We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor service.”
Review of Red Lion

Red Lion
Ranked #41 of 526 Restaurants in Bolton
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“poor service.”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The food is ok here, but the service is just appalling! We went on 23/5/2013. We would not have gone as we were already boycotting the place for an earlier poor meal, but we went with family. The first time we went for a meal, they forgot my 2 year olds order. Apparently i must not have asked for it as it was not on my reciept (which I did not notice). I would not have forgotten to order my only child's dinner. I was told I would have to go and rejoin the queue and re-order his dinner, whilst my dinner sat going cold. By the time I had re-ordered his dinner everybody else had finished their dinner and my son was very upset that his dinner had not come, it was another 15 minutes by the time it arrived. On this most recent occassion we queued for 15-20 mins to order (there was only one girl taking orders who informed people there was a 30 minute wait for food - no apology) The food was mediocre when it arrived. The pub had quietened down towards the end of the meal so we decided to order deserts for the children. 45 minutes later no deserts had arrived, we complained twice and over an hour after ordering them the eventually arrived after we had said if we didn't get them now we wanted our money back as it was now nearly 9pm ( we had been there since 6pm) and we had 4 young children with us he needed to get to bed. When the first desert came (a tub of jelly straight from the fridge!) it was wrong and when I told the girl this she huffed and snatched it back. I couldn't understand why it took an hour to put jelly and ice cream in a bowl, and we would have given up waiting for this sooner but we didn't want to upset the kids who were looking forward to their deserts. I will not be going back here again!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JPo397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    53
    42
    23
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“food better than the decor”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

not a place to enjoy a quiet meal and although the food is usually good value and edible the pub needs shutting down for a couple of weeks to be refurbished but i am afraid it will not happen as the place is always packed

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank harryess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very poor”
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Food splashed on the wall by our table didn't make for a good first impression. Food reasonable, but not so cheap, especially when compared to what you get. Place way past it's sell by date, needs major re-build. Don't bother drive past.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If you want a quite bite i recommend Beirut.”
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Used to come here all the time when the kids used the WW. I remember when my children were younger, ate well and played after. Now it's filled with kids with kids who are busy getting drunk while their offspring play catch the burger. The food is cold and of poor standard,the staff look like they want to hang themselves or be buried alive in the ballpool. Get rid of the Chavs who use this place to get smashed while their brats tear the place to shreds. Shame really, I have great memories of this place. One plus; if you can't get tickets for the Jeremy Kyle show, get a pint, pull up a chair and witness Britains finest.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doubled74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Red Lion Wacky Warehouse, Fayre and Square Pub”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Went there 4.30pm until 7.30pm Thursday 7th March 2013, there were 4 adults and 4 children with us. The children went into the play area and had a great time we orderded food which came after about 30 minutes all correct and hot. The food was standard chain pub fayre but couldn't complain as like I said it was hot and correct to our order and for the price what do some people want? The place was clean and tidy and the staff polite and pleasant. We left behind a £60 Global Kitchen knife we used to cut a birthday cake, when we rang up the manager told us the staff had found it and she had it ready for me to collect, which was a relief to say the least.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leonard8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Lion also viewed

Bolton, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Leigh, Greater Manchester
Wigan, Greater Manchester
 
Sale, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing