We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“TRY, YOU WILL BE IN FOR NICE SURPRISE” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coal

Coal
Ranked #10 of 253 Restaurants in Basingstoke
Cuisines: American, Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dorset U.K.
Level Contributor
131 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“TRY, YOU WILL BE IN FOR NICE SURPRISE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

My granddaughter suggested we try this, as She lives in Basingstoke, and had heard good reviews from her friends. I was not to sure it was for me, but always happy to try somewhere new. You wait to be seated which is a good sign. The dining area is good, tables being well spaced, so you conversation is not over heard or interrupted. The Menu is extensive, from starters to main courses. I agree the drinks are to expensive. They would sell more, if they trimmed there prices. However food is very good, and well presented. Service from young staff is excellent

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bevilj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    164
    74
    39
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Family Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Had a very good dinner out at Coal last Saturday night. There is a very good menu for children as well as a good set of 'staple' choices for adults. All the food we had was good, value for money good, but the 5 stars was awarded for quite exceptional service, about the best I have experienced in this kind of mid priced family restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank abusinesstraveller20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Delicious Food, Nice Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

I love Coal, the half-price cocktails from 5pm are always really well-made, the food has never been anything but delicious and well-presented and the staff are always very welcoming - I wouldnt hesitate to recommend this restaurant to anyone, its one of my favourites

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank floridanewby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Another excellent place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

We were invited for a meal before visiting a concert in Basingstoke. I've never been in Coal before but I have to say that it was lovely dinner.
Food selection was very wide and very tasty. Staff helpful and very quick, everything came in the right order and right time.
Maybe a bit noisy but that can be expected from packed restaurant at 7pm.
We definitely want to come back to try some other tasty meals from the menu.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BGirl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lots of Birthday Fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Cocktail heaven!!! Would recommend Coal for a birthday cocktail evening, the food is also lovely and the staff very helpful :)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coal also viewed

Basingstoke, Hampshire
 
Mapledurwell, Basingstoke
Old Basing, Basingstoke
 

Been to Coal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing