We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Bolton Centre
Nearby Hotels
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$104
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Highgrove Guest House(Bolton)(Great Value!)
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$46
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$67
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Brewhouse(Bolton)(Great Value!)
$56
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Kings Arms Hotel(Bolton)(Great Value!)
$45
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (751)
Filter reviews
751 results
Traveler rating
169
263
200
72
47
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
169
263
200
72
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold churchcar parkreception staffbusiness tripfunction roomwould stay againcouple of nightswedding partya bit tiredwedding receptionbuffet stylestayed here for one nighttea and coffeeevening mealfamily roomcloistersluke
Filter
Updating list...
718 - 723 of 751 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2008

Satayed here overnight recently. Check in was fairly speedy - but that was about it. The rooms we had were small, cold, no min-bar or any other usual Holiday Inn trappings. The pool is tiny and cold, the gym is straight out of the ark, filled with crappy old equipment. While I was there the girl on reception kicked a guy off the treadmill so she could put a poster up!

We ate in the restaurant - standing waiting for a table we were ignored by 3 members of staff on the till right by us, until I ran out of patience and blocked the way, when I then asked 'any chance of a table'? The guy said, 'sorry I'm just in the middle of something...' The food was slapped on the plate, boring and frankly we'd have been better off going to the kebab shop over the road.

The breakfast was self-service, usual thing, a couple of bad points though are the self-service so-called coffee machine, and the self-service so-called fruit juice machine.

Glad to get out of this place, won't stay here again - neither should you.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Lapchien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2008

Just came back from a long week end spent at Holiday Inn Bolton Centre.
The location is perfect, right in the city centre, with plenty of choice of bars & restaurants.
The hotel also offer a free car parking below as well as alongside the hotel.
The check in was quick and efficient.
The room was clean, but very small for an excecutive room....
The bulb of one of the bedside lights wasn't working , we reported it straight away to reception but nothing was done about it.also found a bulb out in the bathroom but because nothing had been done about the first one,we didn't bother to report it.
So far we didn't encounter many bad points, until we came back for a night cap after an evening meal at a nearby restaurant, the waitress who served us back at the hotel bar was extremely rude....because of the unwelcoming waitress we finished our drinks and went back to our bedroom.
We used the leisure centre during our stay and it was nice and clean with friendly staff.
Up to that point we were in two minds about the place but then what happened next changed our mind to the worst.....
Our daughter burned her head in the shower as the wheel controlling the temperature was loose, going from 30 to 50 degrees in less then 10 seconds, causing her to burn her scalp while trying to rinse off the shampoo.
We went straight to reception to report it and they said they would log it.
We went for breakfast the next morning and the place was in complete chaos....Dirty tables everywhere, nobody to clear away the tables , nobody to take the orders for cooked breakasts, limited choice of cereals, bowls half the size of cereals packets, so not really practical, no sugar, sweeteners, or milk on tables, and the list carries on.....
Overall a very disappointing stay in a hotel in need of better staff support.....
A real shame as the location is perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mupsmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2008

Stayed for the weekend which I really enjoyed good town centre location opposite main shops and able to park at hotel.

Room is maybe not the largest but I have stayed in much smaller but it was really clean with comfy bed and good bathroom (fantastic shower).

Pool and gym quite small but again clean and all staff were friendly.

Enjoyed breakfast hot and tasty could drink as much cappuccino as I wanted without paying more or waiting, were can you get that!

Overall good overnighter or short stay but you wouldn't holiday in Bolton!

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MurielNorthWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2008

Me and two friends decided that we would like a Saturday night out in Bolton and thought the Holiday Inn was a great location. Very suprised to find that there was parking spaces available (However, not sure how I would have felt if there were none).

The room was sufficent enough, bit of a squeeze, but we did have 3 people in a twin room so this was expected. The room was clean with a standard bathroom with the most amazing power shower!!

We decided to eat out but did have breakfast at the hotel and with hangovers, were very grateful for the late breakfast. Nothing amazing, but we were only paying a budget rate so was not expecting gourmet food.

Staff seemed very friendly and answered any questions we had on the area.

All in all, we will be staying again.. But I would agree, it would only be for a short stay.

Stayed: February 2008
Thank lmairjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2008

I stayed here on business and as the hotel is located next to the motorway links thought it was the ideal place to stay.

The hotel is in need of a refurb. Check-in was quick - too quick nothing was explained to me. Had to ask for the information i needed.

The room was the worst i have stayed in for some time. Walls badly marked - my bedding was torn. Room was grubby and hairs on the bathroom floor.

Dinner - was ok.

Not a pleasant experience and wouldn't stay again!

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank anonim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews