We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Service. Great Food. Great Time.”
Review of Momentum - CLOSED

Momentum
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bolton, Lancashire
Level Contributor
71 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Service. Great Food. Great Time.”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

My wife and I recently visited Momentum to celebrate our wedding Anniversary. It was our first visit and had been indirectly recommended to us - we'd seen some of our friends mention it on social networks so we thought we'd give it a try. On arrival there was a little confusion about our reservation. At first our booking wasn't on the list but, it turned out that it had been crossed out (I assume marked as being there already) in error. However, the mix up was quickly and efficiently worked out without any impact on our night. We waited at the bar and had chance to have a cocktail before taking our table. The decor of the restaurant creates a relaxed and contemporary feel. There was a great atmosphere and most tables, if not all, were occupied. Staff were very attentive and overall service before, during and after our meal was excellent. The food was very good, well presented and flavorsome. I started with Pan Fried Scallops and chose the Guinea Fowl off the Specials board. Unsure about purchasing a second bottle of wine, our waitress left the cork. Which is a nice touch as we were able to easily take the unfinished bottle home. I finished with a Bread and Butter pudding. Overall very pleased. Reasonably priced for the quality of food and service. It offers something different for the area and it does so very well. We will be going back!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PMJ104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    43
    26
    16
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“first impressions do count”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

read the good reviews so decided to try this restaurant. booked a table for 6pm as expected it to be busy going off the reviews. as we arrived i told the girl we had booked a table for 6pm but she did not have our name down? however she said they could fit us in and it did appear to be very quiet. the waitress was very friendly and took our drinks order promptly however when it came my drink was wrong and i asked her to change it which she did. we ordered from the market menu, the starters were satisfactory but the main meals of suckling pig and lamb were awful ,the meat very fatty, the yorkshire pudding burnt, and my wifes meal had a bad potato on it! we have never complained about a meal before but on this occassion had no choice, the waitress took the plate back and informed us that my wifes meal would not be charged for which was good of them.
All in all we can only tell you of our experience and although there are plenty of good reviews we will not return again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank waynegreen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Loving it”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Last night was our second visit to
Momentum, and on both occasions our party of 4 has had a faultless evening. .The surroundings are modern and relaxing, the service is very friendly and efficient, and the food excellent. Highlights we're 2 for 1 cocktails between 5 and 7 pm, an extremely good value and delicious market menu, and brilliantly executed puddings which include the best pastry I've sampled for a while.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenniybobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful everything!”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

What a pleasure to have such a fantastic restaurant on our doorstep. No need to go into Manchester when the food is this good. Set in a cool, sophisticated setting with attention to detail in every aspect inside to the lovely decked area at the rear. A real sun trap! The service was prompt, couteous and efficient and the food our party chose kept up the high standards. A delightful dining experience, so good we returned for the special tapas night on the weds and were again bowled over with the quality of the food served. Would not hesitate to recommend to anyone.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BrenBlood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Average and had better”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We ate here on recommendation from friends, when we booked and viewed the menu we were impressed. We'd been told that the chef had previously been at another place where we couldn't fault the food, so that really made up our mind to eat here.

We were going for a birthday meal, the surroundings are modern , the cocktail bar area is quite cramped and noisy and not really somewhere we feel you could sit and relax to enjoy a drink, it's more like a waiting area to be honest. It is also open to non diners which took away the restaurant feel for us.

The food , despite having a well stocked menu didn't really do it for us. What we ordered was ok. But not in our opinion worth the prices they were asking. Be aware iChat vegetables come as a supplement with main meals at extra cost ! We found this unusual and a bit underwhelming.

The drinks are limited to a couple of lager beer choices, the rest are cocktails or shorts. The wine list is well stocked but again we felt pricey for the venue.

Overall ok. But not somewhere we'll recommend or visit again I'm afraid which is a pity as it's conveniently close to home for us.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SGManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Momentum also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing