We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East (Balcombe Road) Hotel
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
“happy days”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Our stay at the Premier Inn turned out to be longer than planned and I think we made the right choice. It was very quiet and not too big. The staff were exceptional from Amanda the House Keeper to Melissa the Manager. Nothing was too much trouble including help from Iwona and Krisz on reception when we needed help in connecting to the internet. Our room was clean and comfortable. We enjoyed our breakfast at the Parsons Pig adjoining the Premier Inn. All in all we had no complaints and would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank chevroletone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LondonGatwick, Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East (Balcombe Road) Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. The team at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East strive to deliver first class service to every guest; I am pleased to hear that you found all the team you encountered to be very friendly and helpful.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Melissa Godawela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    231
    53
    25
    12
See reviews for
179
243
47
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

At check in I asked for an accessible room and was immediately moved to a close by ground floor room. The adjoining Independant pub offered good food and drink and was good value. All in all a good stay but probably not easy to find without a satnav

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FatCockneyonTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LondonGatwick, General Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East (Balcombe Road) Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank You for your review

We are glad to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us, and the comment regarding the food and drink value will be passed on to the pub management.

Thank you for staying with us, and hope we can welcome you back in the nearest future!

Kind Regards,

Melissa Godawela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glemsford, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This was my first experience of Premier Inn and It was not great...
We were welcomed to the hotel by a very efficient lady and the first disappointment was we were told that the adjoining pub next door was closed for a private function and so we would have to drive to find somewhere to eat (bang goes my idea of a pint or two...) we were offered an alternative up the road but that was not suitable but we did find a lovely Toby Carvery.
When we arrived at our room we found it to be all set up very well and clean but I was disappointed by the bed which was rock hard with no give at all (a personal thing I love nice and soft though the wife did like it..) but due to this Lenny in the advert was wrong and i didn't get a great nights sleep and did think about the floor as the carpet pile might of offered something softer!!! but the pillows were nice.
The free 30 mins Wi-Fi didnt work as the server was down for the evening but it did come back for 5 mins later in the evening but went again as soon as I connected.
We opted for the premium breakfast in the morning and this was all very nice but we would have preferred a buffet cooked breakfast so we could have taken exactly what we wanted rather than a set breakfast and swapping around the 4 of us what we liked and disliked.
We payed more than we normally would have done at the regular chain we stay in (travelodge) and were not as comfortable so we will continue staying there for now but will not rule out staying at a premier inn again if we need to.
In short there is nothing more the staff could have done and they were really good it was the systems outside their control that went wrong.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigBadJohn1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LondonGatwick, General Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East (Balcombe Road) Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank You for your review,
We are working hard to ensure all our guests have a very enjoayble and relaxing stay, which we have failed to deliver on this occasion.
I do apologise for any inconvinience the pub closure and the WiFi connectivity have caused.

I hope you will choose to stay with Premier Inn again in the future,

Kind Regards
Melissa Godawela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helston
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Almost excellent, a great place to stay close to Gatwick but with no noise, the rooms are clean and basic Premiere Inn (not a bad thing) but could do with a fresh lick of paint. Breakfast at the adjoining restaurant was excellent, my only criticism was the make your own cuppa using hot water from thermos (sounds worse than it was).....Spruce up the rooms and serve the tea/coffe in pots and you have an excellent place to stay for £29.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LondonGatwick, Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East (Balcombe Road) Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you so much for posting a review on our page. I am glad to read that your room was clean and comfortable. Regarding your comments with the breakfast, i have passed these over to the Pub Manager.

We hope to see you again.

Kind Regards,

Melissa Godawela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

As usual for this chain, the hotel was clean with spacious rooms, and friendly staff on Reception. There's a bar next door which serves breakfast, lunch and dinner but we didn't eat there so can't review it. However the menu had a good range of food that was well priced.

There are no complaints except for the fact that the location is a little remote, and therefore there is no phone signal. There are also no phones in the room which meant we had to drive back down the road to use our mobile phones which wasn't ideal. Other than that, it was exactly what we would expect from a Premier Inn.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank araipie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LondonGatwick, Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East (Balcombe Road) Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.
We were pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and everything was to the standard you expect from a premier inn.I am pleased to hear that you found all the team you encountered to be very friendly and helpful.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Melissa Godawela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is our regular overnight stay when we fly from Gatwick Airport as it is in a quiet location although not too far from the airport. We stayed again one night at the end of April and as usual the reception staff were very welcoming, the room was quiet and clean and there is always ample parking. Dinner in the pub next door was very good, we skipped breakfast as we had to be out very early. We will no doubt return the next time we fly from Gatwick.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LinPhilUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LondonGatwick, Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East (Balcombe Road) Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.
We were pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and everything was to the standard you expect from a premier inn. The team here strive to ensure all guests have what they need to for their convenience.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Melissa Godawela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on-Sea
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I think the title gives it away, this is a great little Premier Inn, not so big as some but in a quiet location, you would not think you are close to a major airport.
The staff were attentive and welcoming and as we were at a wedding we had to go out and come in several times during the day.
The breakfast at the Parsons pig was nice and there is a lttle outdoor area which I would dearly have loved to sit and drink my coffee had it not been england and freezing cold in may, but Premier Inn cannot do anything about the weather.
The best bit for me was the free parking as the wedding was very close to the airport and many hotels charge as much to park as they do for the room.
As the parking was free it meant we could come and go as we pleased without barriers etc. and made it a much less stressful experience.
Well done all at Balcome Road Premier Inn I will definately recommend you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LondonGatwick, Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East (Balcombe Road) Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing Premier Inn Gatwick Airport East,

We are very pleased to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us, and find the location and parking of the hotel suitable for your needs.

I hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Melissa Godawela
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crawley hotels
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (Manor Royal) Hotel
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (A23 Airport Way) Hotel
1.1 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
2.7 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East (Balcombe Road) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East (Balcombe Road) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East (Balcombe Road) Hotel
Address: 1066 Balcombe Road | Pound Hill, Crawley RH10 3NL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Crawley
#7 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#15 Business Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East (Balcombe Road) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a more rural location, close to the airport and the shops and cafes of Crawley town centre ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East (Balcombe Road) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Gatwick / Crawley (Pound Hill) Hotel Crawley
Premier Inn Crawley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing