We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for dog lovers”
Review of The Strawbury Duck

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Strawbury Duck
Ranked #9 of 17 Bolton B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed for the weekend at the end of the Easter break with our 2 dogs in tow. Very welcoming and friendly staff, great food and a varied menu. Location beautiful and a great spot for walking. Live music in the bar really gave something extra to the stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqueline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 151 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2013

We have been pleased with the food and service over the past few years but on Good Friday this year, we were very disappointed. We arrived at 12 noon to find the majority of tables had reserved signs (fair enough for a Bank Holiday) but we managed to find a table which was not "reserved". We were then told by a waitress that it WAS reserved although there was no reserved sign or explanation given. We looked for another table and incredibly this happened twice more (we had actually ordered food and drinks on the table number of the second table!).
The most annoying part was the staff were totally unsympathetic and quite rude and even told us to come back after 4.30pm. One waitress even said "it's not my fault"!
Other people appeared to have the same problem as us.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Thank Dingle46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here last week and was pleasantly suprised what a beautiful setting with food to die for just can't believe I had never been here b4. The staff are excellent nothing was to much trouble. Looking forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustinJones10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

great pub, the setting is fantasic, the ales are regularly changed taking advantage of the many local micro breweries in the area and adam's organic pork is amazing. dont know what more you could want from a pub, oh yeah friendly service and decent prices.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mike h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

My Stay at The Strawbury Duck in Bolton was Fantastic.
The place itself has a stunning setting and a really lovely welcome. I was on business in Bolton and fed up of staying in clinical Premier Inn's, i was after a warmer feel and this certainly hit the mark. The Food was also great in the Bar and the staff couldn't do enough for you. To be honest, the next morning i found it hard to get up i was that comfortable in my room. I certainly know where to stay if i'm in the area ever again. Keep up the good work folks!

Room Tip: Any room is great from what i could see, but the one thing that i'd be careful of is the drive w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevem831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I had the cheese pie which was gorgeous as usual, the other half had sausages and mash was equally as good. The Stawberry Duck staff were lovely, Lauren particularly so... I even bagged the cheese pie recipe !! Thank you!! Another lovely visit!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We have just had a fantastic weekend at the strawbury duck. The double room was £60 per night which included a full English breakfast, the room was clean and pleasant with ensuite bathroom. The staff are very friendly and go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. Dogs are allowed into the pub but this is made clear on their details so I would suggest that if you don't like dogs don't go there. There are dog treats on the bar but they are fully wrapped. The food is really good and there is a bit if a wait once you order but that's because it is being freshly cooked. We would definitely stay at this inn again and will not hesitate to recommend - Must mention Lauren who works hard in the bar she is definitely an asset to this establishment.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bolton hotels
2.2 mi away
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bromley Cross
1,723 reviews
6.8 mi away
Ingleside House
Ingleside House
#2 of 17 in Bolton
144 reviews
8 mi away
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Bolton Whites Hotel
Bolton Whites Hotel
#2 of 13 in Bolton
1,315 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Mercury
The Mercury
#1 of 1 in Westhoughton
162 reviews
7.2 mi away
Premier Inn Bolton (Stadium/Arena) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strawbury Duck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strawbury Duck

Address: Entwistle,Turton Overshores Road, Bolton BL7 0LU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Bolton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Bolton
Price Range: $92 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Strawbury Duck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing