We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AWESOME FOOD, EXCELLENT SERVICE AND BEAUTIFUL DECOR” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Raj Of Black Dam

Raj Of Black Dam
Ranked #63 of 253 Restaurants in Basingstoke
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AWESOME FOOD, EXCELLENT SERVICE AND BEAUTIFUL DECOR”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Awesome food, excellent service and food was amaging good portion and authentic. Serviced at the perfect temperature with amaging presentation and great tastes. I have been visiting Raj of Black Dam for years and i have tried different dish everytime it has never failed. The service of the front of the house staff are incredibly friendly. I have tried several restaurant in Basingstoke where Raj of Black Dam is one of the best.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DAVID187054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    30
    12
    8
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“New Years Eve”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

We went for a meal at the Raj for New Years Eve and all 4 of us were really looking forward to it as we have been eating in this restuarant for years but we were very disappointed. They gave us a set menu as well and the main menu and we deicded to 3 set menu's and then just a few more side dishes as this would be enough for all of us. The amount of food that arrived was stupid, there was so much it was impossible to eat and some dishes that had been replaced as they had run out (this was 8pm in the evening). The side dishes were cold and had to be send back 3 times before warm enough to eat. The restuarant was not very busy so it was not becuase of that. The waiters did not seen to know what they should be delivering food wise. It was advertised that we should be given a bottle of champagne but when we asked the manager he said we would have to wait untill midnight but other tables had there already. We explained to him that we were not happy with the services and wanted to leave early and after much discussion the bottle of champagne was given. We were very disapointed as this was our sons first New Years eve as a married man and we wanted it to be special for them both. It has put us off from going there again which is a same because its walking distance from our house. We did have a good laugh on the way about the terrible service!!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
110 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent curry, don't be put off by the outside.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

This was recommened by the hotel we stayed at, what a good choice.

Its in a residential area, not where you would expect, don't be put off by the exterior, once you get in its a surprising haven and very nicely decorated.

But...... The food, fantastic, we had about 6 dishes between us and it was hard to choose the best.

Good value, starters, main course and two pints each £20, just try it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CRose8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Best curry in town would not eat anywhere else , what you want is what you eat great would not ear else where

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tony360xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food, reasonable price and good service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

I have been using The Raj for many years now. Don't be put off by the location of this restaurant because the food that you are going there to eat is always lovely! Have never found a chicken dhansak to beat the one they offer here at any other Indian!!!! We always receive a warm and friendly welcome and have never had any issues with either the food or the service. The meals are fairly priced, always delicious, piping hot and plentiful. Go have a curry here - you won't regret it! Would definitely recommend the Raj.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Molly1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raj Of Black Dam also viewed

Basingstoke, Hampshire
 
Basingstoke, Hampshire
Basingstoke, Hampshire
 

Been to Raj Of Black Dam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing