We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East (Balcombe Road) Hotel
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not bad at all”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

You always know what you are getting when you book a Premier and this one is no exception. Clean, everthing works and the food is very good. The only thing Ii would say is that i have stayed here now about 15 times and often can smell canibis being smoked. Great for Gatwick airport and for the Gatwick express into London, I even use as a stop over for Dover.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floor are better as you get a lot of smokers hanging around outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADD999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LondonGatwick, Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East (Balcombe Road) Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank You for taking the time to post a review of London Gatwick Airport East.

I am pleased to hear that the hotel is in a great location for yourself and you use this as a stopover, that the rooms are clean and that the food is good.

Please when booking to stay with us again, please let the Reception Team know that you would like a first floor room and this will be allocated for you.

It will be great to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Melissa Godawela
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    232
    54
    25
    12
See reviews for
180
243
47
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Margate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My Husband and I always use this Premier Inn when we either fly from Gatwick or when we are visiting the Family. Have stayed for a number of years and always find the Staff friendly and helpful. They cannot do enough for you to make your stay pleasant. On entering our room we always feel we have come home as its clean, spacious and welcoming.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank pamela b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LondonGatwick, Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East (Balcombe Road) Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Premier Inn Gatwick airport east. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and found it a convenient stopover for Gatwick airport. I am glad to read that your room was clean and comfortable. The team at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East strive to deliver first class service to every guest.
We do hope to see you again.

Kind Regards,

Melissa Godawela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WGC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed at this hotel Friday and Saturday, as usual the staff were very polite and friendly, room, as always very clean. We did have a cracked cup and that was replaced immediately.

One problem, our room was over reception and two nights running we were kept awake by people going in and out of reception during the night, cases being run over the tiles, doors banging. I did think the doors into reception from the hotel side should have a slow close on them and on checking on saturday morning they have, so I can only assume it was the two doors in and out of the hotel.

It would not stop us staying again but I would check where the room was situated first.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LondonGatwick, Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East (Balcombe Road) Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank You for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. I am pleased to see that you found the staff to be polite and friendly and the room to be clean.

At London Gatwick Airport East we endeavour to ensure all our guests have a quiet stay in a comfortable environment and I do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this.

When booking with us aging in the future please call the hotel before where we will be happy to allocate you to a room away from the front entrance doors.

Kind Regards,
Melissa Godawela
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This is a very convenient & friendly hotel close to Gatwick Airport and surrounding area. It is not too big and the staff are very friendly & helpful. It is far from impersonal as many Premier Inns tend to be & you tend to see the same staff year in year out if you are a regular visitor. The rooms are spacious & clean, there is ample car parking and a pub adjacent to the hotel which serves breakfast for guests and provides good restaurant & bar food. The hotel is set in an attractive out of town setting.There is always someone in Reception to help guests and nothing is too much trouble. It is very good value for money

Room Tip: Higher floor is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hagletgina45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LondonGatwick, Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East (Balcombe Road) Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank You for reviewing our hotel,

I am delighted to hear you find the staff friendly and helpful throughout your stay.
Also good to hear you was satisfied with the size and cleanliness of our bedrooms, the back of house staff works very hard each day to ensure our rooms are spotlessly clean!
Your positive feedback will be passed on to the pub management!

I hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Many Thanks,
Melissa Godawela
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Good Value for money,freindly & helpful staff,next to pub with good service & Ok food. Would return for an overnight stay.good to use for Gatwick and the Ardingly showground events only a 15-20 min drive away. Good parking.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank joseywale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LondonGatwick, Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East (Balcombe Road) Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Premier Inn Gatwick airport east. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and found it a convenient stopover for Gatwick Airport.The team at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East strive to deliver first class service to every guest; I am pleased to hear that you found all the team you encountered to be friendly and helpful.

We do hope to see you again.

Kind Regards,

Melissa Godawela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, UK
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Yet again we stayed here before a holiday from Gatwick. Disappointed that this is the only premier inn I have stayed in that doesn't have any form of auto checking in and therefore we were at the back of a queue to speak to the one receptionist on duty and check in, this was around 4pm.

We had a room on the first floor, we did make the receptionist aware we were getting up and leaving at 1.30am and trailing our cases along the corridor and down stairs (didn't see a lift) but he didn't seem too bothered but we were given a ground floor room near to reception for the same reason last year.

You can hear what feels like every flight taking off and landing but to be honest you soon get used to it so this wasn't an issue.

Rooms are as per standard for premier inns and were very clean.

Did not use the restaurant (that is a separate building in a pub). We would stay here again for the price and convenience of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hussbrick87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LondonGatwick, Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East (Balcombe Road) Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Premier Inn Gatwick airport east. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and found it a convenient stopover for Gatwick Airport. Please accept my sincere apologies that you found the Team to be less engaging than you had previously encountered.
I genuinely hope we will be able to welcome you back many more times in the future.


Kind Regards,

Melissa Godawela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed here twice for flight out and again flight in. The first time we stayed we were put upstaires and all was fine with a nice clean and kingsize bed so we had a good rest before our early flight. On our return as we didant fly back till 1 we booked to stay again hopeing to get a good sleep before driving back the next day. We arrived at about 2 am and were given a room on the bottom floor which while clean the pillows even with the extra ones were not up too much. We went to sleep around 3 and were woken by a lot of banging and people walking around above us from 6 am till 10 am . The celings are low so needless to say if we fly from gatwick again i would choose to stay here long as its on the upper floor but i wont stay after returning as it made the trip back very hard and when you pay 71 quid for a room for the night i exspect better than what we had that night.i have stayed twice before without trouble so was unluckly this time i guess.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floor as low ceilings if in bottom rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LondonGatwick, Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East (Balcombe Road) Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay in a clean and comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team.
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crawley hotels
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel
1.1 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
1.7 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
1.5 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East (Balcombe Road) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East (Balcombe Road) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East (Balcombe Road) Hotel
Address: 1066 Balcombe Road | Pound Hill, Crawley RH10 3NL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Crawley
#7 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#15 Business Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East (Balcombe Road) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a more rural location, close to the airport and the shops and cafes of Crawley town centre ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East (Balcombe Road) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Gatwick / Crawley (Pound Hill) Hotel Crawley
Premier Inn Crawley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing