We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant - had a fab time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Brewhouse

The Brewhouse
Ranked #134 of 522 Restaurants in Bolton
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Offering guests everything you would want from a local inn – homemade, traditional pub classics a wide selection of hand pulled real ales, welcoming staff and comfortable accommodation.Plus the only pub in the area complete with its own onsite micro-brewery.
1 review
“Brilliant - had a fab time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Heard fantastic reviews from friends so decided to give it a try! Came in with my family (there was 8 of us), we had brilliant service and got drinks to the table! The atmosphere was pleasant and the food was amazing - I had the Cumberland sausage and mash and have been craving it ever since! All food and drinks were reasonably priced and the chef came out to see if everything was ok, which we thought was a very nice gesture! Overall great experience and would recommend to all!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth1234567890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConvivialManagement, Guest Relations Manager at The Brewhouse, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Elizabeth,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We pride ourselves on our fresh, homemade food and personal service and we are pleased that this hasn't gone unnoticed.

Thank you once again for taking the time to review The Brewhouse and we hope to see you again soon.

Many Thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    27
    10
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great meal and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

If you like great home cooked food with a great choice of hand pulled ales by a lovely warm fire this is the place to go . The black pudding starter was fantastic and the mixed grill is a challenge in itself to finish we will be back definitely !

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConvivialManagement, Guest Relations Manager at The Brewhouse, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Alex,

We enjoy to read the feedback we receive from our customers, so thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am pleased to read your enjoyed our Dunscar Bridge real ale brewed on site and our black pudding and mixed grill.

Thank you once again and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
443 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“Nice meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

eer that theey brew on the premises - such a shame that you can't buy itt anywhere else!Went here for Mothers day with a party of 7 and had a very nice time. Interesting and ttasty menu and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Best bit was the

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank neddyb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConvivialManagement, Guest Relations Manager at The Brewhouse, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Neddy,

Thank you for choosing to dine with us on Mother's Day, I am pleased to read that your party enjoyed the meal and the service we provided.

I would also like to mention that the Dunscar Bridge ale we brew on site is available at other pubs nationwide and available to buy in bottles from the Brewhouse itself.

Many thanks and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Don't walk or drive by - just call in”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Don’t walk on by – call in


If you’re driving along Blackburn Road, out of Bolton towards the village of Egerton and Darwen beyond it’s easy to miss a real gem of a pub restaurant. The Brewhouse is set in a line of stone terraced houses on the left and if you don’t know the area it would be easy to drive on by. If you did it would be your loss. If you can, take the time to call in and sample the food and the beer. It has great cask conditioned beers, brewed just 400 yards down the road at Dunscar Bridge Brewery and a decent kitchen producing above average pub grub at reasonable prices.
My wife and I called in for lunch last week to meet a friend who had recommended it. It’s a welcoming bar with a range of hand pumps offering the Dunscar beers and a couple of guest cask conditioned ales as well. We ordered some beers which I found very agreeable. We tried a couple and they each certainly had a distinctive taste, the first was quite a bitter bitter if you get my drift and the second, which if I remember rightly, was Steeplejack, which the more mellow of the two and more to my taste. I was told these beers have been dry hopped whatever that might mean but it’s certainly given them plenty of taste – a real more-ish pint. We ordered lunch from the friendly and knowledgeable barman who recommended the nibbles as starters which we took him up on.
This was home-made Scotch eggs with a runny yolk which was delicious and an equally tasty black pudding and mustard. Between us we ordered a gammon, egg and chips, a Dunscar beer steak pie with veg and chips and a… The gammon was a substantial portion and the home-made chips were very good. The pie had excellent meat with the beer giving it a nice edge but it could have done with more juice or gravy inside. The third meal was a club wrap with chips which was tasty and filling.
There was a good atmosphere in the pub with about 10 other people drinking and eating in the three main rooms, two welcoming gas fires and a view to the original in-house small brewery through a large plate glass window. We were told the menu was about to be changed and we hope they keep the nibbles because they were great value and excellent quality.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Terrible-Dont bother”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Having been told how nice it was to eat at the Brewhouse in Bolton we decided to try it for lunch.
We went today 15 Feb 13. Place looks dark, one person behind bar not friendly at all. Only one couple already eating. Great we thought. Went to order drinks asked for a coffee was advised only filter, no problem ordered that and a shandy. Then we ordered our food straight away which was only black pudding starter and a sandwich each for main. Drinks arrived, Coffee was cold, We then waited 40 mins and decided to ask how much longer it would be to be told 'I dont know' When asked why there was such a long wait we were advised' no one has booked they have just turned up'....this is a restaurant/pub!!!! We decided not to wait any longer and went to pay for the cold coffee and the shandy , which they took ha , customer service ...zero.....Will not be going back. not even an apology!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank harrysmum25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConvivialManagement, Guest Relations Manager at The Brewhouse, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am sorry to hear that you find our pub dark, we always have our fires burning and lamps lit to provide a warm and cosy atmosphere for our guests.

I am aware that the manager came over to personally apologise however please accept our apologies again that your experience was not all it could have been.

We hope you will visit us again to sample our new menu and experience The Brewhouse as it should be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brewhouse also viewed

 
Bromley Cross, Bolton
 

Been to The Brewhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing