We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Britannia Bolton Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$81
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$104
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$71
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Mercury(Westhoughton)
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$67
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$46
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$67
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Highgrove Guest House(Bolton)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (506)
Filter reviews
506 results
Traveler rating
66
145
132
66
97
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
66
145
132
66
97
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoach holidaybreakfast and evening mealrooms are clean and comfortablevisited this hotelwould stay againbit datedblack puddingexcellent value for moneywedding partygood nights sleepsouthportdisco
Filter
Updating list...
310 - 315 of 506 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights with a National Holiday. I must say the rooms were very clean and the bedding and towels excellent although the furniture was a little worn!. The bar area had plenty of room and the restaurant was very spacious. The food was very good and plenty of choice but unfortunately there was not enough staff on and consequently with there being a bus load of around 50 people all turning up at once to be served with the evening meal and only one chef, there was a long queue for the meal (around 20 minutes wait on one night). Also the staff were working in the dining room as well as behind the bar and so there were plenty of times when there was no one behind the bar to serve you.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoltonBoltonian, Hotel Supervisor at Britannia Bolton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Good afternon and thankyou for your recent review.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and all the staff work very hard to make sure our guests are happy.
We hope you welcome you back to the hotel in the very near future
The Britannia team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed at this hotel as a base for a football tournament and it was totally ideal. Lounge/bar area very comfy. Rooms (ours was an executive) were really nice. Lovely clean sheets and towels. The breakfast was gorgeous and the dining area really nice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisasimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoltonBoltonian, Hotel Supervisor at Britannia Bolton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Good afternoon , thankyou so very much for taking the time to put on a lovely review of the hotel and staff , we do pride ourselves greatly in friendliness, hope to see you again soon
All the staff at Britannia Hotel Bolton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

I stay here 3 nights a week due to business. Its tidy, clean and is what you would expect for £39 a night room only. This is ideal for me because i need to keep the cost down for my business.
The only issue i think they have is its really busy and not enough seating in the bar. Staff are friendly and always happy to help. The bar has a happy hour and shows sports too. Last week they where putting england football decs up getting ready for the world cup. Would recomend bar menu i eat every night foods good value too.

Room Tip: room 45 or 46 great rooms!!
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoltonBoltonian, Hotel Supervisor at Britannia Bolton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Good afternoon , thankyou so very much for taking the time to put on a lovely review of the hotel and staff , we do pride ourselves greatly in friendliness, hope to see you again soon
All the staff at Britannia Hotel Bolton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

stayed here as part of a david Urquart 4 night trip and i have to say i was impressed. Ive used lots of different britannia hotels in my time and this was buy far the best. upon arrival we was greeted with a lovely receptionist who got onto the coach and explained all about our stay at the hotel. Dining times, breakfast 24hr bar etc. On arrival to the desk we was again greeted by a another memeber of staff who was smiling and welcoming. The room was clean and was also cleaned throught our stay. Bar area nice and clean happy hour was 5 till 7 which our party made use of... food was good lots of choice. The hotel is a little dated but the customer service and the friendly staff made it what it was.
Will let all my friends know how great it was and will look forward to seeing you all next year.
Thanks for a pleasent week.
Mrs Sanders

Room Tip: they sell toiletries at the desk so if you forget anything just ask
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cath S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoltonBoltonian, Hotel Supervisor at Britannia Bolton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Good afternoon , thankyou so very much for taking the time to put on a lovely review of the hotel and staff , we do pride ourselves greatly in friendliness, hope to see you again soon
All the staff at Britannia Hotel Bolton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

The hotel is basic but clean, food average but staff make it a good choice to stay, all seemed helpful and the staff who work in the night very nice and accommodating serving drinks and having a bit of banter with, will come again. Thankyou.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoltonBoltonian, Hotel Supervisor at Britannia Bolton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Good afternoon , thankyou so very much for taking the time to put on a lovely review of the hotel and staff , we do pride ourselves greatly in friendliness, hope to see you again soon
All the staff at Britannia Hotel Bolton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews