We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smoking” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Retreat Grill, Bar and Restaurant

Retreat Grill, Bar and Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Retreat Grill, Bar and Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 514 Restaurants in Bolton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Smoking”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We had a wonderful evening sat on the terrace the food & the wine was excellent, until we realised that the terrace is a smoking area. What clowns would allow that when there is a smoking area already. Totally spoiled our evening, I spoke to the manager, and it is being reviewed. You eat a evening meal with smoke blowing in your face' I don't think so. Won't go back u til they sort it!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank michael m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    168
    82
    47
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Awesome Lamb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

This is the second time I have been to this restaurant as I live in the North East. Went last Monday and had the best Lamb I have ever had. I am going back in August for an aunts 85th birthday meal and already know I will be having the Lamb if hopefully it is still on the menu

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cyhend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gt.manchester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Terrible ecperience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

I went for lunch to this eating place recently. I sat outside with a friend, the table was filthy, the floor was strewn with cigarette ends.
I went inside to order two drinks, I asked if I could pay for these along with the meal as I intended to pay on my card, I offered to leave my card behind the bar. I was advised that I couldnt do this, and must pay for the drinks. I duly offered my card, was then advised that I couldnt,nt pay for my drinks on the card as it did,nt total £5.00..-- I won,t bore you with the details of how the luncheon event continued, however, the service with abysmil, from the Manager to the staff including the girl with red hair behind the bar, who would,nt know a smile if it hit her!!!

An experience not to be repeated, there are lots of lovely eating places in the area, this is,nt one of them.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank angela b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Really good quality food. Extensive but interesting menu. Service more than adequate. Couldn't fault the place.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank grahamb43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“sons 18th”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

beautiful food , lovely staff , a very enjoyable evening, we took a cake which they brought out as a surprise , would definately go again

Helpful?
Thank Janette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Retreat Grill, Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Bolton, Greater Manchester
Bolton, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Retreat Grill, Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing