We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to spend a Sunday afternoon”
Review of The Strawbury Duck

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Strawbury Duck
Ranked #9 of 17 Bolton B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 10, 2014

A relaxing walk around Entwistle reservoir followed by a bite to eat at the consistently lovely Strawberry Duck is the ideal way to round off a weekend.
Its a great pub in a great location and the food even gets the thumbs up from my two-year-old. Sitting inside, the best tables are the ones tucked away in the little rooms away from the bar, and the newly refurbished patio area is a lovely little suntrap in the summer with an outdoor bar and bbq. A family favourite.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 150 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2013

Good Rooms, Pub, Grub, and music. But they don't seem to be interested in the residents and Nobody seems to be in charge. If arriving by train, Check In is not before 3pm, we were turned away at 1.30 but luckily had our own transport. Seemed like nobody was there in the morning until Chef arrived. Don't expect to see breakfast before 8.30 if like us you order for 8. It did not really matter for us though.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FredW76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We celebrated our 48th wedding anniversary, the warm hospitable welcome was simply the norm there. Our room was very clean, comfortable and warm. Our meal superb as was the genuine good wishes from our hosts and others enjoying a meal.
The breakfast we rate as one of the top five we have ever enjoyed, local sourced products from known quality suppliers well prepared and cooked.
Absolute excellent value, we will return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Excellent accommodation, very friendly & helpful staff. Adjoins the Entwhistle railway station, very convenient for trips to
Bolton & Manchester. Unfortunently our Saturday morning breakfast was a disaster, started with the helpful cleaner/waitress
Who did her best, after leaving her hoovering to fetch & carry from the kitchen, also served us with cups of terrible tasting coffee which we had to return. The breakfast (laugh)! Was uneatable, scrambled egg served with the scrapings from the
Bottom of the pan, returned and a bacon roll with the bread still half frozen in the middle. Sunday morning seemed to be heading the same way, we could not get out of Pub, the staff could not get in as all the doors were locked and no keys, we tried to find keys but eventually went out thru the garden door to allow staff in to find keys to open up.The front door that was locked had the green escape route sign over the door! Surely it should have a crash-bar? From then on things improved with an excellent breakfast, if a bit slow in serving, but the staff on duty were very good no complaints there.
The party we were there for was well catered for on Sunday afternoon, top marks for that. To be fair an allowance was made
On our Bill for Saturday breakfast, but should not have happened. Would we go again? Yes!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
Thank BGB25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Our table reserved for a meal was 2 meters away from the bar. At the bar were several groups of lads shouting at each other. Our table could not hold a conversation and when we did leave the restaurant our ears were ringing. The food was soggy and boring without any exciting taste or texture. Furthermore my meal awoke me at 1:00am to violently VOMIT 3 times. This was hands down the worst dining experience I had ever had. The service was attentive enough and friendly but the actual food and atmosphere was horrific.

Room Tip: Only ate at the restaurant so I can't rate some of the ratings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Creagle2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed at The Strawbury Duck for 1 night and dined in the restaurant. The accommodation was nice and clean and the bed was really comfortable but our toilet/shower was located in a main public corridor which was a let down. The bar and restaurant was great with a cosy country cottage atmosphere and the food is highly recommended. The location is great for walkers and dogs are welcome with water bowls and treats ready available. Breakfast...no beans! Again a small let down.

Room Tip: When booking. Ask for any room apart from the one located near the emergency exit door, Not en-suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittlePodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I loved this place. Stayed for 3 nights and would have happily stayed for longer. Very, very quirky. Don't go if you want everything perfect but do go if you want some fun and some laughs. The staff are great, particularly John. He was so helpful. The place was very busy but not noisy at night when you wanted to go bed. The music was fantastic. The food was good, plenty of choice and value for money. The breakfasts were fun and more like being served in a friend's home. Did not get our bed made the whole time we were there but, somehow, it did not matter - just made laugh every time we got back. Good walks from the pub. The rooms are lovely. Will be back.

Room Tip: All rooms looked good - had a peek in all of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maylords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bolton hotels
2.2 mi away
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bromley Cross
1,705 reviews
5.4 mi away
Travelodge Bolton Central River Street
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Bolton Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Ingleside House
Ingleside House
#2 of 17 in Bolton
144 reviews
8 mi away
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
7 mi away
Bolton Whites Hotel
Bolton Whites Hotel
#2 of 13 in Bolton
1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strawbury Duck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strawbury Duck

Address: Entwistle,Turton Overshores Road, Bolton BL7 0LU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Bolton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Bolton
Price Range: $91 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Strawbury Duck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing