We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent 4* hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bolton Whites Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Bolton
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Decent 4* hotel”
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Stayed here as was at a function at the hotel itself. No issues. For price, room was spacious and very clean. Food was good and service very high. No complaints.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginner77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whites1, General Manager at Bolton Whites Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Dear Scousejetsetter,

Many thanks for taking the time to respond on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at De Vere Venues Whites. I am delighted to hear that you had a wondeful stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to De Vere Venues Whites in the near future and thank-you once again for leaving such positive feedback. Much appreciated!!

Kind Regards,


Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    583
    412
    169
    60
    29
See reviews for
234
391
70
379
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Binfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

As said in the title, this seems to be the best hotel of De Vere chain we stayed. Whites looks like a "real" hotel out of the others that looked run-down, apparently, because of severe cost-cutting policy adopted by the management.

Whites is very nice and modern hotel, and staff (I am surprised how this company manages to hire and retain these people) is exceptional: you receive very positive attitude at the front desk, and in the bar, and from the chef in the morning breakfasts - the staff is really outstanding there.

Nothing more to say really... Probably, receptionists could be clearer about charging for breakfast, as they very cheerfully tell you about breakfast time and location, so that you may be under impression that breakfast is included in the price - but we can forgive this small trick :)

And last thing... Signs demanding 30 pounds if you eat your food in the premises look a bit harsh and just make an impression that owners try to squeeze you for everything...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexsas777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whites1, General Manager at Bolton Whites Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Dear alexsas777,

Many thanks for your fantastic feedback and for letting us know that this is the most enjoyable hotel you have stayed at within De Vere. I have noted your comments reference the charging of breakfast and the signage and fully intend taking this matter up further with my front of house manager to ensure that all customers are informed of the price of breakfast upon checking into the hotel.

My team and i look forward to welcoming you back to De Vere Venues Whites, Bolton in the very near for some more Great British Hospitality and until then we remain with,

Kind Regards,


Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

An unusual hotel built into the stand of the Reebok Stadium, home of Bolton Wanderers. Large bedroom - modern, functional but not very exciting. Free wifi throughout the hotel. The hotel restaurant has large panoramic windows looking across the stadium football pitch - ask for a window booth. Food choice, presentation and quality were better than I expected in the restaurant although the room service continental breakfast was only adequate. Needs some healthy options like fruit and the tiny thimble juice glass was a bit mean. Not sure who this hotel is targeting but if it's business people the staff could do with some training - 'mate' is probably not the right way to address a customer and a more coherent run through by reception of facilities, breakfast times etc would be helpful to first time guests.

Room Tip: There are a number of suites overlooking the pitch for something different and the hotel also has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cookster59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whites1, General Manager at Bolton Whites Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Dear Cookster59,

Many thanks for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback and comments on Tripadvisor. I have taken note of the points that you have raised and will in turn be discussing them further with my team to ensure that we are able to improve upon and surpass your expectations when you next choose to visit us in Bolton.

Kind Regards,


Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke On Trent
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Stayed here recently on a £19 room rate which was good value for money however if i had paid the 70 or 80 pound rack rate i wouldnt be impressed. Room had all the usual features of kettle, trouser press, hair dryer etc but it was nothing out of the ordinary, in fact it even had a very big old style CRT TV. I would say its slightly dated interior wise and could probably do with a bit of a facelift in places.

I'd stay here again but only if it was on a cheap rate deal.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with pitch view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blue_haddock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whites1, General Manager at Bolton Whites Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Dear blue_haddock,

Many thanks for taking the time to provide me with your feedback. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us on this occassion. We look forward to welcoming you back to De Vere Venues Whites in the very near future and until then remain with, Kind regards, Gordon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Myself and my husband stayed at this hotel on the 29th December, the room was nice, a little dated but for the price we paid we didn't mind.
The points about this hotel that need 'flagging up' would be -
The 'Leisure Club Lift' - I assumed this lift would take me down to reception, the only sign in the lift said you can't go to the leisure club - but it said on the inside which floor reception was on (this lift was closest to our room for while we were unpacking the car), but then on getting to the relevant floor, and following the signs saying reception this way, found myself at a door I couldn't get through! So had to go back up to my floor, and use the main lifts - this should be made clear before many other people make this mistake!
I'd brought a bottle of champagne with me, as it was 1 month on that date since myself and my husband got married. I went to the bar and asked for an ice bucket - to be told it would be a £3 charge! I refused to pay this and advised I would just have to fill the sink with water then, to which the bar woman advised that would probably be a better idea - surely a bucket with ice in would be cheaper than me having to fill the sink with cold water every 30 mins?? We have stayed in many hotels before (varying from Travelodge to the De Vere in Mottram Hall etc), and have never been charged for an ice bucket.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emma s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whites1, General Manager at Bolton Whites Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Dear emma s,

Many thanks for taking the time to provide me with your feedback. I can confirm that i have viewed the signage in the lift and that this has now been removed in order to avoid any confusion and replaced with appropriate signage to ensure that this lift is for access to guest bedroom floors only. With regards to your request for ice, please be advised that whilst ice is free at De Vere Venues Whites, there is a £3 tray charge which applies to all food and beverage served in the hotel through room service. I wish to sincerely thank-you for taking the time to provide me with your feedback, which i truly value and appreciate receiving and we look forward to welcoming you back to De Vere Venues Whites in the very near future. Kind regards, Gordon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights over Christmas on a £22/night room only deal. The hotel was clean and staff were nice and polite. The room was a little dated and need a refurb. Sky Sports in the room was a good bonus :) I found it to be noisy as night as if anyone ran water or used the toilets then it vibrated though the room.


The pool area was fine but again a little dated but better than the run down ones at Ramada.

We only had breakfast on one of the mornings, it cost £7.50 ea. and was pretty averate A 5 minute walk to Frankie & Bennys is recommended as the breakfast is cheaper and much better.

Overall I thought it was good for the price we paid as the location near the bowling, cinema and eating places is good and only 10 mins from the Trafford Centre.

Room Tip: Look for offers prior to booking, don't hope you will get a free upgrade as it normally is full...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ste1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whites1, General Manager at Bolton Whites Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Dear Ste1200,

Happy New Year and many thanks for the wonderful feedback that you so kindly left on Tripadvisor. i would like to apologise for the noise that you experienced, this is not something that i have ever had any previous feedback about before, but will certainly look into this matter further.
I would like to thank-you once again for taking the time to commnet on TripAdvisor and that you enjoyed your stay.

Warm regards,

Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Booked myself and my family in for one night. Requested a family size room and was offered the suite which I payed for.

On my arrival was warmly greeted and plesently surprised with the standard of the hotel. Very nicely decorated and 5 star restaurant overlooking the pitch which was amazing.

The room was awesome. Nice sofa bed for my daughter with her own television. We had our own room and be seperated with a door and glass with blinds so we had out privacy when we needed it but could interact with our daughter when we wanted to.

Our todler was given a extra long child cot which he slept like a log in so it must have been comfy.

We had a trouser presser which was neatly placed behind a mirrored door and our own wardrobe with dressing gowns in. Our daughter had the same. Even the extra large bathroom with tub and shower cubicle along with double sinks had speakers in the cealing so one didnt miss the tele whilst brushing up.

I love this place and will definately return. Makes a great retreat after a hard days shopping at the Trafford Center (10 mins away).

Thumbs up De Veres...... Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Pay the little extra for a suite or a penthouse. Well worth it if you have a family. If not, a stand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mohamed L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whites1, General Manager at Bolton Whites Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Dear MohamedL,

Happy New Year to you and your family and many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at De Vere Venues Whites. I am delighted that you and your family had a wonderful stay with us and we sincerely look forward to welcoming you all back in the very near future.

Kind Regards,


Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolton
1.1 mi away
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
5.5 mi away
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bromley Cross
1,612 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Bolton Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Britannia Bolton Hotel
Britannia Bolton Hotel
#10 of 13 in Bolton
458 reviews
4.7 mi away
Travelodge Bolton Central River Street
7.8 mi away
Worsley Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bolton Whites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolton Whites Hotel

Property: Bolton Whites Hotel
Address: De Havilland Way | Horwich, Bolton BL6 6SF, England (Formerly De Vere Whites Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Bolton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Bolton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bolton Whites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, luxury 125 bedroom hotel with glazed atrium lobby, glass lifts, business & leisure facilities.The hotel is fully integrated into the Macron Stadium ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, HRS, TripOnline SA, Priceline, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bolton Whites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Whites Bolton
Hotel De Vere Whites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing