We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“CONVENIENT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Bolton Centre
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Bolton
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“CONVENIENT”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stayed here on recommendation, as it was conveniently situated for a family christening. The accommodation was clean and comfortable. Good location to Bolton town, although on the Saturday night the town was very quiet.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol1959_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bolton Centre, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review which we have read and as always use all comments positive or negative to improve the products and service we provide to our guests. Unfortunately due to some technical issues which arose we have been unable to respond to your review. If you would like me to respond directly to you please email on gm.hibolton@qmh-hotels.com . Once again thank you for your review.

Kind regards

Dieter Koch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    239
    181
    64
    38
See reviews for
103
162
43
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Sort this out, will not stay with you again whilst you rip customers of over a basic service....I stayed because of your adverts, but did not realise that it applied only to holiday inn express, and you are not..breakfast starts late on a Saturday, but was not advertised as such, so after pre-booking had to miss it as had a plane to catch, fortunately reception eventually saw sense and took it of my bill, after a discussion......rooms looking tired, broken toilet roll holder. But cleaned and tidy. Glad I did notay full price for this one.....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 100swift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Bolton Centre, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear 100swift,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad to note that you somehow notice the cleanliness of our rooms. We pride ourselves on our superior service and facilities and it is very regrettable that we failed to accomplish our goal on this occasion. Your experience was certainly not reflective of the high standards we consistently uphold in our property. I am very sorry to hear that breakfast was served late during your stay. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. Your comments will be forwarded to the hotel management and we are confident that they will take necessary actions to improve this unsatisfactory experience.

We value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

pleasant rooms - a little dated but extremely good value
if working North of Manchester this is a good choice
However, staff are extremely pleasant and service is great
We used their facilities for a series of focus groups we were undertaking

Room Tip: only tried the one - it was reasonable and expect others are equally acceptable
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzSeekerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Bolton Centre, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear OzSeekerUK,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We are pleased to know you were satisfied with the service you received as well as our facilities. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Great location, approx 2 minutes walk to Bolton Town Centre. The train and bus station are within 10 minutes walking distance. Very nice friendly staff, good gym and pool. Clean and tidy room with good shower pressure in the bathroom (some people might like to know this!). Check out was very quick and efficient. Overall ambiance of this place was lovely, I stayed for 2 weeks and would definitely stay there again on my next trip to Bolton.

Room Tip: If you are near the back of the Hotel where they have the functions it might get a bit noisy on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bolton Centre, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review which we have read and as always use all comments positive or negative to improve the products and service we provide to our guests. Unfortunately due to some technical issues which arose we have been unable to respond to your review. If you would like me to respond directly to you please email on gm.hibolton@qmh-hotels.com . Once again thank you for your review.

Kind regards

Dieter Koch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for one night here with work and could not fault any part of my stay. The staff were friendly and helpful, the breakfast was great and my room was clean and tidy.

I would recommend the diablo pizza!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank lucymk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bolton Centre, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review which we have read and as always use all comments positive or negative to improve the products and service we provide to our guests. Unfortunately due to some technical issues which arose we have been unable to respond to your review. If you would like me to respond directly to you please email on gm.hibolton@qmh-hotels.com . Once again thank you for your review.

Kind regards

Dieter Koch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

I had my 30th birthday party in the Ashton Suite and stayed the night in hotel also. The organisation of the evening was fantastic. We were allowed to go in the room to decorate before the party a few hours before. This left myself and others time to relax before the evening. The nice girl at the front desk was really welcoming and when even wished me happy birthday (which was a nice touch). Check in was very quick which was a plus point also. Managed to use the gym in the hotel which had everything I use normally so once again, a nice plus point.

The venue (Ashton Suite) was really spacious, staff really organised and polite. I can't remember the girl's name who was overseeing the party (I'm sorry) but if I had any requests/questions she was happy to help. The whole evening went without a hitch and everyone who attended really enjoyed the evening.

The breakfast the next day was really nice. Lots of choice, whether like full English breakfast style food or simply toast or cereal. Once again, there couldn't be any complaints regarding it.

It is only a small point but after the party we would of stayed in the hotel bar but this closed at 2am. It's a small minor thing but would of been better if it had been open longer as we didn't leave the Ashton suite till 1:15-1:30am.

I would definitely be staying here again and would recommend the hotel for future venues.

Room Tip: Quite simply, book the 21 day saver as this is much cheaper than delaying it. Obviously price will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank croppman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bolton Centre, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your time with us.

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and found everything to your liking. I will be sure to pass your kind words onto all team members who helped make your birthday extra special and I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Dieter Koch

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Very good service from the moment you check in with friendly reception staff who were professional but also had a personality. Excellent room with everything you ended and very comfortable bed.

Marked down to 4* as the bar drinks were overpriced meaning if you wanted to unwind with a vino, it was better to find somewhere else to go.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank WifeOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bolton Centre, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to send feedback on your stay.

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found everything to your liking. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Dieter Koch

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bolton hotels
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Bolton (Stadium/Arena) Hotel
4.3 mi away
Bolton Whites Hotel
Bolton Whites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bolton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
2.7 mi away
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bromley Cross
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Bolton West Hotel
2.4 mi away
Britannia Bolton Hotel
Britannia Bolton Hotel
#10 of 13 in Bolton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
5.4 mi away
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Bolton Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Bolton Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Bolton Centre
Address: 1 Higher Bridge Street, Bolton BL1 2EW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Bolton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Bolton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Bolton Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Bolton Centre is within easy reach of the M6, M61, M62 and M60 motorway networks making us ideally situated for both business and leisure. A large hotel boasting 132 bedrooms including 7 Executive bedrooms all with individually controlled air-conditioning. For conferences and events, Holiday Inn Bolton Centre can accommodate upto 340 delegates. We will ensure your conference, function or event runs like clockwork. Our superb facilities include wireless internet access. So for a successful conference in Bolton , look no further. We also boast the perfect venue for civil ceremonies and weddings in Bolton with our very beautiful Cloisters suite, a converted church and hidden jewel of the North West. And for a place to dine, the stylish Lounge Bar and Restaurant offers cuisine to suit all. Our leisure club, includes an indoor swimming pool, sauna, and gym. Local attractions include The Reebok Stadium, home to Bolton Wanderers, Old Trafford, home of Manchester United and City of Manchester Stadium, home of Manchester City FC the Trafford Centre, is close by aswell as other places of interest such as The Lowry Centre, Bury, Blackburn, Horwich, Chorley, Manchester, Oldham, Heywood, Rochdale and Darwen. In accordance with English law this hotel is non-smoking throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Bolton Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bolton Centre Hotel Bolton
Bolton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing