We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place for all the family”

Bolton Library and Museum Services
Ranked #5 of 51 things to do in Bolton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bolton Museum and Art Gallery has something for everyone. Visit our Ancient Egypt Gallery to see fascinating artifacts, learn about Bolton's rich heritage or meander your way through our collection of art. Learn about creatures from all over the world and don't forget to say hello to our dinosaur friend on your way in! We are also home to Greater Manchester's only aquarium.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great place for all the family”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Bolton museum is really interesting & of a manageable size. Enjoyed by all ages from5 to 75, with a great range of exhibits from natural history to Egyptology. Friendly staff, & situated on the elegant Le Mans Crescent.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank cilla d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    83
    26
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“revamped”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This Museum has now been updated and hopefully you will love it. Many areas to see including Egyptology, aquarium local history and much more.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank GAZZA57UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lots to see”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Our grandchildren love to visit the Museum with all it has to offer, don't forget to go into the basement to see the fish, although quite a few tanks were empty on our visit.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Level Contributor
117 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Archive Section”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Visited a couple of times over the last 2 weeks to look into the archives, great place to look up your ancestry or for local history. Art gallery also as many photos of local history dating back to the 30's.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank royandavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“has it shrunk?”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

somehow, I seemed to remember this being far bigger as a child.. either I have forgotten or its has reduced in size lol
the children are fascinated at the fish and the Egyptian section is rather interesting tho. IT still has that lovely Victorian feel in the main and there are little quiz's for children to do as they visit.
If i lived nearer I think I would frequent more for the array of exhibition they have thru the year. Bolton has many interesting features including a good market so, to not visit it all whilst there would be silly. Great shopping and an amzing town hall all close by the museum.
ITS FREE and so well worth a visit and a nosey around the town. I miss the fountains in the town now.. but that is no detriment to the museum

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank cristaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bolton Library and Museum Services also viewed

Bolton, Greater Manchester
 
Bolton, Greater Manchester
Bolton, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Bolton Library and Museum Services? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing