We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of Queens Park

Queens Park
Ranked #9 of 51 things to do in Bolton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bolton, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Being a Bolton resident, I walk through here on a regular basis, so I've seen this park in all weathers and conditions, I love this place, it is currently under going a full restoration, and I can see that by this time next year will look like it once did many years ago, there's a new café by what was once the gate keepers house, the green spaces are vast and lend themselves to both picnics in summer and sledging in winter, there are both fishing ponds and duck ponds, I have even seen a kingfisher on the fish ponds, the café is both modern and friendly, with nice staff and reasonable prices, with clean and fully accessible loos,There's a play area for children and adequate parking linked by a bridge over the river Croal, The security has been improved in recent weeks, and the people who maintain this space are cheerful and friendly.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    40
    14
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“free open green spaces for all to enjoy& on a bus route”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

loved the garden design - the views- walks - paths and shrubs. not sure who likes it best me or my dog.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank magic1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Bespoke park.”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Queens park can be approached from several different entrances, best to get your map out to work out your easiest access. The park covers several acres, it has bowling greens, tennis courts, ample play areas for children with parent supervision. When walking through the park you are reminded of in small glimpses what was a Grand park of Victorian splendour as some original stonework still exists. At the main entrance situated on Chorley new road you only have to walk a short distance to enter a beautiful circular garden, this usually has the name of the incumbent Mayor written in a large flower arrangement. Well worth a visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“not many nice parks in bolton”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

bolton lacks nice parks and ones that you can feel safe in myself I wouldnt feel safe in queens park bolton really needs to spend money on things like this instead of silly statues

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank big-martin5320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westhoughton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great for families”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Brilliant play area with loads for kids of all ages. The grounds are safe, very clean and well looked after and the Pavilion selling snacks, drinks and Ice creams is a real bonus. Good for parking too.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 721DawnL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Queens Park also viewed

Bolton, Greater Manchester
Bolton, Greater Manchester
 
Bolton, Greater Manchester
Bolton, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Queens Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing