We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“felt rushed on a friday night”
Review of The Lime Leaf

The Lime Leaf
Ranked #11 of 255 Restaurants in Basingstoke
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Restaurant serving authentic Thai food. Situated in a 16th century two storey building in Basingstoke's Top of Town area. Small intimate dining areas suitable for small group bookings up to 16 persons.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“felt rushed on a friday night”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

The waitress wanted to bring a second beer before the first one was finished. Pad Thai quantity is no where close to how much they serve in U.S. They don't have much vegetarian choices. Glad to have now ordered the curry after seeing the folks on next table ordered curry; it looked awful.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    130
    51
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
113 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Delicious food. Great service. Will return! Kids particularly liked the place as they were given activity packs to play with. A real gem in Basingstoke.

Helpful?
1 Thank MattStev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAMPSHIRE
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quality THAI FOOD”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Been to the Lime Leaf four times now, never disappoints So relaxed, staff allow you to take your time over the menu and are extremely helpful, Last visit we took along time deciding staff took our starters orders and allowed us to take our time choosing the main course. Will be back soon

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MUSICMAN1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
230 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Second visit with consistent good food and service”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

I've been taken to The Lime Leaf twice now by a business colleague and thoroughly enjoyed it on each occasion.

Both times were during the day hence for their lunch promotion which is clearly gaining popularity. On the first visit my colleague and I took the final table downstairs. For this second visit last week, downstairs was already full.

We took the first table upstairs and the tables quickly started filling up after us. It's understandable to see why. On researching The Lime Leaf after my two visits it's noticeable how every review for a year has awarded the restaurant with the full five TripAdvisor 'blobs' - and this review will be adding to them.

This is quickly becoming one of the must-visit places to dine in while in Basingstoke. My second visit will definitely become a third.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ConsumerBloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great ambiance, exciting menu and very good food”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Spent a very enjoyable evening enjoying the ambiance and good food of this very authentic Thai restaurant. The menu is very expansive with a good choice of dishes. The wine list offers a good range of choices with options by the glass, half and full bottle.

The service was attentive, polite and very smiley. The food was beautifully presented in traditional Thai style and tasted very fresh. this is a restaurant that is not afraid to use chillies appropraitely.

we will return.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Revduncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lime Leaf also viewed

Basingstoke, Hampshire
Basingstoke, Hampshire
 

Been to The Lime Leaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing