We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent reception staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2012

The title is the only best point. Parking is difficult. Reception greeting was usual good standard. Rooms need attention and painting magnolia is so drab. Bathrooms have been bodged up with different coloured tiles. The drains smell terrible in the bathroom, have Whitbread never heard of bleach?. The new and now usual noisy thermostat has been fitted.We were woken up early by cleaning staff making a much noise as possible in the corridor. It is an airport located hotel so guests will be in and out at odd times but this hotel does not have any internal sound insulation so do not expect " a good nights sleep". Maybe another room not at the front of the hotel will be better, but I will not return to find out.

Room Tip: Try to get a room as far away from the front as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justturned25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudio M, General Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us.

Firstly ,Please accept my sincere apologies that you did not have a nice stay with us and that your room did not meet the high standards that you expected and are used to with the Premier Inn.

We are in the process of updating our hotel and are currently refurbishing the bathrooms so hopefully these will be completed by the end of January.

I am sorry to hear you also had problems parking as this was due to the very busy Christmas functions that were taking place at the time.

I am very glad that inspite of the night you had, You still recognised the Excellent reception team and their service to you.

I hope that you will give us an opportunity to give you the usual Premier Inn experience.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,597)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,247 - 1,253 of 1,597 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2012

This premier inn was the first I have stayed in (usually stay in Travelodge) will ensure I always stay in premier inn in future. Rooms are large, clean and have a huge kingsize bed. Guy on reception was cheerful & extremely helpful. Only reason it didn't get 5* was that restaurant & Bar were closed (as it was Xmas day) ice machine was out of order and it was more expensive than TL

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abfabknuckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudio M, General Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us.

Firstly, please accept my apologies for any inconveniences due to the Restaurant/Bar being closed on Christmas day and the ice machine not working. I do hope that your stay wasn't too disrupted.

Secondly, thank you for your comments on the steam service you received and also your appreciation of the room size, cleanliness and size of the bed.

We are glad that you see yourself staying here again in the future and look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Excellent for the price, well recomended. If all you want is a clean and comfortable place to stay while waiting for your next flight then this place is it. 1 complaint would be waiting at reception due to only 1 person in attendance, but hey!

Room Tip: If you smoke, as I do then obviously ground floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RayLittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We arrived at the Premier Hotel after a very tiring flight and we must say the welcome we received from Claudio, Miriam and James was unbelievably friendly and welcoming. They went out of their way to assist us in any query we had and couldn't have been better, WELL DONE to whoever employed these staff. The booking was done by our daughter who is a flight attendant with BA and she recommended it highly and we have every intention of recommending it to all our friends and will without doubt book in again the next time we fly to Gatwick.. The room was quiet, comfortable and clean and all information we required was readily available from the above staff. Congratulations.

Room Tip: If you need any information prior to your booking or arrival I would suggest you phone or email the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudio M, General Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Gatwick South.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found your room to be quiet, clean and comfortable.

We are also thrilled that you enjoyed the welcome you received on your arrival and that you found the team accomodating in every sense.

We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We got this hotel as part of a parking package, the rooms are clean and tidy the restaurant is nice and staff are friendly (can only say for the evening as that is all we experienced).

Teh only downside is that no check in desk and we tried the automated check in and could not find us; this may be the way we booked but a member of staff was walking around and manged to help us at another desk.

Would stay again, quiet and close enough to the airport and parking.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karinggal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I've been working in this area of Gatwick for about a year, on and off. We tried a few other places and they were much of a muchness. This one is easy to get to, has good parking, all the good things that they do well (clean, comfortable rooms and working bathrooms). It also has a good pub/restaurant. The food is well prepared and the menu seems to change regularly (it's a national menu, I guess).
Two things in summary:
- I haven't had a problem in twenty stays
- I only look to book this one now, and don't hear about anywhere recommended more highly for the price.

Room Tip: Even my boss, who's a terrible sleeper, reckons that all the rooms are perfectly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fatzorro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudio M, General Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Gatwick Airport south.

We are happy to hear that after staying with us 20 times, you have found our rooms to be clean, comfortable, quiet and in good repair and the team friendly and efficient.

We are glad to know that your colleagues find our rooms comfortable and sleep well too.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the New Year and giving you the same great premier Inn Service and welcome.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed the night in this hotel on the 10/12/2012. We didn't have any issues with parking. We were met with a friendly receptionist who was very informative and advised us of the restaurant. We were checked in easily and informed where our room was. No issues using the lift. Our room was clean, tidy and spacious.

We ate at the restaurant, service was a little slow although food was nice.

Once back in the room we noticed a slight smell of sewerage from th bathroom, but there were no signs of leakage. In the morning unfortuantely when the toilet was flushed water came from the toilet pipe covering some of the bathroom floor. We managed to mop this up and informed the receptionist on departure, who we felt took this seriously.

Although, there was this issue in the morning, our stay was pleasant. We would book this hotel for any future stays.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudio M, General Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us in December.

Firstly, please accept my sincere apologies for the unfortunate issue you had in your room due to the leak in the bathroom. I can assure you that this was a standalone incident and should not happen again.

Secondly, Thank you for the kind review you have given us inspite of the afore mentioned incident, and your assurance that you would definitely stay with us again as it shows that you were able to judge us on on the quality of the hotel and the service you received from the team.

We look forward to welcoming you here again and giving you the full Premier Inn experience.

Kind regards



My husband and I stayed the night in this hotel on the 10/12/2012. We didn't have any issues with parking. We were met with a friendly receptionist who was very informative and advised us of the restaurant. We were checked in easily and informed where our room was. No issues using the lift. Our room was clean, tidy and spacious.

We ate at the restaurant, service was a little slow although food was nice.

Once back in the room we noticed a slight smell of sewerage from th bathroom, but there were no signs of leakage. In the morning unfortuantely when the toilet was flushed water came from the toilet pipe covering some of the bathroom floor. We managed to mop this up and informed the receptionist on departure, who we felt took this seriously.

Although, there was this issue in the morning, our stay was pleasant. We would book this hotel for any future stays.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crawley hotels
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
1.5 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (A23 Airport Way) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis London Gatwick Airport
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (Manor Royal) Hotel
1.6 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick south terminal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel

Address: London Road | Lowfield Heath, Crawley RH10 9ST, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Crawley
#10 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#12 Business Hotel in Crawley
Price Range: $72 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the grounds of a 13th-century manor, close to leisure parks and less than a mile from the airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Premier Inn, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Gatwick Airport South Hotel Crawley
Premier Inn Crawley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing