We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid The Parson's Pig pub next door”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East (Balcombe Road) Hotel
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence
Reading
2 reviews
“Avoid The Parson's Pig pub next door”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

We had a good stay at the Premier Inn the night before a flight from Gatwick. We chose this one because it was close to the off-site parking we were using. The Premier Inn was lovely - usual standard and would happily stay there again, but would not go back to the pub which is attached. The floor was really sticky (obviously not been cleaned in a whie) - the food was even worse. We ordered "gourment burgets" - which looked more like the cheap processed burger you would find in a supermarket, and garlic bread which was obviously made with a very fine spread of flavourless margarine. The premier inn breakfast the next morning was not the usual standard with poor quality sausages and bacon. There was one member of staff serving and the place was packed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrancophileBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LondonGatwick, Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East (Balcombe Road) Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of london Gatwick Airport East.
We were pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and everything was to the standard you expect from a premier inn.
We would like to apologise for the negative experienc in the pub next door,We have meetings with the adjoint pub on a regular basis, and your review will be discussed and actioned with them.
I hope we can welcome you back again one day.
Kind Regards,

Melissa Godawela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    222
    49
    22
    10
See reviews for
168
227
43
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 4 nights. We were visiting family and friends and had lived in the area 25 odd years ago. Because it was a family get-together and other relatives were arriving we thought it best to stay in a hotel.
Having had a bad time in another (competitor) hotel in the same Balcombe road, we were a little apprehensive.
There are a number of negatives about this hotel- No scrabble for parking; no noise from the other residents; no noise from the water/heating system; no noise from the inter-connecting doors; no mould in the bathroom; and surprisingly not much noise from the aircraft because of all the dense woodland that surrounds the hotel. Yes - we were surprised in the nicest way.
The housekeeping staff were very pleasant and kept the rooms spotless; there was even a receptionist/night porter on 24-hours round the clock.
The hotel is a short drive from Gatwick and seems to me an ideal place from which to catch your flight.
There has to be something wrong after all this praise. Well the wall lights opposite the bed were out of vertical by about one inch. Apart from that . . .all perfect.
Definitely deserves 5 out of 5.

Room Tip: We found the back of the hotel quiet enough, despite 'facing' the airport. Possibly the fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LondonGatwick, Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East (Balcombe Road) Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Premier Inn Gatwick Airport East.

I am delighted you were so impressed with your stay here and found the level of service to be so high. I'm especially pleased you felt that Gatwick Airport East was indicative of a general improvement in the standards provided by Premier Inn and I hope we can welcome you back again one day.

Yours sincerely
Melissa Godawela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We had a fantastic night's stay - very comfortable and the staff couldn't have been more helpful as we arrived with three young children and a few bags. We've stayed in a few Premier Inns recently, and most have been excellent, but this one gets our top score.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank libbil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LondonGatwick, Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East (Balcombe Road) Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank You for your review
We really appreciate your impressions on our hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive a positive feedback from our clients, since nothing makes us more joyful than knowing that we have achieved our main objective which is no other than the satisfaction of our guests.
Looking forward to the pleasure of meeting you during your next visit

Yours sincerely
Melissa Godawela
Operations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blanes, Spain
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

This hotel is very close to Gatwick airport but not too near, which makes a difference if plane noise bothers you.
The bedroom was as expected, clean and comfortable, and the cooked breakfast was good.
Good value for money!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaMoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LondonGatwick, Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East (Balcombe Road) Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Many thanks for your letting us have your comments on your recent stay at london gatwick airport east Tripadvisor website.
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and found it a convenient stopover for Gatwick Airport ,also i m pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and everything was to the standard you expect from a premier inn.
I genuinely hope we will be able to welcome you back many more times.
Kind Regards,

Melissa Godawela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

My partner and I booked this hotel to stay at the night before a wedding as it was just up the road. Easy to get to and tonnes of parking spaces when we arrived early evening. Check in was fast but no mention of breakfast or dinner times or location so left to figure it out for ourselves (although only next door so no too difficult!). Room was usual Premier Inn quality with comfy bed, plenty of towels etc. But the temperature in the room was crazy! Thank god for the provided fan as the in room temp controls made no difference and the window only opened an inch!
Dinner/Breakfast next door in the pub. Nice food, decent prices. Breakfast was the best ive had at a premier inn. Cooked fresh, large portion, lots of cereal, pastries etc all left and not a dirty table to be seen.

One final thing. Dont bother with the wifi. You pay for it and then you stay connected for 5mins and then have to log back in. This happens over and over and over! And its so slow you may as well just use your phones 3g!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LondonGatwick, Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East (Balcombe Road) Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Many thanks for your letting us have your comments on your recent stay at london gatwick airport east Tripadvisor website.

We really appreciate your impressions on our hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive a positive feedback from our clients, since nothing makes us more joyful than knowing that we have achieved our main objective which is no other than the satisfaction of our guests.
Looking forward to the pleasure of meeting you during your next visit

Yours sincerely
Melissa Godawela
Operations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

This Premier Inn is in a great location for LGW users. Close by the airport but not too close (10 minute drive to the car park), and located in a really nice rural setting.

We have been staying there at least 4 nights per year for more than 6 years. The rooms are beginning to look a bit tired, now, compared with other Premier Inns that we have stayed at recently. But the place is well looked after by the friendly staff and Jenny on reception always greets us by name.

1 criticism - the door locks on the rooms are noisy and it is impossible to close a room door quietly.

The Parsons Pig next door has friendly staff and the food is good. The Fullers London Pride is well kept BUT the housekeeping could be improved. Walking from the Premier Inn to the pub for breakfast was a stomach turning experience this recent visit, with piles of fag ends and dirty beer bottles and glasses littering the outside tables - still there from the previous night. But this is really not an issue that the Premier Inn staff can do anything about - not their responsibility.

We shall continue to choose this Hotel when we travel via Gatwick airport or are in the area for some other reason,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LondonGatwick, Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East (Balcombe Road) Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to read your comment about our hotel, and the receptionist Jenni, who is allways delivering high standard of customer sevice.
The comments reagrding the pub will be discussed with the management next door, compliment of their staff will be passed on, and the issues will be adressed!

Thank You for taking your time to review our hotel, and sharing your experience with us.
We are looking forward welcoming you in the near future!

Kind Regards,
Melissa Godawela
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

With Premier Inns you know what to expect and it is a comfortable stay at a reasonable price, however Gatwick is a bit isolated no-one in the hotel could get a phone signal which was irritating as we had to go into the car park to make a call. Breakfast is expensive, there is no choice to have JUST a cooked breakfast you have to pay for the continental as well if you have the cooked breakfast. I have stayed in many hotels recently of a similar standard where breakfast and wi-fi are included. This is where Premier Inns let themselves down

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Filmoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LondonGatwick, Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East (Balcombe Road) Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank You for taking the time to review our hotel,

I am sorry to hear you have experienced few problems during your stay, unfortunately we are located in a spot where in-door phone signal of few operators can be quite poor, which i do apologise for.
Premier Inns are dedicated to deliver value for price accomodation and breakfast, and there is packages available online with breakfast included in price, mainly through booking.com.

We hope you will choose Premeir Inns in the future.

Kind Regards,
Melissa Godawela
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crawley hotels
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (Manor Royal) Hotel
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (A23 Airport Way) Hotel
1.5 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
1.1 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East (Balcombe Road) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East (Balcombe Road) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East (Balcombe Road) Hotel
Address: 1066 Balcombe Road | Pound Hill, Crawley RH10 3NL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Crawley
#7 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#15 Business Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East (Balcombe Road) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a more rural location, close to the airport and the shops and cafes of Crawley town centre ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East (Balcombe Road) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Gatwick / Crawley (Pound Hill) Hotel Crawley
Premier Inn Crawley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing