We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value and Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Britannia Bolton Hotel
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Bolton
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Very helpful, friendly and informative staff - much better than those at the more expensive hotels I have experienced. All areas are clean, warm and comfortable. Any maintenance issues are resolved very quickly and efficiently. Common areas would benefit from a facelift but overall I am very impressed with The Britannia Hotel Bolton and will use again when in the area.

Room Tip: Ask at reception - the staff are very helpful and honest. If there is a better room option available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimboCymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (481)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

373 - 379 of 481 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

The hotel is clean, tidy and generally quite nice. It just looks like it could do with a little updating here and there especially in the corridors leading to the bedrooms. I booked in advance and got a two night B&B deal for £100, which seems quite reasonable.
Breakfast was standard hotel fayre - quite good. The chef was very chatty and friendly - nice to get to see someone from behind the scenes. Don't pay the rack rate of £120 per night - not worth it - book in advance for better deals.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

stayed for one night, on a deal price of 29.50 for two guests with breakfast , ok the beds were hard , but the room was clean fresh clean sheets and towels breakfast was just ok but for the price can not complain at all and will be staying again

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephenWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We use this hotel when visiting family and friends and normally you can find a good deal online. Room was freezing as the windows had been left open. Beds are uncomfortable and needed to ask twice for extra pillows. That said, it is what it is and we will use again for a night, any longer not sure my back could take.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel is basically OK, but looking a bit jaded...it just needs a lick of paint so that the rooms are spruced up....it was clean enough though. The food was lovely and I would recommend it for that. It's a handy stopping off place to somewhere like Liverpool.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wildthing2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night - never before have we been in such a 'run-down, dirty establishment. The bath was so dirty we could not use the shower. Breakfast was something I would rather not eat, dirty crockery, cutlery and food of low quality. This hotel has absolutely nothing going for it. It needs a good wake-up call!!

Room Tip: I cannot recommend anything about this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed at the Britannia Hotel for one night. I was appalled at the state of the bathroom, it had mould around the edges of the bath and the sink was not very clean.
The room faced onto a council estate that looked worse for ware when we opened out curtains, we were faced with rows of houses in a rough area of Bolton.
There is no entertainment until Feb 2013 and we stayed here Oct 2012 as a birthday treat and get away.
Never EVER NEVER again will I be staying here no matter what the offer price was. Happy hour was not so happy, staff were not so happy and the rooms were not so happy.
Meals were not fantastic and the evening was slow and long. Thank god for alcohol!

Room Tip: No room was good and people who stayed in other rooms on our trip tell us this place has not changed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenni W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bolton hotels
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Bolton Centre
3.5 mi away
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Bolton Central River Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Bolton (Stadium/Arena) Hotel
2.5 mi away
Bolton Whites Hotel
Bolton Whites Hotel
#2 of 13 in Bolton
1,296 reviews
4.6 mi away
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bromley Cross
1,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Bolton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Bolton Hotel

Address: Beaumont Road, Bolton BL3 4TA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Bolton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Bolton
Price Range: $50 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Bolton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former Holiday Inn, the Britannia Hotel Bolton is in a fantastic location for exploring the North West. Situated close to the M61 motorway, Bolton's Macron Stadium is only a 10 minute drive, or for the shoppers, The Trafford Centre and Manchester City Centre are just a 15 minute drive. All the family will enjoy the highly rated Go Ape at nearby Rivington Pike and Bolton Town Centre is just 2 miles away with its great range of bars, clubs and nightlife, as well as several golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Britannia Bolton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel Bolton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing