We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little pricey but nice food”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Taj Mahal

Taj Mahal
Ranked #67 of 261 Restaurants in Crawley
Price range: $19 - $39
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: The Taj Mahal is Crawley's longest established Indian restaurant opening in 1969. We have developed a range of menus and style of food that gives everyone a wide choice of traditional Indian food to try. Fine Dining and perfect for business or pleasure. Making having a curry a little more special.
Crawley, West Sussex, England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A little pricey but nice food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

Ordered delivery from here following our disaster with Diwali/Sagorika. Very polite and they were happy to honor the old prices which were showing on their website with no issues.

The food tasted ok, portions were a little small and it came in reasonable time.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stina_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    74
    33
    19
    60
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Good Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

I have been to the place often on business trips and liked the food and service. Although it's a bit expensive.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heeren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“RUDE OBNOXIOUS manager, bland food and useless staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

Overpriced food that takes ages to arrive and when it did was bland, oily and wasn't nice. We complained about the slow service, the bland food and the drinks which took ages to be taken, the manager started challenging us !!!! This guy is beyond belief and is so rude and obnoxious !

AVOID this place like the plague! It's overpriced, bland food with rude and arrogant staff !!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steph77887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rissington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Always a good curry when on business in Crawley”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

I've stayed in Crawley on business trips on numerous occasions and I always visit the Taj. Great service, some great curries and a good waterfall.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beatboxbumblebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Good choice of veggie dishes”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

Called in with a business colleague whilst staying in Crawley for work. Just wanted a fairly standard curry house. I'm not sure whether this is a bog standard curry house trying to bat above it's weight, or a great curry house struggling a bit.
There are plenty of polite waiters, and you get met at the door and showed to your seat. Service was good (service charge is included in bill so be careful you don't tip twice). The decor is stylish but maybe in need of a bit of a refurb.
There was a great choice of veggie dishes which was great, but the chick pea curry I had, whilst having a good level of heat was a bit salty and could have done with a few extra ingredients. Bahjis were ok but nothing special. Above average pickle tray with the poppadums.
I did enjoy the evening but find it hard to rate higher than average although it could easily have achieved more. I will try it again on another trip to the office to see whether we just caught it on a slow night. Worth a visit anyway.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lizandtone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taj Mahal also viewed

Crawley, West Sussex
 

Been to Taj Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing