We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy to get to from Gatwick North”

Gatwick Oriental Restaurant
Ranked #32 of 262 Restaurants in Crawley
Price range: $51 - $51
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Gatwick Oriental is a stylish, elegant eatery at the foyer level of the Sofitel London Gatwick Hotel offering a smart menu of pan-Asian cooking. Food ranges across Thai, Chinese Malaysian, Japanese, Indonesian, Singaporean and Hong Kong cultures, and is served in a bright dining space filled with potted plants, crisp white tablecloths and wicker and ironwork chairs that exude a contemporary yet colonial feel.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Easy to get to from Gatwick North”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Very easy to get to if you're at the North terminal (before security). This is a good option if you're staying at one of the hotels at the airport and are in the mood for Asian food. Reasonable prices, good selection, tasty food, nice ambiance, okay service.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    111
    67
    32
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tring
Level Contributor
191 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Rushed and unfriendly!”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

This restaurant is a good example of great food but pretty bad service. We did not have a reservation but were given a table straight away without waiting. It was busy but not packed. The service was rushed, from taking our initial order to our dessert order. If they could have served the food by throwing it at us straight from the kitchen, I reckon they would. The big shame (or the saving grace) was that the food was actually very good. Everything was tasty and freshly made. Even nicely presented after the speed at which the plates landed on the table. I would say the experience was more 3.5/5 but definitely not a 4!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PhillipP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tasty food and good service in a lovely setting.”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

I ate here the night before I was due to fly out to the US, as I was staying overnight in the airport, as is my usual routine due to my repeated satisfaction with this restaurant.
While this may not be rated as the most amazing restaurant ever, it is a cut above the average Chinese restaurant with good customer service and tasty food.
The service was prompt and attentive in all respects, and the food (I had duck spring rolls to start and then the crispy shredded beef with egg fried rice) was thoroughly delicious.
A very good offering if looking for some oriental cuisine.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pidgeoncj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, Hants
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Good service and a good choice on the menu. Food was excellent and good value for money. Wet have eaten here several times when staying the night before a flight and have not been disappointed.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hants_holiday_makers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
156 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“We were not expecting much. What a nice surprise”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We arrived late for an early flight next day and booked a table at the Oriental as we checked in. How glad we were that we did.
It was getting towards the end of service, but we were made most welcome in this oasis away from the noise and drama of the hotel lobby and bars, which are my idea of a nightmare.
The food is a fusion of Chinese and Thai favourites and we chose dishes that we knew we liked, hoping, but not expecting them, to be that good.
We were very pleasantly surprised with the quality of the food, the impeccable service and the charming staff. The food was quite superb and we loved everything we ordered. In fact we remarked that it would be worth staying at the hotel just to eat in this restaurant.
The bill was not excessive, we enjoyed some good and inexpensive wine and then retired to our excellent rooms for a good night's sleep.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GourmetEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gatwick Oriental Restaurant also viewed

 
Crawley, West Sussex
 
Crawley, West Sussex
Crawley, West Sussex
 

Been to Gatwick Oriental Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing