We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Yates's Bolton

Yates's Bolton
Ranked #352 of 523 Restaurants in Bolton
Cuisines: Pub, Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

It's Yates, a chain. It's BOLTON ...enough said right? And any Friday or Saturday night there will fill in the blanks if you still need insight.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julianne2163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    8
    6
    1
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Visitor beware”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The bar service is poor, while you wait at the bar to be served, only one staff is serving, there could be 2-3 others at the end of the bar talking while the bar could be busy. Also while you wait to be served others come in and are served before you.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank GAZZA57UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
254 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Not The Like Your Average Local Yates”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Popped here while on a one night stay in Bolton, Was feeling hungrey and needed some fuel. so wondering in, Bad time I guess as when i approached the bar I was at once hazzled by a total drunk. Maybe I should of taken that as some type of Omen. Ordered a burger and chips for like £1.50 ish, at that price you cant expect much. The folk in the pub were friendly enough. Food arrived and it was OK repeat My expecations were not high.

I went on my way. I was there for the day so decided to pop back about 8.15 in the evening to grab some to eat and maybe a pint. Again approached the Bar and asked if I can order some food. Was told they stop cooking at 8 !!!! It clearly states 9 on the Menu !! Anyway No food or welcome in that inn, ended up getting a Pizza from across the road.

NOT HAPPY !!!!!

AVOID !!!

DONE

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yokum67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“OK but should be better.”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Ok, it's basically a pub which serves food until 9pm most nights of the week.

Arrived with a friend at about 8.15 on a Tuesday, ordered drinks and food. The food appeared in half a hour. it wasn't particularly warm when it arrived either but is was tasty and the prices are reasonable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William2701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere for a night out!”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Visited many times with friends and always enjoy a great night in a safe and relaxed environment.

Price are reasonable and represent great value for money.

And a Magic Mike is an added bonus!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MPB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yates's Bolton also viewed

 

Been to Yates's Bolton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing