We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great...if you don't have kids!”

Hot Chilli Indian Restaurant
Ranked #67 of 533 Restaurants in Bolton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $26
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The menu offers traditional Indian dishes, house specialties and regional recipes from Eastern India and Bengal. All dishes are individually prepared using only the finest and freshest ingredients available. The modern design and friendly service add to the exceptional dining experience at Hot Chilli. Whether it's a romantic dinner for two or a party celebration with friends and family, come and enjoy the very best of Eastern Indian cuisine at Hot Chilli in Bolton.
Prestwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great...if you don't have kids!”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We visited this restaurant for a friends 30th birthday, but we'd have been better off going to Rusholme. We arrived at the meal with our 9 month old baby, the plan was for him to nibble on some naan breads and play with his toys in a high chair whilst we ate. However, when we asked the waitress for a highchair, she told us that they only had 1 in the restaurant and it was currently being used by another baby! The waitress simply said sorry then walked off! So between myself and my husband we had to sit the baby on our knee whilst we ate (anyone who has children can imagine what this was like! if it wasn't for it being my friends birthday, we would have walked straight back out of the door)
Aside from the lack of highchair, the only baby changing facility is in the women's toilets, which are down a flight of stairs! not good when you have to carry a changing bag, 9 month old baby and wear a pair of heels, seen as though its a special occasion!
The food itself was average, i had the Seekh kebab to start, which was very very dry!!! I then had a chicken sambar. The chicken in this was very dry too and chewy, lots of grissle/fatty bits! the sauce itself was very thick and stodgy and had far too much salt in it.
The room itself had no ambience about it at all, it felt more like a mexican restaurant or a school canteen! the music playing in the restaurant was not in keeping with the restaurant and was far too loud. The heating could have been turned down a little too!
When my partner spilled a drink, there was no assistance in helping to wipe the table, instead i had to use all the napkins around me to wipe the spillage off the table, myself and the floor!
In between each meal, no napkins were replaced, despite some of eating food with our hands i.e. naan breads.
The time we had to wait between each course and then finally for the bill was far too long! in total we were at the restaurant for 3 hours and we only had a starter and main each!
The only good thing i can say is that after the meal we were offered a complimentary drink (probably to compensate for the number of drinks we'd ordered whilst waiting for food)
Overall i wouldn't recommend this restaurant, there are many other restaurants in the area in this price range which offer much better food and service! and have more than 1 highchair!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrsemmalevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vampire6661, General Manager at Hot Chilli Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Would like to apologise for the inconveniance.
We have bought 2 new high chairs !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    35
    20
    14
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“perfect”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

good customer service,food brilliant,well run,cant fault this place will be back soon.nice size of resraurant not too big which gives you the personel touch,well done hot chilli.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank suep739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“excellent.....”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

yet another amazing night at Hot Chilli!! It never ceases to shock me though, how people think they can take the **** . There was a family, (11) who wanted to order 7 x the Hot Sunday menu! which incidently, is fantastic value, for 3 courses, and they were obviously wanting to share it out amongst them all. On questioning their order Ray, tactfully and very respectfully, told them, it didn't seem fair; at this they left! their drinks still on the table, which they did not offer to pay for either. Well done Ray, I say, proffesional tact and decorum from him, complete disrespect from the family!! (they should go to McDonalds in future). .....Have respect for a great well run restaurant...... Go and see!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank BarbiandKevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We visited this restaurant after reading all the good reviews. The food was disappointing. This applied to all several dishes ordered. The food had no authenticity. An Indian restaurant is visited for a good curry, however it seems this one is attempting to forget the roots of a curry. The setting and service could not be faulted. The waiters were attentive and the setting lovely.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank neena1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vampire6661, General Manager at Hot Chilli Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
My sincerest apologies for not be able to provide the menu you were hoping for .

Hot Chilli specialises mainly in Eastern Indian, Assamese, Bengali, & Bihari food and spices.
We do have a variety of dishes from other parts of India.
But India is a huge sub continent with a plethora of dishes from different regions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Gem in Bolton”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Recommended to try this restaurant and it did not disappoint. Have tried a lot of restaurants and this is the best by far. My husband being Scottish likes a good meal, good wine and for a good price And he was really happy with Hot Chilli. The food was fantastic and the staff made you feel really welcome. This is now top of the list to try again, can honestly the ranking of 17th does not do it justice, should be first

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank scubamad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hot Chilli Indian Restaurant also viewed

Bolton, Greater Manchester
Bolton, Greater Manchester
 
Bolton, Greater Manchester
 
Bolton, Greater Manchester
Bolton, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Hot Chilli Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing