We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“With care this could be much better”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Nick's Restaurant

Nick's Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 522 Restaurants in Bolton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“With care this could be much better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Arrived for Sunday lunch at Nick’s Restaurant on our first visit. You are seated in a nicely decorated lounge whilst you look at the menu and choose drinks. Good start. Taken upstairs to our table for two which was near a window but it was a little cramped and difficult to get the chair out due to proximity of wall. Noticed two other tables for two were quite close to each other and you would almost be sharing a table with the one adjacent - hard to avoid overhearing a conversation as they were so close. There was a large party due and may be the tables had been moved to accommodate this so another day may be different.

Only four choices so I had beef and my partner lamb shank. Both meats were good but both the carrots and roast potatoes were charred, still eatable but a bit disappointing as we were expecting better and had had quite a long wait for them to be served. We had opted for dessert instead of a starter as these days we can’t manage both. These were tasty and a generous portion. Pretty slow service and we were not going anywhere but almost two hours for two courses is a bit much. Is the owner there on Sunday?

Despite this not being the best first impression we did eat our meal and for someone as “picky” as me that’s good. As we liked the selection of food on the display boards for weekdays we will give Nicks another try. Hope it is better as we are looking for a decent restaurant in this area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazelnut1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    368
    81
    34
    19
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Went to Nick's with my wife Karen last night. My daughter Louise had bought us a voucher for Christmas last year and we have just got round to using it! It was our first visit but certainly won't be our last. The range of dishes and wines on the regular menu is impressive enough but when you add the specials and guest wines the choice is really outstanding. The staff were all friendly and very knowledgeable and the quality of the food was superb. It's easy to see why this restaurant is o popular and we will be back sooner rather than later.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Eddie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Visited for first time last week, wow really impressed had duck starter and a steak, both very generous servings and delicious. Have to say service was great too ..attentive but not overbearing

Slight downside is the resteraunt was up a flight of stairs which was a struggle for my parents


Overall great menu selection highly recommended

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“fantastic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

first time but it will not be the last.we sat down as soon as we arrived good selection of starters and main with a special board.the food was just fantastic and cooked to a very high standard,all local produce.Its not cheap but worth every penny.
this restaurant was recommended i will certainly be doing the same.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Excelent Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

This place is lovely, from the outside one might be a little concerned, But the food and service is great, The food is not cheap, but you get what you pay for, I would sooner eat here once a month than in a cheap place twice a month. No one could ever moan about the quality

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TONY K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nick's Restaurant also viewed

Bolton, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Nick's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing