We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful country pub and restaurant”
Review of The Strawbury Duck

The Strawbury Duck
Ranked #64 of 532 Restaurants in Bolton
Price range: $0 - $33
Cuisines: British, Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Delightful country pub and restaurant”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I had lunch with a friend here recently and it was really great. We sat outside in the enclosed garden, full of summer flowers and quiet adult conversations, it was delightful. The food was marvellous. My friend had the halloumi and vegetable kebabs and I had the chicken caesar salad, and we'd recommend both. The staff were also very courteous - and to cap it off I used my Tastecard as it was midweek and we got 2 main courses for the price of 1. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Egertonjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    210
    120
    85
    77
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Love it”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I have been here many times, but I loved my Christmas experience here.... fire roaring, lovely mulled wine, big comfy chairs, nice bar snacks such as meat pies, sweet potato fries, lovely décor, nice staff!

We live in the near by village so we walk around the Wayho res and then up to the pub, nice walk in summer and winter.

This put is dog friendly, so great for walkers.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Callie86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great food, lovely atmosphere-definitely worth a visit”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

My husband and I visited the duck on bank holiday Sunday. We were greeted with a warm welcome and our orders were dealt with quickly and efficiently. We opted to sit outside and I must say the outdoor seating area is a real treat. Recently refurbished it is a beautiful area to enjoy a meal on a summer's evening. Both our steaks were cooked to order and my special request was no trouble for the staff. Following by a few glasses of Pimms to round off a perfect evening. Would definitely recommend to others.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise29280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
448 reviews
311 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“Fantastic views, food and service.”
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a sunny afternoon sat outside eating brilliant food, admiring the views and being treated to excellent service. The staff are very friendly and I would recommend the rib-eye steaks which were cooked to perfection. Starters of saddleback sausage, potted duck, pulled pork and chorizo in red wine were equally delicious. Can't wait to return!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Visited twice in the same week”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Originally called here on the Thursday and we had a drink, then ordered lunch.
I had a starter of Goosnargh chicken liver parfait, which was very tasty, well presented and met expectations.

I then chose for my main Slow cooked rare breed belly pork, with black pudding mash, apple sauce, fine beans costing £ 13.95. This dish was exceptional and worth the price.
My partner went for ' Trevor's special mixed vegetable omelette ' and she said it was tasty and filling.

The following Monday we returned for a business lunch with a friend and all 3 of us were more than happy with the food.
I had again the Belly Pork, my partner had a sandwich of Pulled pork and Bramley apple and cider compote, while our guest tucked into Strawbury duck, Pan fried Goosnargh duck breast.

Granted this is not the cheapest place to eat, but the food here is freshly prepared, cooked to a really good standard and is very tasty indeed.

Matt and the team have got this nailed.

Looking forward to returning !

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Oggy-Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Strawbury Duck also viewed

 
Bolton, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Strawbury Duck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing