We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT TOO BAD AT ALL”
Review of Victoria Inn

Victoria Inn
Ranked #77 of 526 Restaurants in Bolton
Price range: $6 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“NOT TOO BAD AT ALL”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

me and my mother like trying different places for lunch..this was a complete shock as we never even knew this place existed. we arrived around 1ish...promptly attended to by an efficient man..presumed he was restaurant /bar manager. drinks served quickly..menu very impresive and was difficult what my tastw buds fancied..i opted for a roast beef boule and mother chose an indian burger...it seemed forever to come but we was hungry and obviously the food is cooked fresh so we appreciated the wait..my beef was superbly cooked and was possibly the nicest leanest tastiest id had for a long time..home made chips n cowslaw yummy and couldnt be finished as i found the crusty cob loaf too much..the indian burger was thumbs up with the homemade chips and mango chutney coleslaw and onion bharji...over all it was a superb lunch and a reasonable £25..plenty of seating and lovely outside decking

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lobbygobbler73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    97
    51
    30
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great service, great location!”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This was my second visit to Victoria Inn and, yet again, it was a real pleasure. The staff are very friendly. The food is no ordinary pub food. It's top quality and the portions are very generous too. Ample parking in private grounds, very desirable neighbourhood, lovely decor and very comfortable seating. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Victoria Inn. Well done!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaMLW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good food, great service”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Having read the reviews, I decided to book a table as it was a Birthday celebration. We were seated quickly, efficiently and given menus to peruse. There is a wide choice of dishes and choosing was quite difficult, which is always a good sign. We were all very impressed with the starters; the fish-fingers were lightly battered and went brilliantly with the jalapeano tartare sauce. The plentiful, large prawns were devoured in silence and not offered to share! One party member declared the homemade brown sauce with his Black Pudding Hash Brown the best he'd ever tasted...........I'm sure in his own home, the plate would have been licked clean! The mains were good, although at this point two of us were not quite as hungry as we'd originally thought. The duck was a good accompaniment to the spiced parsnip puree, however personally I'd have preferred it a little pinker. The chicken was reported to very moist (which isn't always the case) and oozing garlic butter. The big belly rib was definitely big and very tender but alas some of the chips were a little undercooked.
Desserts were definitely out of the question as none of us could fit anymore in; however, little more than 2 minutes after being asked if we wanted desserts and still with wine in our glasses, we were told that the area in which we were seated was needed for a large party. Although we weren't asked to move, we felt a little rushed. At no point were we told that the table was not ours for the afternoon. I would appreciate this being mentioned at the time of booking or at least when seated. It was a good job we didn't want any desserts in this instance.
Having said that, I would still recommend the Victoria Inn and eat again there on my next visit to the area again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service yet again”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We had not booked the table but they kindly accommodated us at short notice, the specials menu had a great choice and I chose the salmon fish cakes as a started which tasted superb

For the main course my "Karl's Big Belly Rib" was cooked to perfection and just melted in your mouth and my wife ordered "Mrs Kirkham's Lancashire and Cheese and Onion Tart" which was very tasty

We visit this bar and restaurant often throughout the year and every time the service and food is always spot on ...I can't fault it well worth a visit

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great food and drink Difficult to fault it”
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Been eating here several times and never had bad food. Staff very attentive and easy to deal with and the food is first class!
Beer here is great too!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simoninbolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Victoria Inn also viewed

 
Bolton, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Victoria Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing