We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good quality”

Gatwick Oriental Restaurant
Ranked #31 of 262 Restaurants in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $51 - $51
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Gatwick Oriental is a stylish, elegant eatery at the foyer level of the Sofitel London Gatwick Hotel offering a smart menu of pan-Asian cooking. Food ranges across Thai, Chinese Malaysian, Japanese, Indonesian, Singaporean and Hong Kong cultures, and is served in a bright dining space filled with potted plants, crisp white tablecloths and wicker and ironwork chairs that exude a contemporary yet colonial feel.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very good quality”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

The food on the set menu was excellent, along with the service. The cost of the meal and alcohol was very fair. The restaurant was very relaxed and the staff had traditional dress to go with the atmosphere of the restaurant, would definitely return.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    112
    68
    33
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Average, just average.”
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant was OK but the food wasn't any better than that of my local Chinese takeaway. If you are staying at the Sofitel & fancy a Chinese meal then just for the convenience I'd recommend to eat here. However, just be aware that you are paying a high price for the location of this restaurant rather than out of the ordinary food. The staff were pleasant & the service efficient & we did have an enjoyable meal. I would eat here again when I'm next staying at the Sofitel hotel.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank HotCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey
Level Contributor
384 reviews
251 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 383 helpful votes
“Poor, overpriced food with poor service.”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

It is obvious the staff do not enjoy working here as the service was very poor. I suspect that the same can be said for the kitchen staff as the food was bland. I have had much better from the local takeaway for a quarter of the price.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GGGSarnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUBLIN, IRELAND
Level Contributor
78 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A SHOCKER”
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

I was staying in the Sofitel Hotel and oriental food on the premises appealed to me - bad decision. Food was over-priced and very ordinary and, to make matters worse, I was asked to leave my table at 11.10pm as the staff wanted to go home. Avoid.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SPOONER47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutterworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Don't eat here”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

If you like any kind of oriental food eating here will be a huge disappointment, starters and the crispy duck were good, but the mains are bland and overpriced, stay well clear of the special mongolian kebabs they were smaller than a small thing on a stick and could have possible been under Genghis Khan's saddle for the last 500 years, the other main we had was pork and black mushrooms and it looked as if the pork had come out of a packet ready sliced, and i think the chef forget to put anything else in the sauce BLAND BLAND BLAND.
Certainly did not live up to the £70 we paid for the food you would get far better at any Chinese takeaway on any high street, they should be ashamed of what they serve here.
Speaking of service, there wasn't any, very very poor service waited 15 mins before we were asked if we would like a drink, 30 mins for the startersto come and another 30 for the mains, all done with that resigned look of I don't want to be here serving you go away!!

Dont do it folks !!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Owenski37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gatwick Oriental Restaurant also viewed

 
Crawley, West Sussex
Crawley, West Sussex
 
Crawley, West Sussex
 

Been to Gatwick Oriental Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing