We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An amazing time was had by all.”
Review of Momentum - CLOSED

Momentum
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bolton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“An amazing time was had by all.”
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We had our sons christening at momentum, 40 -45 people were there, all the staff were fantastic and the food amazing. It was a little different but so glad we did it in style. We ate at momentum a few months before and spoke to the management who gave us some option, hope this place is here to stay. Thank you all.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank buckshee72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    43
    26
    16
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic! Best meal we have had for a long time!”
Reviewed February 2, 2012

We went to Momentum on Wednesday afternoon for some lunch and ended up staying for a 3 course meal because we could not resist the menu. The food was fantastic, as was the service. With dishes such as 'Mustardy Rabbit Pot' and desserts to die for like the warm Cinnamon & Lemon tart with blueberry compote who can resist. I highly recommend a trip to this restaurant and can't wait to go back very soon.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east sussex uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“2 4 1 cocktails 2 4 1 bar snacks ....cheap friday night out”
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Ive been to momentum almost a dozen times now but this friday is whats has prompted my review. Me and a few girls met up at 5pm and til 7 we drank 2 4 1 cocktails ....on all cocktails not some reduced list like most places! The new bar snacks menu with the chilli squid taco is unbelievably good value on its own let alone with 2 4 1 offers mon - fri. I have also been for dinner with the husband and anyone who says this place is expensive or for special occassions is talking nonesenss its cheaper here than alot of places in the area because there are no sides needed with your meals, i had the sea bass and it was beautiful but the lemon and lime brulee with a shot of koko kanu ( recommended by my waitress) was the real show stopper totally fresh and light and creamy a perfect end to a beautiful meal. CANNOT RECCOMMEND ENOUGH this place is a gem!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seceretdiner2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West Britain
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Birthday and Festive treat”
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Been to this restaurant twice now. Both times the food was excellent. The latter visit was on 23rd December 2011. There were 4 in the party and we sunk 4 cocktails each pre, during and post meal. Definitely try a Zombie they are great value for money! We all ordered off the festive set menu where we had 3 courses for £25 and I have to say not one meal was disappointing! The shin beef could have been eaten with a spoon it was that soft. All portions were generous ( our first visit left us feeling hungry, so they have obviously addressed this )! The atmosphere was great, although it was Christmas time. The service as ever was excellent and we weren't rushed in any way. The drinks are reasonably priced and they have cocktails to suit any palate. The creme brulee was heaven on a plate. There was nothing to dislike at all about this visit. We will definitely be returning.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roversgals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Level Contributor
109 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Hope it keeps its Momentum......see what I did there!”
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Six of us dined here as we'd seen it advertised and not sure what to expect.

Granted its pricey for what looks like a couple of knocked through terraced houses in Westhoughton, Bolton, but we cant go on location alone, How was the food? Blooming lovely.

I couldn't fault one dish and we all orderd different things just to see what it was all like.
We ordered starters, mains and dessert and a few bottles of wine etc.
Granted portions were a little on the small size for some dishes but the tastes were fantastic.
Total cost £300 ish. Now thats £50 a head which really isn't that bad considering the quality of food, excellent service and quality wine list.

Its just its in Westhoughton? It just doesnt seem right somehow.

If you plan to go then book well in advance. First time we tried we couldn't get in, second time (this time) we had to off the table by 9pm...or was it 8? The wine was flowing well.

Lets hope this place has staying power and doesn't go down hill as soon as it gets a good name for itself. Momentum.....we'll see.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fourtoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Momentum also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing