We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bolton Whites Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Bolton
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good stay!”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights earlier this month, as we travelled as a family of 3 we were booked into a Deluxe Double room, booked directly with the hotel.

First impressions were positive, after a long drive we arrived at noon and were able to check into our room immediately, which was a bonus.

First impression was that the room was very large, and was at the end of a corridor. Managed to peer into the other rooms on the floor and appeared that the only real difference between a deluxe room and a standard one was the size. Plenty of storage space and a small sofa. My daughter's bed wasn't prepared on arrival, we advised of this on our way back out just after check in and they said they would sort it out, which on arriving back a few hours later, they had done, so fair enough.

Has to be said at this point that I found reception friendly and efficient at all times, so top marks here. Be aware if you book direct and are paying on check out you will be asked for a credit card deposit (not unusual though). Didn't use the pool or gym so can't comment on that.

The room as mentioned before was a very good size. The bed was extremely comfortable and there was plenty of storage with plenty of hangers. What I found useful as well was plenty of power points, you don't always find that with hotel rooms. On the negative side this hotel could really benefit some money spent on the rooms to really justify the 4* status. TV's were very old fashioned and didn't always hold signal well. The bathroom was showing signs of wear.

Breakfast was included in the rate and was a very nice buffet with the usual hot and cold items.

Public areas were well appointed and impressive looking.

Location is away from any main towns but the Middlebrook retail park it is situated in has plenty of shops and chain restaurants to cater for most tastes.

Some investment and this would be a really top hotel. Would stay again if the rate was good!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eyebloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whites1, General Manager at Bolton Whites Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for reviewing Bolton Whites Hotel on Tripadvisor. I was pleased to read that our hotel met your expectations. Bolton Whites Hotel has recently become an independent hotel and we are now owned by Bolton Wanderers Football Club, within this the hotel will be investing in new television systems for all bedrooms.

The breakfast area will also be fully refurbished along with the reception area. Once again, thank you for taking the time to write a review and I hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    405
    168
    60
    29
See reviews for
230
388
70
374
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, Lancashire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with a group of friends attending a wedding at a nearby venue with no rooms. Rooms were clean and spacious with everything you could want. Could do with a new TV and a mini bar to save us going down to get drinks whilst we were getting ready although the Tesco next door was a cheap and easy fix for this problem!!! :-) Staff were all helpful and friendly and breakfast was great. Hotel is situated in the Bolton Reebok Stadium and even if you don't like football the views are spectacular over the pitch. There is a huge retail park and entertainment complex with restaurants, bars, shops and a cinema all within 2 minutes walk of the hotel which we didn't really get the use of but would be a great place to go for a weekend away. Would definitely come back and would recommend to my friends! At least you're good at hotels even if you're not good at football! ;-) Well done!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Treas82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whites1, General Manager at Bolton Whites Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for reviewing our property on Tripadvisor. I was pleased to read that your room was clean. We will be upgrading our televisions in all bedrooms in the near future. It was a pleasure to read that staff were helpful, it is our aim that all team members deliver excellent service and this will act as a motivator for all team members.

Once again, many thanks for the review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Bolton Whites Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Really enjoyed our visit here, the staff really care and have a personal touch. It's amazing who's far just a bit of care goes. The hotel is spacious and clean and brilliantly situated for motorway and shopping. The dining area is in need of updating but otherwise a great experience and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shipinn2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whites1, General Manager at Bolton Whites Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review Bolton Whites Hotel on Tripadvisor we appreciate your comments. I was pleased to read that your room was clean and you had a comfortable stay, our Housekeeping Team work extremely hard to keep cleanliness to a high standard.

The breakfast area will be having a complete refurbishment in the coming months. Once again, thanks for reviewing Bolton Whites Hotel, I hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I am new to Trip advisor, but have stayed in this Hotel a few times now, both pre the transition from the De Vere group and now this week since they became independent. I must say the staff are always really friendly and helpful. Although the rooms are not brand new, I dont tend to spend much time in them when away from home so a good nights sleep is most important and got that and I'm sure some investment is planned with the new regime. The other areas with immediate impact can be seen with the changes that are happening with food being clearly evident and I am excited to come back in a few months to see what further changes have been made.

I would definitely recommend this Hotel for both business and pleasure it is such a unique place to stay and great base for exploring the local area with easy access to the motorway network!!

Our company has not decided on its Christmas party yet and the offering here looks good so may even recommend this as great to go somewhere where you can easily get to your oom afterwards without the inconvenience of taxis/transport!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheshireTraveller79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whites1, General Manager at Bolton Whites Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review Bolton Whites Hotel on Tripadvisor. It is always great to receive positive feedback but reviews such as yours highlight the endeavours of our team to deliver excellent service and act as a motivator for all our team members.

Once again, many thanks for the review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Bolton Whites Hotel in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Having booked 2 rooms for a business trip to the area directly with the hotel I was disappointed to find on arrival the hotel had overbooked and was re-booking some guests (us included) into the Premier Inn opposite.
Not what you want to hear at 8pm following a 3 hour drive from Scotland.
My main complaints are:
Hotel staff had my contact details but chose not to inform me prior to arrival & some guests were being checked in whilst others were being re-located - WHY? Did the hotel not want to upset booking.com and was prepared to manage their direct bookings so not to affect 3rd party booking relationships? Or was it based on length of stay??
We refused the Premier Inn and requested a hotel of similar 4* standard. After much "negotiation" was offered Mercure Hotel (Bolton West) being assured this was indeed 4*.
Well it was not - 3* at best and confirmed by the management of the Mercure the hotel was a 3*.
So that's it then right? No review of the hotel as did not get past reception - well not exactly...
Having been advised due to the overbooking, we would not be charged for our stay at the Mercure or De Vere (Whites) - fair enough you might think - I received my credit card statement with 2 room charges from....tah dah - The Premier Inn Bolton?
Now refunded of course- but not really the point.
In summary - Inept and rude front of house staff. Duty Manager claiming no responsibility or authority to manage the situation - as Duty Manager you are in authority surely? Following the re-brand from De Vere I would recommend Faulty Towers is more appropriate for this particular hotel and management team.

Room Tip: Whilst they are in their transition from De Vere to Whites - double check your reservation to ensure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MySuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for the first time last week while visiting family - WOW what a hidden treasure... hotels attached to a venue are not usually great, but this place has changed my mind. Staff very friendly, and hotel is very bright and airy. Bedroom very clean. Definitely will stay again when next in area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whites1, General Manager at Bolton Whites Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review Bolton Whites Hotel on Trip Advisor. It is always great to receive positive feedback but reviews such as yours highlight the endeavours of our team to deliver excellent service and act as a motivator for all team members.

Once again, many thanks for the review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Bolton Whites Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stay away go last drop village miles better,the hotel is a real dump and the rooms are dirty and old.the staff are rude and the views are rubbish the breakfast i wouldnt give my dog,think it must be sumat to do with bolton wanderers taking over and cutting costs

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil8585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whites1, General Manager at Bolton Whites Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. I am disappointed to read that our hotel did not meet your expectations. I would be grateful if you could contact me at the hotel so we can discuss your concerns further.

I can assure you that Bolton Whites Hotel are not cutting costs, the television systems are being replaced within the next couple of months and the breakfast area will be having a complete refurbishment.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write a review. I will look forward to hearing from you in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bolton hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Bolton (Stadium/Arena) Hotel
1.1 mi away
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Bolton Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bromley Cross
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,561 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Bolton West Hotel
2.5 mi away
Britannia Bolton Hotel
Britannia Bolton Hotel
#10 of 13 in Bolton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bolton Whites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolton Whites Hotel

Property: Bolton Whites Hotel
Address: De Havilland Way | Horwich, Bolton BL6 6SF, England (Formerly De Vere Whites Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Bolton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Bolton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bolton Whites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, luxury 125 bedroom hotel with glazed atrium lobby, glass lifts, business & leisure facilities.The hotel is fully integrated into the Macron Stadium ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotel.de, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Bolton Whites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Whites Bolton
Hotel De Vere Whites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing