We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent - if in a Club Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent - if in a Club Room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

I stayed one night and as I got a very good initial price from a hotel comparison site upgraded on arrival to a Club Room. The room was excellent. Spaciuos, well furnished, huge flat screen TV on the wall, beautiful, well equipped bathroom, large comfortable bed, nice toiletries and even a TV built into tyhe wall at the end of the bath to watch TV whilst soaking. I used the gym which was well equipped and the sauna, which wqas very snall (max 3 persons!) but at least they have a sauna (and a steam room). Pool was a good size. Breakfast was very good indeed, a well stocked buffet with a wide choice of hot/cold food, fruts, cereals, cooked items etc. Parking at the hotel wasl imited and costs £10 (shame they do not offer free parking for guests). Club lounge was average, not much atmosphere but offered a few nibbles (very few) and drinks early evening as well as wi-fi, TV and a more peaceful place to relax/work. The biggest plus point though in my experience here was the freindliness and efficiency of the staff. Every one I spoke to from reception, housekeeping, health club, bar and restuarant were totally charming and helpful - not so usual these days in British hotels so they deserve much credit. My only gripe was that the corrideors on the guest floors were dingy and the carpets dirty - needs upgrading but that is a big job. However, as soon as I walked into the "Club room" section of the floor (accessible by key card) everything was spic and span. Hotel is thoroughly recommended - but suggest you invest in a Club room upgrade as standard rooms look a little on the small side.

Room Tip: Book Club room for bigger/much better room (and Club lounge access)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suitableforupgrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janice P, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza London Gatwick Airport Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and your Club Room experience.
I would like to thank you for your positive feedback about our staff and the service they delivered during your stay.

I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Janice Puddephatt
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,960 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    600
    756
    389
    136
    79
See reviews for
267
969
127
375
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick several times I can honestly say you will not find anything better around this area. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff who are always polite. The rooms are of a decent size and very comfortable.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janice P, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza London Gatwick Airport Hotel.

I was delighted to read your comments about your stay and that you found the hotel met all your expectations.

We look very much look forward to being able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future if you are flying out of Gatwick.

Kind Regards

Janice Puddephatt

Gues tRelations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

This best thing about this hotel was it,s location to LGW airport. The breakfast wasn't bad either, the room was comfortable. We book a wake call which we did not receive also booked a double bed when we arrived they gave us twin beds. So they had to move us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LBibbov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janice P, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay at the Crowne Plaza London Gatwick Airport Hotel.

I am pleased that you forund the location was good and offered easy transfer to Gatwick Airport .

I am sorry that on arrival you were given a twin room and had to ask for a room move to a double room I do hope that you were satisfied once the room type was changed.

I hop that you will choose to stay with us in the future.

Kind Regards

Janice Puddephatt
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
365 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 709 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Check in. 

We stayed here 1 night before an early morning flight from Gatwick. There was plenty of free parking spaces in the car park. Check in was fast, efficient and very friendly. We decided on check in to upgrade to a club room. The receptionist gave us very good directions to our room 654 (which was in the quiet area)as it meant we had to take 2 different lifts. 

Club room

The room was a good size with large bed, fridge, tv, large wardrobe and workstation. The bathroom was amazing!! Separate bath and shower and plenty of toiletries. There was also bath robes and slippers. 
Leisure facilities 
We used the gym which was quite small but did have a lot of equipment crammed in. We then went to the pool that was a good size and temperature. The changing rooms were fine with a sauna in each. 

Club room lounge 

We used the club room lounge which was complimentary with our upgrade. There are plenty of tables and also booths with separate tvs!! There's free wifi, fruit, soft drinks , hot drinks and biscuits. Between 18:30 and 20:30 there were beers (fosters), wine and spirits. They also served canapés and nibbles with the drinks. Well worth the upgrade price in our opinion. Breakfast was also included in the upgrade although we missed this due to the early flight. 
The bar/restaurant
The bar looked lovely and the menu looked great. We didn't use it though as we used the complimentary club room lounge. 

Summary. 

All in all a fantastic hotel to relax and unwind before a flight out of gatwick. If your on a budget and like a drink in the evening consider the upgrade for £35 as this money is easily saved on drinks!! The hotel also had some good deals on upgrades for 2 people for £20 that included full English breakfast, late checkout (4pm), pizza and a drink and others. Service was excellent throughout the hotel, including the taxi driver booked through the hotel. Will definitely use this hotel again in the future when travelling from Gatwick. 

Room Tip: Room 654 is a quiet Club room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayleigh_M_Williams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janice P, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments following your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza London Gatwick Airport hotel.

I am delighted that you found your upgrade to a Club Room was well worth the extra suppliment and offered a host of extras with access to our Club Lounge with soft drinks and a evening drinks service and Continental Breakfast included in the price.

I do hope if you are flying out of Gatwick you will choose to stay at the Crowne Plaza Hotel. We very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Janice Puddephatt
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, United States
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

lovley hotel near Gatwick. i was there on business. the hotel was a littl pricey but it had the best location among other hotels. city center was within walking distance. so was the resturants and pubs.
rooms where clean and big. the concierge was very pleasent.

Room Tip: the concierge was very pleasent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aziz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janice P, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your recent stay at the Crown Plaza London Gatwick Airport Hotel.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found that the location gave you easy access into the town centre, and other local attractions.

I do hope that you will return to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Janice Puddephatt
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights in November on business. The location for me was great, short taxi or 20 minute walk to main business park and less than 10 minutes to cinema, restaurants etc. Breakfast got very busy in the morning, did their best getting tables ready but there was a short wait at times. Selection was ok, some more variety in preserves, yogurt and healthier hot options would have been nice. My major disappointment was with the taxi company used by the hotel. I booked two taxis a day and four of the drivers did not wear the seat belt. They often had the wrong destination, and one didn't even know the way! It reflected poorly on the hotel which I did mentioned to reception who took my comments and I hope they act on. Wifi seemed to work well in the room and lounge. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yaz335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janice P, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza London Gatwick Airport Hotel.

I am pleased that you found our staff friendly and you enjoyed your stay. We were very busy during your stay I am sorry that you had to wait in the restaurant due to the number of guests.

I do remember speaking to you as you were concerned that the Taxi company we use seemed not to be wearing seatbelts, and also were not sure of your destination. I did call the taxi company directly after speaking to you and made them aware of our concerns for our guests when their drivers are not wearing seatbelts.

I would like to thank you for all your positive comments and feedback about your stay .I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Janice Pudephatt
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

We booked this hotel on the basis of other good stays in the Blackfriars hotel. Unfortunately the Gatwick hotel did not live up to expectations. Small room, v small lift(!), poor value room service and the room was very hot. Added to this there were no parking spaces and no alternatives (we had to move some cones that were blocking a couple of spaces) and this wasn't the good quality overnight stop after a flight back from NZ with our 6 month old that we were hoping for.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reviewhound2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janice P, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza London Gatwick Airport hotel.

I was very sorry to read that you were disappointed with your room and your stay with us.

You did not mention if you spoke to a Duty Manager about the issues you encountered with the Car Parking spaces. If a guest is not happy with any aspect of their stay providing they alert us to the issue we will do our very best to offer a different room or try to resolve any problems they are experiencing.

I do apologise that this was not the case with your stay and you have left the hotel feeling unhappy about your stay.

I do hope that you will choose to stay again in the future.

Kind Regards

Janice Puddephatt
Guest relations Manager

Kind Regards

Janice Pudephatt
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.9 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
2.5 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
1.0 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
2.6 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick Airport
2.4 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport

Property: Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport
Address: Langley Drive, Crawley RH11 7SX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
#14 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#14 Family Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A striking, wing-shaped canopy soars above the entrance to the Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport hotel. You'll receive a warm welcome from our friendly Front Desk staff, who can direct you to your calming room or Suite. Revitalise and work out in the fully equipped gym, which is complimentary to residential guests. Dark wood and ochre create a stylish setting for business dinners in Cube restaurant, which serves modern English cuisine. Dine with up to 280 guests in one of our 11 vibrant meeting rooms or host board meetings in the chic executive boardroom. Upgrade to access the Club Lounge, where complimentary breakfast & drinks are served as well as canapes in the evening. A pre-bookable airport (taxi) transfer is available for £10.00, Based on 1-3 people in a car. Gatwick Express trains take 30 minutes to London Victoria station from London Gatwick Airport, while Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport is 5 minutes' walk from Manor Royal Business Park. Experience British summertime at the exotic Royal Pavilion and beach-side oyster bars of sunny Brighton, 30 minutes' drive away. You'll find wireless Internet throughout Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, where your stay is worth celebrating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport Hotel Crawley
Crowne Plaza Crawley
Crawley Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing