We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best fish and chips in the North West!”

Olympus Fish & Chip Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 536 Restaurants in Bolton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Preston, Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips in the North West!”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I have been to Olympus many times and have never been let down. Very reasonably priced and some interesting dishes! Always hot and tasty, definitely worth a visit!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank sumner23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    392
    125
    44
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Most enjoyable pre-theatre experience”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Our first visit to Bolton to support a friend performing at the theatre. The theatre experience included a meal at Olympus fish and chip restaurant prior to the show in the company of our friend. As this was his treat we cannot comment on price, but from the very moment that we entered the restaurant and were weclomed in such a personal manner, it was clear that this was rather a special place. The fish was of excellent quality - and could we be much further from the sea? - the service most attentive - and the atmosphere even further enhanced by the live piano music that was played throughout our meal. An excellent start to what was to prove a most memorable evening.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrJimSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
318 reviews
241 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Breakfast visit”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

A very friendly greeting awaited us and the service with a smile continued throughout.
Quick service - just what we needed.
Nice milky coffee.
The only criticism from the visit is that the bacon was too salty for us.
For a "chippy" the interior design (with grand piano and lovely light fittings) was pretty spectacular - I think it is probably what a famous fish and chip proprietor from Guiseley would have done if he was starting out in business today.
The washrooms were probably the best and most modern and cleanest (they had just been mopped) I've seen in a restaurant (never mind a chippy) in many a year.
Top notch.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank DVETheK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“lovely fish & chip lunch”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

went to olympus for lunch today on a family trip, we haven't been to Bolton for a long time. was greeted at the door by a friendly, and efficient gentleman, although very busy the staff looked after us very well. Great fish & chips 2 haddock lunches, 1 cod lunch and 1 child's nuggets meal. most of all i was most impressed with the good old fashioned customer service, gent saying hello, welcome with a genuine happy smiley face, saying goodbye holding the door open. beautiful. It may not be cheap, but if you want cheap i'm sure you can find it. just not here.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank julie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“What is all the fuss about?”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We were attracted to the Olympus by the people queuing to get in. It must be good, we all thought. We waited about 15 minutes, which is 15 minutes more than I would usually wait, before being shown to our table. Then you have to go and queue to order. We went for the pensioners special at £7:20, wanting mushy peas we spent more. When it came it was a disappointment, not only was it a small portion but the fish was greasy and the portion of peas was about enough for one not the three of us. "Tartar sauce?" "Of course Sir." But when it came, in a small bowl, it had a skin on it and looked as though we weren't the first to use it. Yes, the toilets and the piano are great, I even tipped the piano player but he carried on playing, but the food was very poor. I can only think that there aren't to many eateries in Bolton, or the populace don't get out much!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank noonan101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olympus Fish & Chip Restaurant also viewed

 
Bolton, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Olympus Fish & Chip Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing