We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, friendly staff, great breakfast, and location close to town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Highgrove Guest House

Highgrove Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Highgrove Guest House
Ranked #4 of 17 Bolton B&B and Inns
Pacific City, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, friendly staff, great breakfast, and location close to town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

I went to Bolton to do family history. I liked Highgrove Guest House the room was clean and very quiet. The location was easy to get to from the train or the bus. My brother and I walked to the property from the bus station. The staff was really nice and the breakfast was good. The one thing that a person needs to know is that you have to be able to call them using a cell phone from the door. I was traveling internationally and my phone locked up. The staff person wasn't there when I arrived and there was a number to call. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pccoastgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    27
    9
    0
    3
See reviews for
16
21
25
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

Visited with my mother. Large twin room fair sized bathroom. Everything was clean and friendly service. Nice quiet night. Location is perfect for people coming by train with a 5 min walk from station. Very reasonable rates and you can add a breakfast if you wish. I didn't this time but will defiantly be back again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vegetarian1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

Debbie and Lee are easy-going, good humoured hosts, offering value-for-money accommodation / breakfast (more than satisfactory all round). I'd certainly not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KMOC67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2011

Awful! The bathroom should have been condemned, it was dangerous; cracked dirty, tiles, nothing would stay on the glass shelf which was loose, the shower was dangerous, either freeze or burn nothing in between and I have never seen so much grimy sealant around a shower.
Stained carpet, cheap bedding and a general run down feeling and appearance.
Breakfast adequate although what we got was not what we ordered.
We would not stay here again if we were paid.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

I had reservations upon booking into a house situated on the main rood, but my fears were groundless.
The Highgrove is a quiet, well run, immaculate establishment.
My bedroom was exceptionally clean, the bathroom spotless, and the brealfast, service and cooking by the cheerfull Debbie was fine.

I reccomend this place. It's near enough to town to be conveniant, yet far enough away to be quiet, and it is good value.
My only thought about additional improvement, would be to allow clients a lounge/sitting room, perhaps the use of dining room to read and relax while waiting for taxi etc.
I will return here.

Room Tip: My room was a single above the front door, but I never heard a thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frost375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

We were visiting family in Bolton and this guest house is great! a short walk from the railway station and very quiet despite facing a busy road. Breakfast was lovely and the rooms were very comfortable - we got a great nights sleep! Debs is a great hostess who makes you feel very welcome. Will return for other trips!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shiningstar33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

Recent stay at this B&B was not to bad, they advertised a full english breakfast
this was not the case it fell short ie, No fried bread, No black pudding, as this is traditional in Bolton it was what we expected.
when questioned about this the answer was "the owner wont do this".
Breakfast times are to strict if you happened to be late youve had it even by a few minutes.

Room Tip: Ask for a rear room it was quieter from any traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehighgrove, Manager at Highgrove Guest House, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
we at the highgrove try our best to give good service and value for money we would like to thank all our customers for the excellent reviews that wer receive big thankyou to you all
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bolton hotels
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Bolton Central River Street
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Bolton Centre
5.7 mi away
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Bolton Whites Hotel
Bolton Whites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bolton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
4.8 mi away
Premier Inn Bolton (Stadium/Arena) Hotel
2.4 mi away
Britannia Bolton Hotel
Britannia Bolton Hotel
#10 of 13 in Bolton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highgrove Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highgrove Guest House

Property: Highgrove Guest House
Address: 63 Manchester Road, Bolton BL2 1ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Bolton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Bolton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Highgrove Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Highgrove Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing