We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What is the point of booking a table if you have to wait five minutes to be greeted when you arrive and a further twenty minutes”
Review of The Strawbury Duck

The Strawbury Duck
Ranked #65 of 536 Restaurants in Bolton
Price range: $0 - $32
Cuisines: British, Pub
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What is the point of booking a table if you have to wait five minutes to be greeted when you arrive and a further twenty minutes”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We went here having booked a table for 6.30pm on a Saturday evening. No one came to greet us when we arrived and we were left waiting at the door for five minutes. We were eventually shown to a table that wasnt properly set and where there were other tables that were dirty. I tried to order food at the bar after a few minutes but I was told the waiter would come to the table to take our order. Twenty minutes later he arrived and by this time we had decided that we were not prepared to wait any longer. We had our ten year old daughter with us hence the early booking. When we told the waiter we were unhappy with the service and were going to leave he shrugged his shoulders. We did not receive an apology and after waiting a further ten minutes we paid for our drinks and left we will not be going back. Even if the food was MIchelin star standard it does not make up for such poor customer service. They must be doing extremely well to be able to lose custom like this. I would advise you to try a place where they will appreciate your custom and make you feel welcome when you are spending your hard earned money with them

Helpful?
2 Thank NSGBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    212
    123
    87
    78
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great service, good food, good beer”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Another good meal at The Duck last night. It was busy but John managed to find us a table within 15 minutes - just time too enjoy a pint at the bar. The service was excellent and all the staff were very friendly.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“vegan nosh in the north !”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

efficient, motivated staff, freshly prepared meal in comfortable surroundings. nothing was too much trouble. head barman made sure we were well cared for.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank magic1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“motivated chef and staff - excellent service at short notice”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

March 1st. After a very pleasant 2 hour walk with beautiful scenery we arrived around 2.15.
The trio of real ale samples a treat. Rebecca was the perfect barmaid and would ask the chef if we could eat. Asking for vegan in the north needs courage. Usually met with broccoli bake or mousaka or "you eat fish dont you?". NOT here today. Head chef Trevor came out of the kitchen to talk to us. Andrew his apprentice made a deliciously tasty salad -full of protein and omega 3,6,9 ( for folk who think we suffer). Is her a head chef in the making?The main course was designed in ten minutes by Trevor. Lots of what we like and delicately served. Even found time to discuss the herbs and spices with us. Friendly, efficient service. Obvious signs of artists at work in the kitchen. We will be back with a party - given notice Trevor can organise a stupendous delight- we were told. Wont be long before there is a vegan section on their menu......... (ps. You dont Have to be vegan to eat this well). many thanks to you all. see you soon.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank magic1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Back on Form”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Been walking round the two nearby reservoirs for years and used to love a meal,drink or both in the duck. However, going back a few years, it went massively downhill and eventually closed. It has fairly recently re-opened and is back on top form. Went today after a walk with the dogs and friendly welcome, real fires, great beer (including hoegaarden) and lovely food. The burger was amazing, not fatty in the slightest, the chips were chunky and home made and the fish delightfully light battered. Recommended

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wiggy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Strawbury Duck also viewed

 
Bolton, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Strawbury Duck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing