We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, good place to stay near Gatwick”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East (Balcombe Road) Hotel
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2010

Stayed here for 1 night. Very good service - friendly staff at all times. Typical Premier Inn, so good value for money and clean. Despite it being near to Gatwick ariport we didn't notice the planes (effective double glazing).

Had breakfast in the Parsons Pig - better than expected so no complaints there.

Recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanG001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (633)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

612 - 618 of 633 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2010

Stayed here whilst attending a family wedding, we had three rooms booked. Check in was smooth and when my 15 year old spotted 'under 16s eat free', breakfast cost was instantly refunded. Rooms spotlessly clean, nice white fluffy towels. Breakfast was served in the next door pub - Parsons Pig, and even though it was busy, there was plenty of food and drinks available with everything topped up promptly when it had run out. Hotel set in nice surroundings but close to Gatwick airport. Have never stayed in a Premier Inn before, but certainly would again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kizia21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

We travelled as a group of families with thirteen year-old boys and their siblings for a cricket tour of Sussex during the May bank holiday this year, and were fortunate enough to have chosen this Premier Inn as our base for three nights. The setting was perfect for us - suitably leafy surrounds in a quiet-ish backwater, and small enough for us to feel right at home.

Registration, on arrival, was executed promptly and efficiently, the rooms allocated being spacious, modern and of the unusually high standard we have come to expect of this budget line of hotels. The receptionist was friendly, welcoming, and took an interest in the purpose of our visit, which was lovely. Thoughout our stay, both she and the daytime receptionist could not do enough for us - this was much appreciated by us all.

The adjoining pub - the quaintly named 'The Parson's Pig' - was small and charming, and welcomed children into its restaurant. The menu was varied, the food good, and the staff very efficient. Our one complaint was that, having arrived without eating at around 9.10pm, we were unable to order anything, despite the fact that the hotel had given us the wrong closing time for the restaurant, and three of our party had just received their main course. We were informed that the kitchen was now closed, although the chef was still about and could at least have offered us a sandwich, surely? We were forced, instead, to order a delivery pizza and, upon asking whether we could sit at one of the tables to eat it in the box, we were advised to eat it outside as the restaurant could not condone anyone eating brought-in food in their restaurant, even though diners would long have left by the time it was received and we would not have created any work for staff. As it was, we sat outside at a trestle table in the near-dark and chilly night and could barely see what we were eating.

Nonetheless, we would strongly recommend this Premier Inn to anyone travelling in the vicinity, as the plus points far outweight the one problem area!

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hit4Six
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2010

We stayed here as we wanted somewhere to rest our heads before our flight the following day, and I could not have picked a better place.
We were made welcome on arrival and our children presented with goody bags (including to their delight an easter egg) whilst we checked in. The room was clean and fresh and looked like the rooms from the advert, there was plenty of room and plenty of tea and coffee.
We were about 10 minutes from the terminals, but away from the hustle and bustle which was great with the kids. There was some aircraft noise but I think that is to be expected when you are this close.
We had breakfast the next morning and this too was good value, the children were free and we had a cooked breakfast and the children had cereal, muffins, croissants, yoghurts, you name it!
We will be staying here again!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilmabird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2010

The hotel is very clean and has everything you expect from a premier inn including a really comfortable bed for a good night sleep. The staff were all very friendly and helpful.
The pub next door (Parsons Pig) is really nice, and serves really good food at a reasonable price.
Breakfast was good and good value.
All in all very good budget hotel would defiantly return.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngelaThompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2010

We stayed here before we flew to Gatwick the next morning. The Hotel is located off the Junction 10 M23, (Follow signs to the crem), and it is in little woodland area, only 42 beds, and a restaurant next door. It is better than all the hustle and bustle you get in the Big, major airport Hotels.
Plenty of free car parking, and the service from the staff was warm and friendly. The rooms were so clean, I couldnt fault!! The bathroom has power shower and bath, big fluffy towels and shower gel. The bedroom has tea and coffee facilities, extra pillows, sofa bed (in our room) , freeview TV, so lots of channels!
I loved the nice clean, white fresh duvet, and the beds were really comfy!
Our friends stayed here last week with their kids, and the family rooms were good sizes, and kids get activity packs from reception!
The Hotel is at the most a 10 min drive to the airport terminals, we took a taxi for £12.50, and with the great deals Premier Inn do on-line, it only cost us £29 for the 2 of us. You cant get airport parking for that these days!!
The reception is manned 24hours, and as the hotel is hidden away, you dont feel like you are in an airport Hotel. We had a few glasses of wine in the restaurant next door, and dinner for a good price. The best way to start your holiday!
For what we paid, the service of staff, the professionalism of them all and how clean our room was, there is no need to pay for over priced Hotels.
We will be back in the summer.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lazjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2009

Stayed here after returning from a late flight into Gatwick. Check-in and so on was smooth despite it being very late (around 11pm). The room was spacious and was fresh and clean. The hallway outside had obviously been recently recarpeted as there was quite a strong smell of new carpet. Bed was comfy, and linen crisp and fresh. Bathroom was fine, although shower (over the bath) a little feeble. We did hear a few planes taking off from Gatwick in the early-ish morning (starting at around 6.30am), but this wasn't a huge problem.

Breakfast (taken next door in the Parson's Pig restaurant) has a buffet style continental, and you order your cooked part of the breakfast. Despite this being an "all you can eat" breakfast, we were given no more than 1 sausage (overcooked), 1 piece of bacon, and I had to ask for my missing tomato (half) which I'd ordered but had been forgotten. The rest of the breakfast was fine, but I think the cooked part was a let-down. The attitude of the guy serving us left something to be desired as he seemed mostly concerned with getting rid of us, so he could go home.

Overall, a good experience and excellent value for money which was let down somewhat by poor breakfast service.

Stayed: February 2009
Thank Car01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crawley hotels
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (Manor Royal) Hotel
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (A23 Airport Way) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel
1.1 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
2.7 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East (Balcombe Road) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East (Balcombe Road) Hotel

Address: 1066 Balcombe Road | Pound Hill, Crawley RH10 3NL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Crawley
#7 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#15 Business Hotel in Crawley
Price Range: $59 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East (Balcombe Road) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a more rural location, close to the airport and the shops and cafes of Crawley town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East (Balcombe Road) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Gatwick / Crawley (Pound Hill) Hotel Crawley
Premier Inn Crawley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing