We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food”
Review of The Lime Leaf

The Lime Leaf
Ranked #11 of 255 Restaurants in Basingstoke
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Restaurant serving authentic Thai food. Situated in a 16th century two storey building in Basingstoke's Top of Town area. Small intimate dining areas suitable for small group bookings up to 16 persons.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Went here for a celebration. Cocktails were really nice. The food was very fresh and the sharing starters were a good size to share. All of us had different meals and all were stunning. Really nice atmosphere and decoration, will be going back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Becky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    130
    51
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sadly not as good as it once was”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We used to be regular visitors to the Lime Leaf 3- 4 years ago. We moved from London and were delighted to find such a great Thai restaurant and as good as if not better than the London ones we used to frequent.
However the last 3 visits have been disappointing. The staff are as friendly as ever but the food isn't quite as good. It's good but not excellent as it was.
Furthermore the prawn crackers used to be complimentary. This might not seem a big deal but the experience of sipping a drink while munching on crackers was a superb start to the meal and experience as a whole. The free crackers also felt like a gesture of good will, like being welcomed into somebody's home.
Also, if I'm paying £45.00 for a meal for two then surely a few prawn crackers won't break the bank!



  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daverich88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good value and tasty food”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We often visit the Lime Leaf when in Basingstoke, the Massaman curry and Pad Thai are hard to beat....we have often tried these dishes in other Thai restaurants and we agree that the Lime Leaf is still setting the standard to beat.

The staff are attentive, the food arrives quickly and the price is reasonable, the only slight negative I could mention is that it is sometimes a little cold in there at lunchtime.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KennyN1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Thai food.”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Not a huge fan of Thai food but was pleasantly surprised by both the variety and taste. Service was good too.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Oliverev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
1 review
“A tasty Thai”
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

A lovely surprise, we've lived in Basingstoke for over 9 years and this was our first visit. The food was fab, portion size just right, price reasonable, staff attentive and decor lovely. Nuff said!

Helpful?
Thank vickster266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lime Leaf also viewed

Basingstoke, Hampshire
Basingstoke, Hampshire
 

Been to The Lime Leaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing