We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second time let down”
Review of La Salsa

La Salsa
Ranked #63 of 527 Restaurants in Bolton
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Second time let down”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The first time I visited with my mum who is here every other week it was amazing, tasted fresh, was always hot when served and real taste of Spain. Although now I look back I suspect as my mum is a regular she gets better treatment than most. The second time was such a let down, the food was warm if that, everything tasted the same as in the same batter or sauce was on everything certainly very different from the first visit. I must say I won't be going back which is a shame as the first visit was great.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank electricblue84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    100
    39
    20
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horiffic”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Went here for my birthday with a party of 16, the electric had gone so we were sat in candle light. We had the party menu which is a selection of foods all very mediocre and we only got a quarter of what we expected. I quietly spoke to the manager asking for maybe a slight discount due to the lack of food
This then turned into a full blown argument in front of a full restaurant and him being very rude and swearing at me and insulting my party. Will never return here ever again. Management are a joke

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chefdiner12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ab Fab!”
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Another absolutely fabulous visit to 'La Salsa', this was our fifth visit and won't be our last. I don't know where the 2 reviews below went to give such terrible reviews, all five of us thoroughly enjoyed the fantastic variety of Mediterranean fare. The manager and his staff were at tentative and friendly without being 'in your face'.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tangoman69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not going back”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Visited Monday evening 3rd June 2013 for my wifes birthday having had previous good experiences, but not recently. The portion sizes have become ridiculous resulting in myself ordering 11 and my wife 13 tapas dishes each. Poor quality microwave food, potatos with chirizo sausage contained 2 1/4 inch cubed pieces of sausage, slice of spanish omelette was 1 cm wide at the widest part. Overheard the lady staff commenting on poisoning the food and when asked about this and they said only joking , (presumably because of the number of dishes we ordered). On leaving my wife forgot her unfinished bottle of wine and returned in around 3 minutes and one member of staff was drinking it in the kitchen. Am having a regional meeting on the 28th June in Bolton and would normally have taken the 15 members of staff to this restaurant, no chance.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tony s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“degrading”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

from the moment me and my daughter arrived, we were told we had one hour to order and eat. the food came within 3 minutes and was utterly disgusting and cold. we had staff hovering over us the whole half an hour we were there, who were trying to clear our table before it was ready to be cleared. I felt patronised and pushed into leaving, maybe because we hadn't booked our table. We will never eat there again, especially after having sore stomachs for 2 days afterwards. Sad but True

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kimberley f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Salsa also viewed

Bolton, Greater Manchester
Horwich, Bolton
 
Bolton, Greater Manchester
 

Been to La Salsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing