hospitalman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Atmosphere was brilliant, food was piping hot and well presented, service was quite slow but was very busy, staff well dressed and polite. Would recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EllaFindlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spruce Goose also viewed

 
Basingstoke, Hampshire
Basingstoke, Hampshire
 
Basingstoke, Hampshire
Basingstoke, Hampshire
 

Been to Spruce Goose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing