We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food poor service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tavern Fayre at Hunger Hill Bolton

The Tavern Fayre at Hunger Hill Bolton
Ranked #23 of 513 Restaurants in Bolton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $28
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bolton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent food poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

Party of nine family. Food could not be faulted,excellent. Unfortunately the service let this down. Never once were we asked if everything was ok, and we had to ask for everything if we could attract the attention of anyone. Shame really.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pamela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    148
    68
    30
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good british food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

good value for money very generous portions wide selection on the menu and there is a daily specials board as well. good atmosphere and the restraunt was spotlesly clean.
there is also a large free car park to the rear.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrewb1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great, cheap and enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

Good food and service, went for lunch on Sunday and got 2 courses for just under £8. Would recommend for a traditional English pub meal experience

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mrgeebaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Slow service........ Has to ask for our food!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2011

Went for early tea apx 1600 with husband and two young children, found our own table and ordered food. 30 mins later had to ask waitress for our food as children were getting very restless, (we even checked times on receipt!) - We we're one of two occupied tables in the place, so not busy at all - female server had been folding packs of black napkins for entire time. Same waitress then went to kitchen and brought our food. Food was good for a midweek tea with the kids - just a shame about poor service. Whilst eating our meal, not once were we asked if all was 'ok?' Another family arrived as we were finishing-up and their kids were immediately given crayons and pictures to colour as well as the table being given a fresh jug of drinking water - both of which we were not given by our waitress!! We left full, but dissapionted with poor level of service. Will probably go else where next time - sadly as we have had lovely food and service in the past.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lewis-Hurst_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Hot stuff (Could be hotter!)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2011

Visited with the Mrs on Saturday night just to try a new place. The Royal Balti doesn't look much from the outside (Farnworth generally seems a bit of a down and out place, the pub next door is a bit off putting with its horde of bald headed ciggy smoking pavement dwellers) but if it's a decent curry and a pint you're after then the royal balti will hit the spot! Inside it's a classic curry house, I wouldn't say It's for a romantic meal but if it's a decent curry your after or maybe a spot for the family or a few of the lads then it's a cracking spot!

We started with some papadums, They were fine although if i'm honest the dips could have been better. Some of them just had that old plastic tub taste your get when things have been kept for a while. They were the biggest let down really...

The starters were good, I had mixed kebab which was hot and tasty. The "chicken tikka" was probably turkey but it didn't specify and it was tasty so i didn't mind and I tend to prefer it anyway. It also came with a tasty mutton chop which made a change. The Mrs had the onion Bhaji's which were a little spicier than normal, which was actually good as some you get can be rather dull and flavourless.

For the main course I had the Lamb "Royal Naga", The Menu stated it was "Very Hot" but I would call it "hot". The dish was however very well spiced, flavoursome and tasty. The only issue I had was that I personally felt it didn't actually contain any Naga chillies. I could be wrong and might have missed a small amount but I do eat them quite a lot and they have a unique taste which my dish just didn't seem to contain... Maybe this was a one off but it does annoy. The dish as a whole however was good,
The Mrs had the Tandoori Chicken. It came sizzling and the portion was two good sized legs served with a tasty veg curry side. The meat was tender and well seasoned.
To go with the meal we had a side of pilau rice which was fine, a paratha which was delicious and buttery and a couple of tasty chapatis.
We missed the desserts as they tended to be the standard frozen novelty types but we were offered the usual oranges and complimentary liqueurs.

We paid around £45 for our meal with four drinks, All in all the meal was good and the food better than many Bolton has to offer. The service was decent, although the family opposite us didn't seem too impressed when the friendly trainee waiter spilled curry on their jacket! The other staff did seem mortified at the blunder however and went out of their way to sort it. I would recommend the royal balti and will likely return but would like to see some small improvements too.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank christos2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tavern Fayre at Hunger Hill Bolton also viewed

Bolton, Greater Manchester
 
Bolton, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Tavern Fayre at Hunger Hill Bolton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing