We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just right” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Bolton Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Bolton Centre
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Bolton
Sussex
Level Contributor
173 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Just right”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2010

Pleasantly surprised by this hotel - helpful staff, perfectly adequate room, breakfast very good, bar food good enough. Nice, spare, light environment.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SussexKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hibolton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bolton Centre, responded to this review, September 8, 2010
Thanks for your comments. Pleased to hear that you were pleasantly surprised by the Hotel, the nice light environment and that you enjoyed your breakfast and bar food. It is always pleasing to me when our staff get a mention so was delighted to hear your found them to be helpful. I hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future.

Regards

Dieter Koch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    237
    178
    64
    37
See reviews for
103
159
43
245
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2010

I found the room clean and in great condition. The bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet and a good size.

There were plenty of spaces in the carpark when I arrived . Check in was fine, staff were friendly.


Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo_Red_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hibolton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bolton Centre, responded to this review, September 8, 2010
Thanks for your review. I was pleased to hear that you found the bed very comfortable and that you were happy with your room. I was also pleased to hear that you found our staff to be friendly. I hope you will choose to stay with us again when you are next in the Bolton area.

Regards

Dieter Koch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2010

Me and my wife decided to book this hotel to stay in on our wedding night, as she used to work for the company. Little did we know or expect the farce that was to come when we arrived.

We got to the reception to be 'welcomed' by the reception manager, who quite simply said whats your name. Bearing in mind we were both still dressed from the wedding, my wife in her dress, no mention of how was your day or any such niceties. When we gave him our details he looked on his system to try to find our reservation.

5 minutes later and no mention to us what he was doing, he decided to tell us that there was no booking and did we have a reservation number with us, as the only way to find a booking is with a reference number.. I advised him that it was my wife's mother who had placed the booking,so I rang her to let them know what was happening. Even more infuriating another guest walked up gave her name and instantly he handed over the key, no reference needed.

My in-laws spoke to the reception manager on the phone who just kept repeating I need a reference number, to which they replied we have been at our daughters wedding all day and don't carry about all our paperwork with us. The conversation ended with him saying see if you can access your e-mails to get the reference number and I will call you back in 2minutes.

The manager to his credit did continue to look for the reservation on the system, and eventually found it. However this had been cancelled even though the room was paid for in March. When we asked him why it had been cancelled he wouldn't give an answer and insinuated it must of been us who had cancelled it, and also said no money would have been talking out of the account. He then said he would see what he could do for us.

20 minutes pass and he hasn't spoke to me my wife or called back the inlaws which he had previously promised to do within 2 minutes. I then decided to take matters into my own hands and rang my wife's father. As soon as the manager saw what I was doing he then decided to shout accross the reception to me to let me know what was going on. I politely asked him to wait 5 minutes as I was now trying to sort it out myself due to his lack of action and incompetence. He continued to shout over reception to me, so I simply had to tell him to go away for 5 minutes and then come to speak to me.

After I had finished my conversation, he just repeated himself saying he couldn't find out why the room was cancelled. My wife then pointed out that the only reason we booked with holiday inn was due to the fact she used to work for the company and believed they always gave a good service. To which he abruptly replied 'if you used to work for us you should now how all our systems work then'

By this time we were both getting tired and fed up with the situation, and asked him to book us into a hotel elsewhere, as they hadn't even offered my wife a glass of water in this time. So after 10 minutes or so of looking on his computer the manager made his first phone call of the night. We managed to get a room at the far more reputable company premier Inn, and found there staff very welcoming.

This is however not where the problems ended. As we had come from our wedding we had very little money on us, and after our private Jaguar had taken us to the holiday inn we were left there stranded. The manager did book us a local taxi, but this was not ideal as with most wedding dresses my wifes was not small, and a local taxi is not always the cleanest mode of transport to travel in. When we informed us of our money situation and asked if the hotel as a good will gesture would be willing to pay for the taxi he bluntly replied no that is not our policy.

But then surprisingly offered to cancel another guest's room and put is in their room and make them go to a hotel. Now as both me and my have a conciencious we were not willing to do this, and found it shocking that he would happily cancel someone else's room and ruin there night as well.

After bringing this up in the following weeks with the hotel, they have refunded what was paid for the hotel, but insist on a receipt for the taxi before they will refund that. They said the problem came about due to a 'gremlin in the system' so are basically refusing to admit any fault or take any blame. There only offer of compensation was a free night at their hotel with a meal included. We have politely rejected this as that will in no way make up for the fact that the holiday inn ruined our wedding night, which we will never have again, and will this is in no way satisfactory compensation.

To review my experience all I need to say is terrible and incompetent staff who are always ready to pass the buck but not take responsibility and apologise for their mistakes. Never again will I set foot in a holiday inn!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Robncaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hibolton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bolton Centre, responded to this review, July 30, 2010
Please accept my apologies if you felt the action we have taken was not appropriate and I quote from the letter we sent “please accept my sincere apologies for the unacceptable level of service which was extended to you”. A full investigation has taken place and appropriate action and staff training has been given. The technical problems we were experiencing resulted in a full closure of our systems and an outside technician resolving the issues, but this in no way excuses the unprofessional and unsympathetic manner in which you were treated.

As you state in your review a full refund was made together with the £80 cost of your Jaguar. It is our normal accounts procedure that we ask for receipts to be provided for any extra expense incurred which we feel is reasonable and necessary for our audit trail.

As a gesture of goodwill and to give us the opportunity to restore your faith in the Hotel and to show you the normal high level of service we aspire to, we offered you a complimentary one night stay inclusive of dinner and breakfast. We also offered a complimentary dinner for two to your father-in-law who made the arrangements for you.

Obviously I am disappointed that you have rejected our offer and that you feel that we have not apologised or taken responsibility for the level of service you received and if you would like discuss the matter further with me please contact me on 01204 879988 or e-mail me on gm.hibolton@qmh-hotels.com.


Regards

Dieter Koch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bolton hotels

Barrow-in-Furness,
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2010

We were very surprised at the size of this hotel. We were made very welcome and had a pleasant stay. Room was great, staff excellent even though there were 2 weddings on and 2 coach parties in. Only fault we could find was it became a little noisy after midnight but we were on first floor and looking directly over the entrance.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Windsor9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hibolton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bolton Centre, responded to this review, August 2, 2010
Thank you for writing you review from which I was pleased to learn you enjoyed your recent stay with us. It is always pleasing from my point of view when our Staff have helped to make a difference. I hope to welcome you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future.

Regards

Dieter Koch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ransbach
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2010

I stayed at the Holiday inn Bolton centre for the second time and it was very good ,breakfasrt,location,Staff everthing just very good

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom-ransbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hibolton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bolton Centre, responded to this review, July 26, 2010
Thank you for writing a review following your second stay with us from which I was very pleased to learn that you found everything to be very good. I hope that we can continue to live up to your expectations and look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel for your third visit in the not too distant future.

Regards

Dieter Koch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2010

First of all the biggest bonus of this hotel is that, despite its location so close to the city centre, it offers free parking. I arrived a few hours after check-in time and finding a space was no problem.
Hotel looked clean and modern, and room was a good size. There are function rooms in the hotel and so there was a bit of noise until about midnight which was not a major problem. One set of ear plugs were provided in the room, which I thought was a nice touch, rather than like most hotels ignoring the issue.
Did not use bar or restaurant so cannot comment on that. There is a mint casino opposite that i joined on the internet - didn't gamble but they have various drinks offers.
Nice hotel would definately return if I had another event to attend in Bolton.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evilempire13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hibolton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bolton Centre, responded to this review, July 19, 2010
Thank you for writing your review following your recent stay with us. I was pleased you found our Hotel clean and modern and that you were able to take advantage of our free parking. The ear plugs are a new addition which we have added to our rooms following on from guest’s comments so it is very pleasing from my point of view that you found them to be a nice touch. Guest feedback is very much appreciated as it helps us to keep focused on what is important to you.

Thanks again for your comments and look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future.

Regards

Dieter Koch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2010

helpful friendly staff. . Car parking is a problem. There was only one space left which I had to shoe horn my car into, and out the next day. The doors to the car park could be a lot easier to use. Struggled with bags / door / buttons in and out. The doors look tatty and shoddy because they obviously get a lot of knocks. Automatic doors would be such a bonus here. It is the very first impression of the hotel.

Internet.....Fired up laptop and only then found I had to pay to access internet in my room. 5euro for 1 hour. OK but why is this not made clear in the hotel or the room. There is info telling you how to get online etc but NOTHING indicating that you have to pay. 5euros is reasonable but this information needs to be clearer so that people can make a choice

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hibolton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bolton Centre, responded to this review, June 22, 2010
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us and I was pleased to learn you found our Team helpful and friendly.

The Hotel has two car parks available to our guests, one underground to the left of the Hotel main entrance and one to the right which is above ground. We also have an arrangement with a private car park close by the Hotel whereby if both our car parks are full Reception can offer this alternative parking at no extra cost to our guests. New signage has recently been put in to place to advise guests to contact Reception if both car parks are full.

As you mention WiFi is available for a small charge (details of the charges should be displayed in all our bedrooms) which can be paid for at the Hotel or a WiFi inclusive package is available and can be requested at the time of booking.

Thank you again and hope to welcome you back to the Hotel in the future.

Regards

Dieter Koch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bolton hotels
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Bolton Central River Street
4.4 mi away
Bolton Whites Hotel
Bolton Whites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bolton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Bolton (Stadium/Arena) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bromley Cross
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
5.4 mi away
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
2.3 mi away
Britannia Bolton Hotel
Britannia Bolton Hotel
#10 of 13 in Bolton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Bolton Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Bolton Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Bolton Centre
Address: 1 Higher Bridge Street, Bolton BL1 2EW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Bolton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Bolton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Bolton Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Bolton Centre is within easy reach of the M6, M61, M62 and M60 motorway networks making us ideally situated for both business and leisure. A large hotel boasting 132 bedrooms including 7 Executive bedrooms all with individually controlled air-conditioning. For conferences and events, Holiday Inn Bolton Centre can accommodate upto 340 delegates. We will ensure your conference, function or event runs like clockwork. Our superb facilities include wireless internet access. So for a successful conference in Bolton , look no further. We also boast the perfect venue for civil ceremonies and weddings in Bolton with our very beautiful Cloisters suite, a converted church and hidden jewel of the North West. And for a place to dine, the stylish Lounge Bar and Restaurant offers cuisine to suit all. Our leisure club, includes an indoor swimming pool, sauna, and gym. Local attractions include The Reebok Stadium, home to Bolton Wanderers, Old Trafford, home of Manchester United and City of Manchester Stadium, home of Manchester City FC the Trafford Centre, is close by aswell as other places of interest such as The Lowry Centre, Bury, Blackburn, Horwich, Chorley, Manchester, Oldham, Heywood, Rochdale and Darwen. In accordance with English law this hotel is non-smoking throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Bolton Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bolton Centre Hotel Bolton
Bolton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing