We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and reasonable prices”

The Tavern Fayre at Hunger Hill Bolton
Ranked #14 of 556 Restaurants in Bolton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $28
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Good food and reasonable prices at the Tavern. It can get busy but its a good atmosphere and the food is excellent. Been here several times and not let down. Good for family occasions.

Thank markwarburton20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (560)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

510 - 514 of 562 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2012

Met my business partner here. Nice and warm inside, was shown to the bar and was warmly welcomed. ALL staff where attentive and food was excellent. The best in Bolton without a shadow of a doubt and very well priced indeed. Would I come back? you bet I would.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank millie2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

the food for my grandson was quite cold and not at all as it looked on the menu. we also found the menu quite expensive for a afternoons meal. the table next to us was very noisy and we also saw the children of the party drinking the beer out of the mens pint pots.

Thank maxine f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane K, General Manager at The Tavern Fayre at Hunger Hill Bolton, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

I am sorry that you did not thoroughly enjoy your visit , however we do not have images on our menu and am not really clear how the food did not match up to how it looked on the menu. Everything on our Childrens menu except the Pizza and the 4oz Burger is homemade , we serve our Childrens meals on cold plates but the Food is usually piping hot and am surprised on this occasin it was not. We have a very strict policy on underage drinking and do not allow chidren or people under the age of 18 to buy or consume alcohol.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Had Sunday lunch here after visiting with friends. The menu is really versatile with good portions. The atmosphere is really very good, with nice décor. I found the Sunday dinner a little blander than previous meals which were more bistro, but given the number of people being served on a Sunday afternoon the food is pretty faultless for the price. The service is always good, but the icing on the cake (excuse the pun) is definitely the desserts. The display cabinet is amazing, with the portions huge compared the little ones you get most places. Would definitely return but probably for an evening meal with friends.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joleen22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane K, General Manager at The Tavern Fayre at Hunger Hill Bolton, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Thank you for your review, we do always try to keep up our standards, so thaks for mentioning both the food and decor. We will look at our Roast dinners to see if we can tweak them to make them absolutely great too. Do say hello on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

For quality food,service & atmosphere the Tavern takes some beating.We went with our friends the other night who we meet up with about 4 times a year due to distances involved.They always ask to go to the Tavern & say they wish there was one near to were they live.
Nothing is to much trouble for any of the staff & the manager is always available if you need to know anything or have any special request.My wife & i have been going for many years now & if there was somewhere better to dine we would go.
Rob M

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RobMorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane K, General Manager at The Tavern Fayre at Hunger Hill Bolton, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Thank you Rob , your review is very positive we always try and to make sure that every diner enjoys themselves. We are proud of the food we serve, if you come again keep an eye on our Specials boards where we always try something new.Please do say hello on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tavern Fayre at Hunger Hill Bolton also viewed

 
Bolton, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Tavern Fayre at Hunger Hill Bolton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing