We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Here's the good and the bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Basingstoke
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
dublin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Here's the good and the bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

First of all the tennis.I spent over a week there with the intention of honing my tennis skills and losing some weight.what I found was a hotel that has moved from being a destination "tennis" hotel to one that caters for the local budget business trade. In fact aside from their excellent in house tennis coach -Shaym a charming young man- the hotel is clearly looking to shed itself of offering tennis. The outside clay courts are now lying unused without nets and only rubbish remains flying around - Sad! They do not even offer a ball machine to practise on. There are 6 excellent in house courts left but the famous Centre Court that was the showpiece of the hotel has now being converted to a tacky rock garden.

The staff are lovely and very helpful. The hotel is located close to small shopping mall and is five minutes from Basingstoke. Food is reasonably ok.The most important point is that it is cheap and the rooms are good.. There are two decent pools and a full sized gum that are heavily used by locals.

However now the bad.

1) In room TV is terrible- awful reception -hardly any channels and only dud movies available to buy.

2) DO NOT go for a massage - a waste of money. I tried three therapists . Only one demonstrated some knowledge of the craft and even that was unsatisfactory the other two were unbelievably bad.

In conclusion I get the impression after staying there that it deserves a two to maybe three star rating. Q Hotels the present owners are busy changing the hotel into a budget business offering which is fine and which is what you get.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foundmybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dankelly_9, General Manager at Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear foundmybird. Thank you for your review following your stay with us. I am sorry that the hotel did not match up to what you were expecting. We are first and foremost a very good 4 star hotel who happen to have some excellent tennis facilities which we can offer to guests. The complex was a tennis center when it was first built around 30 years ago, but has changed substantially since then, with more bedrooms, more leisure facilities and considerably better service to all of our guests. I will look into your queries over the TV reception and quality of our massages as improving what we offer to guests is constantly what we strive to achieve. Regards Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    269
    87
    30
    17
See reviews for
119
254
15
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Stayed at Hampshire Court on our wedding Aniversary we had previously visit some 2 years ago for our daughters wedding which had been great. We were a little apprehensive as we did not think it could be as good. How wrong we were it has not changed standards just as high. We stayed in a standard room which we felt was very good. The meal in the restuarant was excellent along with the service, the breakfasts are as good as ever. I stay at a number of hotels for business but the Hampshire far exceeds any of them. Nice to see same staff on duty which speaks volumes for a hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pthompson1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dankelly_9, General Manager at Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear pthompson1959. Thank you for your review following your getaway here at the hotel. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed as much as you did 2 years ago. I am very fortunate to have such a good team and they will be thrilled with your feedback. Regards Dan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, Kent
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Booked a spa break at this hotel last weekend and wasn't disappointed. We had a fabulous time and you cannot fault the hotel or the service provided. The food in the brasserie at lunch time and restaurant in the evening was both enjoyable and well presented. The lunch and dinner were included in our spa break package, great value for money. The leisure club and spa were clean and relaxing with helpful staff and we felt relaxed and pampered when we left. The room we stayed in was lovely. If your thinking of booking a spa weekend here I would recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samanthab120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dankelly_9, General Manager at Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear samanthab120. Thank you for your review following your spa break with us. I am delighted to hear you were so impressed by the team, spa, food and hotel as a whole. I hope you will come back again soon. Regards Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Arrived for a conference early this morning. Staff where friendly and efficient and whilst not a particularly aesthetic hotel and location next to a shopping centre it's smart modern and slick. Excellent conference venue and I was relaxed and looked after . Watch out for the post code taking you to a shopping centre car park- use the map!
The lunch was excellent and plated in individual hot serving receptacles at the buffet lunch. Veg was al dente and fresh. Sweet was refreshing and with cheese board too.
A good business venue with wifi without password which worked well.
Thanks Mach.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Macheovelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dankelly_9, General Manager at Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Macheovelli. Thank you for your review following your business stay with us. I am very happy to hear you were suitably impressed by the hotel and that the food and free WiFi were particularly pleasing to you. Regards Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Fantastic three night break at the Hampshire Court Hotel. The kids loved the kids only pool (so much easier to manage them while my husband went to the gym!!). Convenient for Legoland and trips into London to go to Science Museum, etc. Ate in the restaurant every night - wide choice of food and really nice atmosphere - very family friendly as well as having a big coach party with older couples on a National Trust holiday. The kids had free Easter Eggs and elephants made out towels in their room which they loved. Spotlessly clean and all the staff really welcoming. We had interconnecting rooms for the first time - rooms 131 & 133 so a huge amount of space.
Brilliant - our second trip and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZLO_Devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dankelly_9, General Manager at Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear ZLO_Devon. Thank you for your review following your stay with the family. I am delighted to hear we were able to help you enjoy such a good weekend. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon and I would suggest next time it is your husband's turn to look after the kids in the pool and you can go and explore the spa treatments available. Regards Dan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Good location. Smart, pleasant staff. Excellent leisure facilities. Clean, comfortable room with all facilities. No fridge. TV and radio choice limited. Good breakfast buffet with broad selection. Cooked breakfast warm. Evening meal is plated service. The group had to order in advance at breakfast. OK after a poor start first evening. Food quality is good. Drinks a little pricey.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrW777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dankelly_9, General Manager at Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear MrW777. Thank you for your review following the stay with your group. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us so much. I look forward to welcoming you back soon I hope. Regards Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Lovely relaxing spa break couldn't find much to fault until i got home and checked my online banking. The hotel took a 'pre authorisation' of £220 when we arrived and then another £235 when we left and took the full balance as expected. I wasn't aware that Double the payment would be on hold from my account for 7 days before returning to my bank for use, which was a bit of a stressful situation when you have bills to pay! I have spoken to the manager about this a few times and he said he had cancelled the 'pre authorisation' but when i spoke to my bank it still takes the 7 days even after being cancelled. The manager also told me 'I should have had enough money in my account'. I wasn't expected nearly £1000 for a weekend away to be unavailable from my bank account. So please be wary of this, its probably a good idea to pay the full balance when you arrive to avoid any confusion!

Anyway.. other then that we had a lovely stay, we stayed in room 150 which has a balcony (we couldn't use because it snowed!) The hotel is clean and modern and the staff in general are very friendly. We booked a 2 night spa break and had 3 treatments each, which were lovely! The spa team are great and make you feel really relaxed. I recommend the facials and scalp massage! The hotel is close to Basingstoke town which is handy if you want to go shopping or as we did visit milestones which is great! The food was the best surprise! Dinner was gorgeous and again the staff in the restaurant are brilliant!

We didn't use the gym but it looked well equipped, the adult swimming pool is quite small but wasn't very busy so was ok. We went swimming three times and it wasn't over crowded.

Overall we had a fantastic weekend and would have stayed again if it hadn't been for the bad experience once we'd arrived back home.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojo3291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dankelly_9, General Manager at Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear jojo3291. Thank you for your review following your spa break with us. I am glad to hear you had a fantastic weekend and were so impressed by the hotel and team. I am sorry about the confusion regarding your bank card. Following extensive conversations with the bank and 3 of the management team here at the hotel, I am still unable to give you a definitive answer on what may have happened to cause the confusion. They do all agree that the hotel only ever took £455 from your card. Whether or not the hotel was at fault I am very sorry if the situation caused you any inconvenience or angst. I am disappointed to read that you have been put off coming back to the hotel. Should you decide to change your mind it would be a pleasure to welcome you and we will do our utmost to ensure the billing is as straightforward as possible. Regards Dan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Basingstoke
14.3 mi away
Norton Park - A QHotel
Norton Park - A QHotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Scotney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,050 reviews
3.3 mi away
Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa
6.7 mi away
Oakley Hall Hotel
Oakley Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Apollo Hotel Basingstoke
Apollo Hotel Basingstoke
#9 of 13 in Basingstoke
3.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
2.9 mi away
Audleys Wood Hotel
Audleys Wood Hotel
#5 of 13 in Basingstoke
4.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Basingstoke Hotel
The Basingstoke Hotel
#11 of 13 in Basingstoke
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel

Property: Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel
Address: Hotel - A QHotel Centre Drive, Basingstoke RG24 8FY, England (Formerly Hampshire Centrecourt)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Basingstoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Basingstoke
#2 Family Hotel in Basingstoke
#2 Luxury Hotel in Basingstoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern well presented full service hotel boasts a unique and broad range of facilities that make it ideal for guests travelling on business or for pleasure. Ideally located in the quiet Chineham area of Basingstoke, making it convenient to both the M3 (J6) and M4 (J10) with easy travel to Newbury, Reading, Andover, Winchester, Farnham and Farnborough. The Hampshire Court is nicely designed around a courtyard garden with an terrific feeling of space. There is Complimentary wifi throughout the hotel and the Coffee Lounge, Bar and Restaurant areas are well served by an established and excellent kitchen and service team. Perfect for business meetings or weddings and other social events, the Hampshire Court has function rooms to suit any size of event from 2 to 1500 people. The superb leisure facilities include 5 indoor tennis courts and both a kid's pool and an adult only pool. The well-equipped gymnasium is also supported by a comprehensive range of studio activities. The luxury Spa offers a full range of body & beauty treatments featuring Jessica nail and ESPA products. For families with younger guests, the separate kid's pool and a brilliant games room makes it easy to have a fun and relaxing break without typical concerns of disturbing other guests. The games room includes a new Ipad Station and a Wii stand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel Basingstoke
Hampshire Court Basingstoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing