We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bolton Whites Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Bolton
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth a stay”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights on business this month. 1st night had a room overlooking the pitch and 2nd night had one overlooking the car park.

Both rooms were reasonably sized, clean, and comfortable. TV's are in need of updating though.

Dinner was good, although i would have expected a more varied choice on the menu for a 4 star hotel. drinks prices are also a little on the high side.

Staff were friendly and all public areas were very clean and well kept.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whites1, General Manager at Bolton Whites Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Iain D,

Many thanks for taking the time to provide us with such nice feedback after having stayed with us at De Vere Venues Whites, Bolton.

We certainly value and appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind regards,


Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    582
    411
    169
    60
    29
See reviews for
233
391
70
379
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Got a great deal to stay here, full use of pool, steam room, jacuzzi and sauna. With fresh towels provided each time ....the gym isn't for me but very nice and lots of up to date equipment. The staff were all very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was amazing, great value for money and so much to choose from all fresh and warm. I do recommend paying as you book the hotel or on arrival you save a couple of quid.
The room was spacious and had everything we needed, if not they were happy to provide. By the way I hate football, It was just such a great deal. It's literally next door to small shopping precinct with all the usual high street restaurants and a supermarket. Parking is free.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InaTizzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whites1, General Manager at Bolton Whites Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear InaTizzi,

Thank-you so much for the truly amazing feedback that you kindly left on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us at De Vere Venues Whites, Bolton.

I am delighted to hear that yor enjoyed our fab facilities and we sincerely look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind regards,


Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

When we checked into the hotel, the staff were really chatty and seemed genuinly interested in our weekend break. They made us really welcome.
The room was as expected, clean, everything provided and plenty of tea & coffee.
The only negative thing was the breakfast. The food was only warm and the scrambled egg was dry and rubbery - way past needing refreshing.
Having said that, we would definitely stay here again. Great value for money but would go out for breakfast next time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlipperDixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whites1, General Manager at Bolton Whites Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear FlipperDixon,

Many thanks for providing us with such amazing feedback on TripAdvisor, after having stayed with us at De Vere Venues Whites, Bolton.

I am delighted to learn that you had a wonderful stay and that you found my team members to be both welcomng and friendly.

I would like to apologise in that our breakfast was not up to your expectation on this occassion and be rest assured that I have addressed such with hotel head chef and restaurant manager to ensure that there is no repeat of such in the future.

We look forward to welcomng you back in the very near future and until then remain with,

Warm regards,


Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Pitch view room was clean, not as plush as you'd expect but with incredibly comfy bed. Well appointed with a desk/dressing table, good wardrobe space. Slightly disappointed with poor quality catering coffee sachets. Bathroom small, needs modernising, but clean and with nice toiletries, flannels, quality towels.
The real stand out thing was the old television, seen these mentioned on a few reviews, really seems odd as even travelodges have a modern flat screen type. Didn't use it anyway, only for radio. batteries were dying on remote, rang reception whosent somebody up within minutes. I'm sure they'd be just as helpful with any request.
Pitch view was a fun novelty, huge windows. I believe the rooms are expensive on a match day.
Used the pool and jacuzzi and sauna. Very clean, lovely and warm, really enjoyed it. Changing rooms were spotless too with good facilities and a better hairdryer than in the room.
Decided to have a drink in the bar before heading out, but on asking for coktail list got a blank look, even though literature in room promised great cocktails, and I was looking forward to one! Decided to forget it and go into town... bar staff might need some training on customer service, especially given the drinks prices here...
Breakfast next day was excellent, friendly staff, good quality ingredients. Reception staff were also very polite.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whites1, General Manager at Bolton Whites Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear onlyme83,

Many thanks for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on TripAdvisor after having stayed at De Vere Venues Whites, Bolton

I am naturally delighted to learn that you had a nice relaxing night away and my team and I look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind regards,


Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthin, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Me and my boyfriend visit this hotel about 2 times a year. It's never disappointed us - always great service with clean and comfortable rooms. Spa facilities are always superbly clean. The last time we stayed we had a pitch-facing room which was smaller than the other rooms but the view was brilliant - a nice novelty for football fans.

Each visit has been a relaxing one with everything on the doorstep of the hotel - shopping, bowling, cinema, restaurants, amusements etc.

Each time we have been it has been fairly quiet which is brilliant. Looking forward to going again this year.

Thank you!

Room Tip: Pitch facing rooms are smaller but a little quieter - they feel a bit more tranquil. All romos we ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZoeJones90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whites1, General Manager at Bolton Whites Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear ZoeJones90,

As a valued repeat guest at De Vere Venues Whites, Bolton I would like to pass on our sincere thanks to you for the fantastic feedback which have once again left TripAdvisor after having stayed with us.

We look forward to welcoming back in the very near future and until then remain with,

Warm regards,


Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

This hotel is amazing..me and my hubby have been here so many times and we love it. Good food .excellent service. Great facilities. Although no entertainment but there is a bowling alley and pictures 2 mins walk away..keep up the good work de vere whites staff ...we will be back .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachaelwivsunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whites1, General Manager at Bolton Whites Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear rachelwivsunshine,

Many thanks for the fantastic feedback which you recently left onTripAdvisor, after having stayed at De Vere Venues Whites, Bolton.

We sincerely look forward to welcomnig you and your husband back in the very near future and until then remain with,

Kind regards,


Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I stayed here with work, attending a conference, checking in was great, nice lady, and was very quick. The room was nice given it turns into a executive box on match day, nicely laid out but was absolutely freezing, and other colleagues had same issue. The breakfast buffet in morning was simple but acceptable and staff here were helpful. The hotel was very clean, and bright and a quick walk to conference. Parking at this venue too which was free.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine_C268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whites1, General Manager at Bolton Whites Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Lorraine_C268,

Many thanks for the feedback that you recently left on TripAdvisor.

I am sorry to hear that your room was freezing cold at night.

I have spoken with my night manager who was unfortunately not made aware of this issue at the time, had he been made aware that your room was cold he would have had no hesitation in providing you with a heater for your room to keep you nice and cosy.

I do very much appreciate your feedback and please do not hesitate to contact me if you intend returning to the hotel in either a business or leisure capacity.

Kind regards,


Gordon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bolton hotels
1.1 mi away
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Bolton (Stadium/Arena) Hotel
5.5 mi away
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bromley Cross
1,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Bolton Centre
2.5 mi away
Britannia Bolton Hotel
Britannia Bolton Hotel
#10 of 13 in Bolton
458 reviews
4.7 mi away
Travelodge Bolton Central River Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bolton Whites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolton Whites Hotel

Property: Bolton Whites Hotel
Address: De Havilland Way | Horwich, Bolton BL6 6SF, England (Formerly De Vere Whites Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Bolton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Bolton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bolton Whites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, luxury 125 bedroom hotel with glazed atrium lobby, glass lifts, business & leisure facilities.The hotel is fully integrated into the Macron Stadium ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Bolton Whites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Whites Bolton
Hotel De Vere Whites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing