We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Olympus Fish & Chip Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 536 Restaurants in Bolton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
NW UK
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

It's a perfect place to take visitors to the north west to taste wonderful traditional fish and chips with bread and butter and a pot of tea. The service is excellent and friendly - they'll help you with your coat! and there's a new grand piano with a pianist playing gently in the background.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank LondonbabyNwUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    391
    125
    44
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bolton
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“charming”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

this place is fantastic good wholesome food beautifully cooked and presented ,lovely decor and atmoshere.
called in with my daughter after doing some birthday shopping ,after experiencing an awful meal on middlebrook the day before .
my birthday next week so will be in again after shopping will try the moussaka next time ,should be good as the proprieters appear to be greek.
this place is not overpriced quality food great staff and lovely decore ,there are not enough nice places to have a bit of lunch in bolton most are dumps!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katrina88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
384 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
“High priced famous chippy”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

OK, it's better equipped and laid out than most chippies but what do you want from a chippy ?

The area isn't great and the parking busy, watch out for the ever vigilant wardens. Chips were excellent from good chipping spuds, hot and freshly made. The fish was well overpriced at nearly £5 or a large cod (and it wasn't large even then).

Overall its not cheap and there's many better chippies out there for a lower price unless you feel thats it vital to eat your chips to music. Overrated I'm afraid..

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thedragon22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“no 1”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

beeen going here for yrs , the service is second to none , beautifully clean and traditional , the food is perfect ,

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Posh Fish and Chips”
Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

I visited Olympus tonight for the first time. I couldn't fault it. From the moment we walked through the door to leaving we had lovely attentive service from the staff. The food was tasty and the surroundings well .... I've never listened to the background sound of an accomplished pianist whilst eating fish and chips.
Everything was faultless!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SisterStella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olympus Fish & Chip Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Olympus Fish & Chip Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing