We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great afternoon”
Review of TeamSport Crawley

TeamSport Crawley
Ranked #3 of 13 Fun & Games in Crawley
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: I think that we’ve just gone karting bonkers!!!! Quite possibly the most ambitious & fun indoor karting track ever designed – With 2 tracks operating at the same time over 3 levels in the one building or joined up for over a 1 minute lap timeon our international 800m track. All track variations cover at least 2 floors so there are loads of thrills and spills never seen before on the racing circuit, plus we've just received brand new 200cc 40mph karts, this track just gets better and better! The venue also boasts conference facilities, kids party room and a fully stocked snack bar so we can cater for every clients requirements.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Can't fault the place really, very professionally run, modern facilities, and great track. I would recommend it to any age.

Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire B, Guest Relations Manager at TeamSport Crawley, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Thank you so much for your review, we're really pleased that you had a great time karting at TeamSport Crawley. Hope to see you back at the track very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 69 of 84 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2014

I have been here on many occasions, both to watch and race. There are things they need to rectify however some good points Too.

Upon arriving at the centre you are greeted by a clean and welcoming reception as well as a eager member of staff. Once you paid or whatever you're told to get your racesuit from the racesuit room. Be aware, you go up there for the first time and its on a weekend, its an absolute mess. Not the staffs fault but thats just the way it is. Go in the week, its pristine. Once you have your racesuit you then head to back to reception to be told to the briefing room. Now i gotta be honest here, the video is poor. Yes its got its effects and stuff but its too much and it needs to be more clear and concise with less of the stupid effects and voice! After the staff finish up the briefing you head towards the track.

There are two tracks, downstairs being GP circuit and upstairs being the LeMan circuit. I warn all drivers, GP on the weekend is awful. Why? Because kids. Thats why. Kids are the bane of this Company. They cant drive most of the time and there is a ramp on the GP circuit. Their karts ain't particularly powerful (although i see marshals managing to get up the ramp easy enough on the kid karts) and kids cant drive couple them together and you get a session full of yellows and red lights. My advice to parents? Dont bring your kids, ive seen too many kids hurt and sessions ruined by lights.

So my message to teamsport? No cadets in Crawley. Ever again. Its just not the right layout for them.

Other than that, GP track om your own or with decent drivers is awesome.

Now that leaves the LeMan. Great track. Adults only and its on wood. So less of the slipperyness! Enough said with That.

International is both tracks put together, and its a great track but my god, 20 karts on this is just too much. And when the majority of customers cant drive and are new to karting, its full of yellows or reds.

Onto the karts. Brilliant, well maintained despite the absolute dreggs that drive them.

Everything else is good. Good value for money. Membership is worth doing and there are good deals. However that doesn't count for much when the fundamental doesn't work.

The tracks need a permanent makeover, well the gp circuit anyway. Its too Slippery. Re-lay the dammned thing with a whole new surface! Yes it will cost a lot but you'll make your money back with retaining a majority of your customers.

No cadets. Ever. Track isnt built for them and the little kids just can't drive. If you insist on the little lemmings, make it only cadet karts until midday or something.

Too many karts on international! Infact, too many karts overall. The tracks are too small for the numbers that the company insist on! On single track limit the number to 8. On international limit the number to 14/15. Maximum.

Marshals are good! Well, most of the time. But give the guys a break. They put up with a lot of abuse from horrible people. Treat the track and them with respect and they really go the extra mile for you.

So there you go TeamSport/Claire. There's my review. Ive been more than you know and know more than you think. These changes i propose are not my own, but a lot of regular drivers too. And it will benefit everyone! Especially future reviews!

Regards

Anonymous

2  Thank Anonymou7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire B, Guest Relations Manager at TeamSport Crawley, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Wow! Thanks for the comprehensive review!

No cadet karting?! The children of Crawley would run amok causing all sorts of mayhem! At least if they are Karting, we know they are having a good time and we can be safe in the knowledge that we are fuelling the future genre of F1 superstars. Even we don’t have the heart to deny the great British public their next F1 messier…everyone’s got to start somewhere, right?

We do try to only put cadets onto their own sessions, with groups of drivers who also have cadets in their group… The karts are smaller and less powerful (ultimately safer!) and the marshals are trained to look after and supervise the cadets sessions to keep them as safe as possible. It also allows us to put groups who will all be driving in the adult karts together, and kart on alternative sessions although you’d be surprised at how many adult drivers cause us to turn the lights on! Even with just 2 karts on track you can never be sure how another driver is going to decide to drive!

Glad you like the membership, for the more involved driver it is ideal and generally ensures a much cleaner racing environment.

You’ve raised some great points in your review, and thank you again for let us have them (although I can’t believe you don’t like the video!) we’ll take them on-board and see what we can do.

Kind regards

Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Fantastic night out. Staff are great & always willing to help.Become a member & go racing. Highly recommend chase the ace. Love it.

Thank Cantona77777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire B, Guest Relations Manager at TeamSport Crawley, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Hi,

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review - we really appreciate your feedback. It's great to see that you are enjoying our membership scheme! Hopefully we will see you enroll in this years Kart Champs...coming very soon!

Kind regards
Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We went on a Thursday in the middle of the day, so we had the whole course to ourselves (me and one friend). When we arrived we quickly signed up, we're briefed on safety, and we're in the track within 20 minutes. We got two 15 minute sessions with the option of buying more at any time if we wished.

It was great fun, the karts ran well and the track has some interesting turns and corners which are for a great racing experience. They track your speed on every lap and you get given a very detailed sheet of your statistics after the race which is great for comparing with your friends.

One issue we did have however, was that as we were one of the first people to use the track that day, neither the karts or the track were war, ed u' very much, so we were sliding about for the first 5 minutes. It would have been nice if they could have prepared the karts and track beforehand so we didn't have to waste 5 minutes getting them warmed up ourselves.

Overall it was a great experience and one that I would recommend to anyone wanting some quick and easy Lartington action with some friends!

Thank Sam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire B, Guest Relations Manager at TeamSport Crawley, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Thanks for reviewing our Crawley Track, It’s certainly one of my favourite tracks and I’m glad you both loved it too. We always recommend the first 2-3 laps are taken slowly to warm the tyres up although I always find its great fun power sliding into the corners for the first few laps!! We can’t wait to see you all again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We had been here on many occasions, the kids love go-karting. My partner booked for our girl's birthday in January. Unfortunately, he forgot the actual vouchers but had the copy of the email booking. My partner has been a very good customer, spending a lot of money on repeat visits here over the past few years. Apparently, this counts for nothing. The surly counter staff waved away the email and demanded £215 before our group could race. We stumped up, otherwise one very upset child. We were told we couldn't speak to Customer Services (surly counter man was on the phone to them) and reluctantly they said they would extend the vouchers to the end of February. We said we probably wouldn't get to use them as we were due to move house. Nothing doing.

I emailed TeamSport. Nothing. Nada. Silence. No response. Have just spoken to Leanne and Matt Osbourne at head office. They claim they have no system in place for tracking vouchers and will not refund as I can't prove we didn't give them away and they weren't used by someone else.......?? (Well, apart from the fact that said vouchers have never been returned to Head Office or redeemed ANYWHERE and are now out of date...) They also claim they never received my original email...how convenient...

Where's the customer service? We might as well have burned £215. We will never return and nobody at TeamSport seems to feel it's a problem to lose repeat business.

Take your money elsewhere, folks.

5  Thank SilverLadyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire B, Guest Relations Manager at TeamSport Crawley, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Thanks for the feedback and we are really sorry to read you felt let down by the service. As you made a booking using vouchers we do ask that these are bought with you on the day, similar to a theatre or sporting event. Unfortunately you didn't bring the vouchers with you on the day so you were re-charged at the venue where the staff offered to extend the vouchers past their expiry date so you could still reuse them on an alternative day.

We have offered to refund the full cost of the vouchers if you posted them into us and we are really sorry we didn't receive your email, as we would have got back to you at an earlier opportunity with this resolution.

Kind regards
Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TeamSport Crawley also viewed

Crawley, West Sussex
Crawley, West Sussex
 
Crawley, West Sussex
 

Been to TeamSport Crawley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing