We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lack of respect”
Review of San Marino

San Marino
Ranked #38 of 527 Restaurants in Bolton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lack of respect”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I’ve been going to San Marino for years now and it was always lovely. However, last week my visit was awful. The waitress showed us the table, a round table near the kitchen. Good table as we were only five there was a lot of space, but after five minutes sat there we could hear a lot of swearing coming from the kitchen which I found very unpleasant as I was sat with my wife and children, very inappropriate and unprofessional! When I asked one of the waiter why the swearing, he said it was the head chef, which is also the owner of the place. As soon I could, I asked to be moved to a different table because I didn’t want my children to be hearing that kind of words.

We moved to conservatory area, a lot quiet than upstairs, it wasn’t all so bad, the food was good and the floor service was excellent. But on our way out, the 'chef' was shouting to one of the boys that served our food and I heard '[--] st*pid', felt sorry for them because they were good with us, at least in the customer service. Maybe I will come back because they serve the food I like but I defiantly never take my children again, NOT a family environment. Good place to eat as long you are VERY far away from the kitchen.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanMarinoRestaurant, Owner at San Marino, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear John,
I would like to sincerely apologise for your last visit to San Marino Restaurant. I've spoken to the head chef about his behaviour and he is very sorry and feels ashamed for the way he acted on the day. It was a very busy afternoon and he was really tired and stressed out - of course that doesn't apologise the language he used. I would like to ensure you that it won't happen again and hope to see you and your family back soon.
Giuseppe P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    66
    41
    18
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Don't have the moussaka”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I have visited this restaurant several times since my last review, October 2011. The food and service have always been excellent. On the latest occasion the restaurant was very quiet so the atmosphere was lacking, though this is not the fault of the owners. One of our party ordered moussaka, when it came it was very disappointing. It was in a huge dish but was only the size of a small portion of pudding. Although it was described as tasting beautiful, at a cost of £11.95 it certainly wasn't worth it and we all thought vegetables were going to arrive. It was eaten while the rest of us were waiting for our meals to cool. This is the first time we feel we have been slightly let down at this otherwise lovely restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank virgoNWEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Busy”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Went christmas eve and expected to have so so service and so so food but was pleasantly surprised to find great food and very attentive staff. A great night out

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
254 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great food, slightly dull atmosphere”
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

I ate at this restaurant with friends recently. Initial thoughts were that the restaurant is situated on a busy main road so it must be full on a Saturday lunchtime,

Sadly that was not the case and we were actually the only diners in the whole restaurant from the moment we arrived until the moment we left. This probably accounted for everyone being impressed with the food, from the garlic bread at the start to the tiramisu for dessert (they lovingly prepared it rather than mass-produced it!) It was one of the best chorizo dishes I have ever had, including even Spain where chorizo originates,

I have marked the atmosphere down simply as it was so dead the day we went, but I would like to go back one day when this restaurant is busy and have something to compare it with,

Highly recommended!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robbo1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent, home cooked food!!!”
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

The food at San Marino is fantastic and well presented. We were a party of 6 and all chose different meals which shows there is plenty of choice. Nobody had any complaints about their food. Price wise, I'd say it's about what you would expect to pay in a restaurant of this quality.

The only criticism I have is that the staff weren't as attentive as I would like and were slow to clear empty glasses etc. We found ourselves having to flag them down when we wanted more drinks or other things removing from the table. All the staff were welcoming and polite though.

The restaurant itself is very welcoming in a lovely countryside setting. No complaints with the cleanliness of the toilets either.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rtaylo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Marino also viewed

 
Bolton, Greater Manchester
Egerton, Bolton
 
Bolton, Greater Manchester
Horwich, Bolton
 

Been to San Marino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing