We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great atmosphere for any occasions” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Marino

San Marino
Ranked #38 of 513 Restaurants in Bolton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere for any occasions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

We went to San Marino for my birthday recently. It was a cold, wet, and dark night and blowing a gale outside so we were delighted that there were glowing fires in the restaurant. Bar service on arrival was quick and we were soon seated to our table. It was a Saturday night and very busy, book well in advance, the service was attentive and swift. Extensive choice of menu to suite all tastes and a lovely atmosphere for any occasion. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Loved it!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KarenJ008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    64
    38
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fleet, Hampshire
Level Contributor
434 reviews
270 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Brilliant lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

Was taken ere by friends for a lunch-time treat. It was a Sunday and the restaurant was quite quiet although we had taken the precaution of booking in advance. The San Marino is a old country pub now re-purposed as a restaurant. It still retains an old world feel and is very welcoming. The tables towards the rear have great views across the valley / hills.
We settled for the three course set meal which has great choice at around £15 per head.
Starters: Meat balls - two large very solid and meaty meatballs; Soup - that day it was Broccolli and blue cheese - it was excellent; Sauted Garlic Mushrooms - not actually included in the set meal but the restaurant was happy to meet this 'special request' at no extra charge.
Mains: I opted for the home-made burger ( which really did taste home-made) - served with good chunky chips and all the trimmings. My companions chose the Salmon Steak and the Chicken Breast. I didn't ask them what they thought, but all three plates were completely empty at the end!
Sweets: Again a good choice, including a Sticky Toffee pudding and more tradiitonal Italian sweets.
Can't fault it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rexbarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“top place to eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

We were a large party celebrating my daughter's birthday. Seven of us had travelled quite a distance to be there. We chose it as some of our party have digestive problems and allergies and was somewhere we could all eat something. The staff were very welcoming and friendly, the food was well cooked and delivered to the table hot and fresh looking, by excellent attentive waiters. Everyone enjoyed their chosen meal. Afterwards we sat in the bar area which was lovely and cosy. We hope to return when we're in the area again and highly recommend it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fabulous!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

We used to come here when it was the Wrights Arms, it was an average traditional eating place. I couldn't believe the transformation when I visited with a friend. The inside is stylish and modern, the menu has been been well thought through and has plenty of choice. I have to mention to staff who are second to none, they are excellent and work hard at making the meal an enjoyable occasion.. well done to everyone....

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SarahG17485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Warm, friendly, efficient service with great quality food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

The staff & manager were extremely welcoming, the fire was lit & warm. The choice on the menu outstanding. The food was served quickly and of a really high standard, will definitely return. Authentic Mediterranean dishes with plenty of choice in a stunning location.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bronstonpickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Marino also viewed

Blackrod, Bolton
Bolton, Greater Manchester
 
Horwich, Bolton
Bolton, Greater Manchester
 

Been to San Marino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing