We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a wonderful wildlife spot”

Bolton Library and Museum Services
Ranked #5 of 51 things to do in Bolton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bolton Museum and Art Gallery has something for everyone. Visit our Ancient Egypt Gallery to see fascinating artifacts, learn about Bolton's rich heritage or meander your way through our collection of art. Learn about creatures from all over the world and don't forget to say hello to our dinosaur friend on your way in! We are also home to Greater Manchester's only aquarium.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“a wonderful wildlife spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

such peace and beauty in bolton. good to see people walking and out in the fresh air. sad the park keepers have gone. Selfish folk leaving rubbish and tipping left overs into the water.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank magic1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    83
    26
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Brilliant attraction for a small town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

I've just come back from Bolton Aquarium in the museum. This is an ace little aquarium, concentrating solely on freshwater tropical fish, that pouches above its weight. Tiny fish I've never seen before (and probably won't again, due to their rarity) as well as the most beautiful Birchir I've ever seen. With all kind of fish in between; danios, piranha, catfish and myriad shrimp.
If you've time to kill I'd heartily recommend it; after all the Egyptian collection is upstairs

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank kazschofy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

A real surprise to find such a treasure in the centre of town and suspect it is underused. Wonderful art gallery and excellent local history section. Large area for children should be used and visited more.

Helpful?
Thank folkfanatic2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Worth going if passing on a rainy day”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

Firstly I have to mention this must be the smallest aquarium ever! We were done in 2 minutes. Luckily the museum kept the kids (under 4) amused for a little longer, even though the exhibits were a little random. The guys running the aquarium were really friendly though and were promoting a mid-week toddler activity which sounded fun if you had the time. It's free and in a beautiful building that you wouldn't really know was there, so like I said worth visiting with the kids if passing on a rainy day.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pdjohnsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Brilliant Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Museum for Egypt followers, Bolton History, Aquarium no entrance fee, little shop, art gallery, near the shops, very ingteresting for the children

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Middleton70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bolton Library and Museum Services also viewed

Bolton, Greater Manchester
 
Bolton, Greater Manchester
Bolton, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Bolton Library and Museum Services? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing