We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Red Lion Hotel Basingstoke
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Audleys Wood Hotel(Basingstoke)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (433)
Filter reviews
433 results
Traveler rating
96
144
104
54
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
144
104
54
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnight portertown centrefestival placebirthday partysaturday nighttrain stationwould stay againfull englishstayed one nightbuffet stylecomfy bedbar areanightlifefunctiondiscovenue
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
237 - 242 of 433 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2014

This hotel is going down hill. It has always been a reliable choice for me when I stay in Basingstoke, for its price and its location. However if they keep cutting corners; I will have to start going elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauren h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Apart from the bed being short and uncomfortable, the worst element to our room was the gut churning foul smell of stale cigarette smoke.

Had a very cold nights sleep, as the only way to reduce the stench was to have the window open, which then introduced the issue of noise from the surrounding nightlife.

Staff friendly and bar prices for a hotel are acceptable.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Matthew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

My wife had a birthday party at the hotel on the 4th Jan 2014 the Management and staff made us very welcome the time we got there until we left they can not do enough for you.
We stayed at the Read Lion Hotel when we got into the room there was a smell and we noticed the floor was wet as well we went to the reception to say that the floor was wet and she gave us a choice of two rooms but we didn't like those at meantime the manager was at the reception he gave us the honeymoon suite nice big bed, jacuzzi, three piece it made my wife's birthday definitely recommend the Red Lion Hotel to stay and have parties

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank volvofl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

We were really impressed by the quality of food and entertainment at the New Year's Eve party. The food was especially good given the number of people being catered for.

The staff were helpful and friendly and the general ambience of the hotel was very good.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

The noise problem reported by other viewers is true especially if you stay Friday - Sunday. The rooms are really old, they want to charge you for wi-fi (wow! what century are we in); the plumbing in the rooms is barely functional. If you want to use free wi-fi in the lobby, you got to buy a drink or food. They have a reasonably decent but unhealthy choice for vegetarians for breakfast: hash browns, fatty yogurt, canned fruits and sweetened canned juice. You can have cereal instead. With Tea. Except for the older lady and the young guy at the front desk, all front desk staff were rude. The young guy doubles up as bartender, janitor, room service and security at night. Probably the only one who will graduate college and quit working there. Oh and construction workers stay there so it must be cheap by U.K. standards. Rates wary daily, even if you pre-booked.

Room Tip: Room 58 = free wifi. You are on top of the bar. Watch out for the brunette working at the front desk, she might have fangs. Or venom in her.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews