We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food”
Review of Hillside Inn

Hillside Inn
Ranked #28 of 265 Restaurants in Crawley
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Hillside Inn in Crawley is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Box Hill, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Went there with some friends who were off on holiday the next day. The food and service was excellent, and as I didn;t have to pay the bill I was very happy. The only bad point was we had to wait for a table, people were sitting at tables who were not eatting, which caused a blockage in those wishing to eat.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Spotjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    212
    99
    48
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sussex,England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Went here as a family ( seven of us ) and received excellent service even though it was quite busy.
Our server was very good, chatty and smiling she took time to even explain all the specials board.
Most went with the roasts and two of us went with the pork belly.
All meals were well cooked and very tasty.
Various desserts followed and a good cheese board all of which were yummy.
Mains, desserts various drinks and a bottle of wine £130 for seven good value we thought.
Great food, great service will return.
Best book as small car park and popular pub.

Helpful?
1 Thank martin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gatwick airport
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value for great food!”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Great service, great menu, great food, great value and "fish friday" is a must! Only reason this didn't get 5 stars is the small carpark!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank easyfrenchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Very good lunch”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

I took a client here a couple of weeks ago for lunch, as it is very local to the office I thought I would give it a try, hoping that they would not disappoint, they did not. Very good menu choice for both snacks and meals, I opted for the soup of the day which came with a sandwich, my goodness that was certainly a meal not a snack, excellent. My client seemed to decide on one thing, then changed his mind which the waiter dealt with without a problem, the course turned up and he changed his mind again and wanted to add to his choice, still not a problem all dealt with a smile and courtesy. I would certainly recommend this pub for lunch from my own very pleasant experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HotelinspectorSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great restaurant great service”
Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Had a superb meal in a very busy restaurant on Friday evening. The service was outstanding, quick, and Timely. The food was excellent different from the normal run of the mill pub restaurants and plentiful. Try the prawn and crab salad as a starter it was Wonderful. Understandably the hillside in is now fully booked for December, suggest you get a reservation in for January. Very well done a very enjoyable evening

Helpful?
1 Thank RayTopple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hillside Inn also viewed

Crawley, West Sussex
 
Crawley, West Sussex
 
Crawley Down, West Sussex
Crawley, West Sussex
 

Been to Hillside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing